We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early - Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 327 hotels in Orlando
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at this place from TripAdvisor reviews and the fact it was close to Universal Studios and the Water Park. The staff is wonderful and make you feel right at home during your hole stay. This place is in walking distance to to Universal Studios and the Wet and Wild water park along with easy access to the bus route on international blvd, and resturants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Brent J,
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel. Your comments regarding my staff are genuinely appreciated and we are so pleased to hear that we were successful in making you feel at home with us. This is what makes our jobs truly rewarding and we appreciate the opportunity to serve you.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    488
    264
    45
    16
    9
See reviews for
504
109
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I made reservations at this hotel approx 10 months in advance. There were four of us and we stayed for three days. The room was clean and adequately stocked with items that we needed. The housekeeping would tidy up the room each day, however they didnt vacuum and it could have used it. We tried to use the shuttle to Universal Studios but was full so it was a good thing we had a rental car, but had to pay $15 for parking at the park. So make sure you make reservations at least the day before if you want the shuttle. We were there the end of March 2013 and they say it was spring break. So there were alot of people and it was difficult to find a table to sit at to have breakfast, however the dinner there was not a problem to find a seat. The stocking of food items was a bit to be desired. The dishes the food was kept in were small and they didnt replenish quickly so there were times when lines were forming waiting for additional food. The did run out of certain items and they would just say "there is not anymore", but if complained, they managed to find more of the same food to serve you. So not really sure what that was about. It was very busy while were were there, but if their rooms are booked they need to be prepared to handle the amount of people they need to feed. Many families such as ours, stay at hotels with the breakfast service. Besides the food situation or lack of food, the hotel was acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear AlaskaGirl911,
Thank you for your your review of our hotel. I appreciate your constructive review of various areas of the hotel, and thank you for your specific observations so that I may appropriately address them with my team. We know that you have hundreds of hotel options in Orlando and I thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you again the next time you come to the area.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. They allowed us an early check in, provided a shuttle to Universal Studios and served a wonderful breakfast, all for under $150 a night! It was clean and the beds were comfortable. Even the sheets for the pull out couch were in the closet where they should have been -- no need to call down to the desk for them. Very good planning. Look forward to another visit to Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear PattyF,

Thank you for choosing our Homewood Suites and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and your family and your kind remarks about your visit with us. When your travels bring you back to Orlando, we do hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamblee, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a place to stay near Universal and this was an excellent choice. Just around the corner from the park, the hotel is clean and quiet. The pool is nice and the free breakfast was typical for a hotel. They also offer a free dinner but we did not try it. Plenty of towels, Denny's and IHOP close for a casual meal and plenty of upscale choices within a few miles. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Jim R,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and your kind remarks about Housekeeping services are especially appreciated. We know you have hundreds of hotel options in Orlando and I appreciate that you chose us.

Kind Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay at Homewood suites during our visit to Orlando. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and the hotel was always clean. The room was fine for a family of four though was a little cramped when the sofa bed was made up for the kids.

It was good to have breakfast and some evening meals (Monday to Thursday) included within the price though I felt the quality could have been slight better. In particular I wasn't keen on the polystyrene plates and plastic cutlery. However, I accept these comments may be down to my expectations of breakfast based on what is normally served in Europe. There is no bar in the hotel, though the bar in the Garden Inn hotel over the road could be used and re-charged to the room

The location was good, particularly for Universal Studios, Aquatica and Sea World (there was a free shuttle bus to all these), but a rental car is required for the Disney Parks which are a bit further away (note parking is free at Homewood Suites, unlike some other hotels).

All-in-all a good value hotel for a family holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Pedersenrider,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us regarding your visit. Your kind remarks about the cleanliness of the hotel and overall housekeeping service are greatly appreciated. I apologize for the use of foam plates during your visit and we have moved away from this practice now that we have replaced the dishwasher in the kitchen allowing my staff to keep up with the china service. We know you have hundreds of hotel options in Orlando and I really appreciate that you chose our hotel for your visit. We do hope to see you again when you return to the area.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H.B., California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here over spring break. We were looking for the extra space to spread out after a long day at the theme parks. It worked out perfectly. A little kitchen to store snacks, heat up left overs were all we used the kitchen for. But you could cook full meals if you wanted to. They had all the basic utensiles and place settings ready for you to use. They didn't have dish soap or dishwashing liquid. I had to ask housekeeping for that. Minor thing to ask for. I ended up not using it at all. We never used the utensils they had in the kitchen.

Our bathroom could of use updating, but it still was just fine for its purpose. The hotel staff went beyond what was expected to ensure everyone enjoyed themselves or had time to eat. We always ate breakfast later in the morning. The staff would keep the kitchen open until everyone had a chance to complete their meals. That was nice. They were always cleaning, stocking, and taking care of guests needs. We were never around during their free dinners, so I can't comment on that.

The pool looked small, but that's ok their sister property next door seemed to have a larger pool and a pool side bar. Although we never went in either pool, we did stop bye and look at it. Your very close to restaurants, shops, etc.

They were sold out while we were there, parking was never an issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear cmego,
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for taking your time to write a comprehensive review about our Homewood Suites. I especially appreciate your kind remarks about the helpfulness of my staff and how my breakfast team was especially accommodating. I know they all enjoy going above and beyond to make everyone's stay enjoyable. We know you have hundreds of hotel options in Orlando and I am grateful that you chose us. Thank you and we hope to see you again when you return to our city.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have stayed at this Homewood Suites 2 years in a row for our family spring break trip to Universal Studios and Sea World. It is a GREAT value with the complimentary breakfast. The shuttle to the parks are also very convenient. If you really wanted to, you could walk to Universal Studios from the hotel. The staff at the desk and in the kitchen are extremely friendly and helpful. Check in and check out were a breeze. The kids always enjoy the breakfast with the make-your-own waffles! There is a Walmart close by if you want to stock up your kitchen.

The only reason I gave this property a 4 instead of a 5 is because I feel like it is in need of an update. Not a complete overhaul, but a few things (cabinets, chair covers, shower curtains) could be updated.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again when we go to Universal or Sea World.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear IC,
Thank you for your complimentary review of our Homewood Suites. We are very pleased that you chose our hotel for a second visit to Orlando and look forward to many more to come. We continue to complete ongoing property improvements and will be replacing the remainder of our guestroom carpets in the next month or so. We will also be converting to new bedding in the second half of this year and into 2014. Thank you for choosing us again and we look forward to having you back to see these upgrades.

Warm Reghards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Address: 5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#28 Family Hotel in Orlando
#34 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest To Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Orlando Universal
Suites Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Homewood Universal Suites
Orlando Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;