We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip could not fault it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early - Save 15%
Ranked #24 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent trip could not fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I cannot fault the hotel it provides excellent value for money. It is walking distance from Wet and Wild. And only a short drive from Universal Studios( it was cheaper to get a cab then drive) The breakfast was a great way to start the day. The staff are faultless and always very helpful morning through to night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you visit with us and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Orlando. Your kind remarks about my staff are genuinely appreciated and I always enjoy sharing comments such as yours with the team. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    261
    45
    16
    9
See reviews for
496
106
10
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel, staff and accomodations were excellent but the service to Universal was not good. We booked this through Universal with our park passes that included early entry and City Walk passes but the shuttle service did not run for the early entry and the last return was at 7:30 before the park even closed and we were unable to enjoy the City Walk passes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks about our hotel and especially about my staff. I know they truly enjoy going out of their way to take great care of our guests, and your feedback is genuinely appreciated. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the shuttle service to Universal to be convenient for your plans. In order to be able to provide this service without having to increase room rates for all guests, we contract with Universal to provide these shuttles at times that work best for as many riders as possible. Unfortunately, these shuttles do not run for early admission or for later in the evening after the parks have closed. In these cases, we recommend a taxi which generally costs $8 each way, or only $15 for self-parking. A more extensive shuttle service is provided by the three hotels on Universal property, but most other hotels providing Universal shuttle service use the same service that we do. I hope this helps in planning, and we'll be happy to provide the current shuttle schedule to help with your plans. Again, thank you for sharing your experience and choosing our Homewood Suites for your visit to Orlando. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hotel is close to everything, good value with no extra fees... free wifi and parking. Suite furniture a little dated, but beds very comfortable. Not a bad complimentary breakfast, but has an IHOP within walking distance if you prefer. Walking distance to Wet N Wild, 5 minute drive to universal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Homewood Suites for your visit to Orlando and Universal Studios. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found us to be a good value. In our ongoing efforts to maintain a high quality product, we have recently completed the replacement of all carpet in our guestrooms, the last of our older desk chairs will be replaced as soon as the order arrives, 30 new sleeper sofas have been ordered in addition to those which have recently been replaced, and all beds have been replaced in the past year. We are excited about these ongoing improvements and hope to see you again when you return to Orlando.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I picked this hotel because it was within 3 miles of the Orange county convention center. The traffic was a little congested, but it was a straight shot down International drive. This hotel is surrounded by shops, restaurants, and within a couple of miles of one of the Prime Outlet malls in Orlando. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. We had the one bedroom suite where the bedroom room closed off from the living room area. The room was spacious, with a mini kitchen area as well. The kitchen area had all the amenities of a full size kitchen, but on a smaller scale. It didn't have an oven, but it had two stove top burners. A limited amount of cookware, dishes, and silverware were included in the kitchen cabinets and drawers. The beds were queen sized beds, and they had plenty of pillows and the mattress felt so comfortable. A complimentary breakfast was included every morning from 7am to 10am. Breakfast consisted of these items everyday: cereals, juices, milk, water, yogurt, fruit, bagels, muffins, oatmeal, and eggs, but rotatated on bacon, sausages, biscuits, corn beef hash, or the self making waffle iron. They also had a dinner reception on Monday thru Thursday from 5pm to 7pm. The menu varied nitely. I was there only on Wed and Thurs and they had sub sandwiches with salad items on one nite and stuff peppers with kernel corn, rolls and salad items the second nite. They also had beer and wine for those who drinks, and sweet tea and lemonade, and water for the non-drinkers. Overall, I had a great stay and would recommend this hotel if you are visiting Sea World or the Orange County Convention center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review of our Homewood Suites. It was such a pleasure having the ladies with your convention staying with us and I'm happy to hear that you had a great visit. Your kind remarks about my staff are genuinely appreciated as I know they truly enjoy going out of their way to make our guests happy. When your travels bring you back to Orlando, we do hope to see you again!

Warmest Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We LOVED this hotel!! If we could give it 6 out of 5 we would:-) Very friendly staff, EVERYONE says hi and smiles!!! 10-15 minutes walk from Universal Studios, 5 minutes walk from Wet and Wild(you can see the hotel from one of the slides). There are also free shuttles daily to and from Universal, Seaworld & Aquatica daily.

Nice breakfast, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, bagels(there are toasters), waffles, juice etc.
Coffee is available all day(there are to-go cups and lids..we made full use of those!!) Walgreens and 7-Eleven are across the road, very handy. Dinner is 5-7pm Mon-Thurs, things like pasta and fajitas with salad, wine and beer.

There are safes to use free of charge at reception.
The shampoos, soap etc in the room are Bath&Body Works and Neutrogena which I was delighted with! In short if you're going to Universal its a great place to stay:-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel and your kind remarks about my staff. Your feedback goes a long way in keeping them smiling and I know they truly enjoy serving our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay at our Homewood Suites and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Best Regards,

Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very clean. Comfortable beds. Great staff. Nice pool area. Quiet. Free breakfast with a good variety of options. Good fitness room. It would be better if it were a bit bigger with one or two more treadmills. Only a 20-25 minute drive to the Disney parks. Could use a little updating, but that's about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We take great pride in offering the highest levels of guest service and I am proud of the dedicated people I work with. Your kind remarks regarding the cleanliness of your suite are especially appreciated by my Housekeeping team as I know they work very hard to ensure the comfort of our guests. Thank you for choosing our Homewood Suites, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great hotel. The staff are really helpful. I appreciated the extra care from one of the staff, (trying to find an open walk in clinic on a holiday). There are phenomenal people working there.
The room was great and clean. Really comfy beds. This is one of my fav. hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am so happy to hear that my fellow team members were able to help you feel comfortable during your visit. I genuinely appreciate your warm feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Address: 5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#26 Family Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest To Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Orlando Universal
Suites Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Homewood Universal Suites
Orlando Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.