We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Palace

Save Saved
You added Westgate Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westgate Palace
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6145 Carrier Drive, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #185 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Booking in Wastegate was easy thru Universal Website. Price was good and competitive. Checking was very friendly and easy. Staying was pleasant. Location was perfect. The checkout was easy and fast. What else do you need to have a nice vacation?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments on your visit to Westgate Palace. We are very happy to read we exceeded your expectations and you plan to return. Our goal is to provide great service and outstanding accommodations please accept our apologies regarding the night shift agent. We look forward to having your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    240
    96
    55
    70
See reviews for
501
43
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was a little leery about being pressured about timeshare sales pitches but there was only one phone call and no pressure.

Pros: The two bedroom option was plenty of room for a family of 5. Beds were comfortable. Friendly staff. Heated Pool, Quick Room Service. Nice kitchen area. Two bathrooms. Jet bath tub, Washer & Dryer in room.

Cons: WiFi is $9.99 per day or $49.99 for 7 days for only one device at a time. Pull out couch was uncomfortable. Limited shuttle service to Universal Studios only so I recommend renting a car if you plan on going to Disney and Sea World. TV's need updating but they had just ordered hundreds of new flat screens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Palace, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments on your visit to Westgate Palace. Our goal is to provide great service and outstanding accommodations. The issues encountered by you will be shared with the management team in order to correct these flaws. Thank you again for rating us fantastic, and we look forward to having your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Westgate stated they were "pet friendly" when the reservation was made...there is a $75 surcharge for the small dog.....and then they add a $80 cleaning fee regardless of condition of room. This was not explained during the phone registration process...nor was it revealed that
they are NOT a hotel but a TIME SHARE complex. Avoid this as your destination since there are deceptive and hidden charges. The rooms are small...depending on the rate you pay....you may be required to attend a 90 minute mandatory time share sales pitch. Staff is robotic...rbg

Room Tip: Stay away from this time share agenda
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Palace, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We do offer the opportunity to purchase Vacation Ownership, but this is at the discretion of each guest. The $80.00 charged on your account is the operation cost to deep clean the unit after a pet has been inside- this is done as a courtesy to the next guest occupying the unit. We take our guests' comments very seriously and your feedback has been shared with members of our management team to address them. We appreciate you for bringing this to our attention. On behalf of the entire team, thank you for selecting our resort for your Orlando visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Prior to our arrival at the resort, we were uncertain and ready for the shoe to drop, but it never did. We experienced one pleasant surprise after another. For the convenience to the Park, I believe we made the right choice with Westgate Palace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Palace, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to advise us about your vacation at Westgate Palace. Our goal is to provide a quality vacation experience which exceeds all expectations. It is encouraging to know we accomplished this for you. It was our pleasure to have you visit and provide you with the accommodations and amenities you would expect at a resort of our size and quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here the first week in January with some mixed feelings about this place. Cons: They only have one grill/bar which they claim to have several. The bar outside the pool area was NEVER opened so no mixed drink for me. The pool was cold & after 2pm the sun goes over the building so you sit in shade for the rest of the day. You can buy a beer for $5 or $6, food on average was $8-$9, a little on the expensive side. The elevator makes a horrible beeping noise as it is moving up & down on the floors, annoyance! Housekeeping consist of them making the beds & removing garbage & leaving towels. On the last night before departure as I was sitting on the toilet a COCKROACH was crawling on the bathroom floor, gross! We also never got a wakeup call in the morning as requested. Not a manager in the morning to complain about these things. The frontdesk was not helpful, she could have offered a free breakfast. She was supposed to have a manager call me when we got home, but no manager did! Not a very friendly place, lacking good customer service! Pros: close to Universal and with walking distance to Walgreens. Don't go to ABC store as they are very expensive! Rooms are good for the two bedroom, bathroom & with a kitchen....a little run down but okay!

Room Tip: ask for a view of the lake & wet & wild
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Please accept our apologies if we did not meet your expectations during your vacation.We certainly did not get the reputation we have by providing this type of experience for our guests. Your comments have been shared with our management staff in order to address this and avoid it in the future. Thank you for sharing this with us-we hope you will consider us again so we can exceed your expectations in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed during first week of January 2013. We had a room on the 18th floor facing Wet n Wild. For a family of five (16, 13 & 9), it was very nice to have two bedrooms and bathrooms. Bedrooms were small, with second room having two twin beds, but bathrooms were a good size and our room was very clean. Queen sleeper sofa in living area. We did not explore or use any amenities offered - spending all of our time at Universal. Great location to Universal, but I would not have wanted to walk it. We rented a car. They do offer shuttle services that require a days advance notice, but we did not want to be tied to a schedule. Parking at universal was quick and easy, costing $15, and you could come and go all day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Palace, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your visit and your check in was fast and easy. As you discovered, our resort is in the perfect location to Universal Studios. Our partnership with Universal allows our guests to enjoy the parks while we provide the accommodations. We hope to have you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family stayed here from 19th December till 2nd of January. We had 2, 2 bedroom apartments which were spacious and clean. It was ideal that you had laundry facilities inside your apartment as it meant no laundry to do when you got home. I also found that cooking breakfast on a morning did save us quite a bit of money and we always had snacks and cereal which saved us as well. We Will definitely be going back to Westgate Palace, in fact we are looking to going back 2014.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Palace, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Westgate Palace.
Many families prefer a self catering property as it saves a lot of money on food.
We are looking forward to exceeding your expectations on your 2014 vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westgate Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Palace

Address: 6145 Carrier Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Family Hotel in Orlando
#185 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Palace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Palace, located off International Drive, is walking distance from Wet 'n' Wild, shops and restaurants and only minutes from tourist attractions like Universal Studios and SeaWorld. Just a short 15 minute drive to Walt Disney World as well. Westgate Palace offers spectacular views. This high-rise resort features suites with equipped kitchens, living areas, whirlpool tubs and washer/dryers. On-site amenities include a deli, outdoor heated pool, children's pool, a steam room and arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Westgate Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Palace Hotel Orlando
Westgate Palace Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.