We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff/customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Shop Offer
Ranked #31 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff/customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our family stayed here for spring break (visit to Universal Studios). The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is great for families - one bedroom suite with a kitchen, full breakfast, weeknight dinners, free shuttle to theme park. The only downside was the bathroom could use some updating. Otherwise, the room was clean and housekeeping did a great job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Rita D,
Thank you so much for your review of our Homewood Suites. I am happy to hear that you found my staff to be especially helpful and friendly as I know we/they truly enjoy going the extra mile to make our guests feel welcome and appreciated. With all of the hundreds of hotel options available in Orlando, thank you for choosing us! We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    294
    54
    19
    10
See reviews for
547
125
14
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Clean hotel, clean rooms especially sheets, towels and bathroom. Even the pull out was fairly comfortable and clean. Rooms are a good size and the hotel was not noisy inside or out.
Breakfast was free and hot and plentiful. Coffee was hot and strong. Will come again our next trip!

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor on the pool side which is farther from the road and the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Renea718,
Thank you for sharing your kind remarks regarding your visit with our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I especially appreciate your kind remarks about the work of my Housekeeping and Food Service teams. The sleeper sofas have been a special focus for us as well. Since they are used frequently by our guests, we have been investing in the best quality sleeper sofa mattresses we can find and the results have been well-received. Again, thank you for choosing our Homewood Suites and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had a wonderful time in Orlando visiting Universal Studios with grandson and daughter. Room was clean and delightful. Nice pool and work out room. Loved our room with stove, microwave and real dishes. Used the laundry facilities. Liked having 2 TVs. Living/kitchen area separate from bedroom. Staff was awesome. Always friendly and helpful. Free breakfast and Dinner with beer and wine served..all for free. Loved it. Would come back again.

Room Tip: We did not choose a specific room. Ours was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear CB757,
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our Homewood Suites with your grandson and daughter! Your glowing remarks about Housekeeping and the helpfulness and friendliness of the entire staff are so much appreciated. We loved having your family with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very friendly staff. Hotel's free breakfast and "Welcome Home" reception (Monday to Thursday) helped with our meal expenses. We had no children with us, but if you had kids with you it would be a real boon! It was only a 15 minute walk (at most) to Universal!

Room Tip: Choose room facing International Drive (more noise from highway on the other side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Mary1950_13,
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and found great value in our breakfast and dinner offerings. We know you have hundreds of hotel options in Orlando and I appreciate that you chose our Homewood Suites. When your travels bring you back to Orlando, we do hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Check in - A

Internet - A

Availability to foam pillows at 11:15 pm (allergy to Down) - F - We were told night desk does not have access to housekeeping items at 11:15 pm at night.

Breakfast - C We asked for whipped cream for our waffles and were told, "we are not serving that today". Really?

Price - B

Security - D Back door first floor would not lock

Cleanliness - A

Spaciousness - A

Staff attitude (Day) - A

Staff attitude (overnight at front desk, March 23,2013 ) - F

Staff attitude of security guards (same evening) - A

Room Tip: I think you can do better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a detailed review with us and also for speaking with us directly so that we may effectively address your concerns. This is very helpful in letting us know precisely how we're doing. We are currently addressing the availability of various housekeeping supplies on the overnight shift as well as breakfast and security issues you mentioned and apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort. We're also happy to hear your check-in experience, the internet, room size and cleanliness were all satisfactory. Please let us know if you have any additional comments that would make for a better stay and we hope you will come back to see how you've helped us improve.

Kind Regards,

Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Another stay while house-hunting. Clean and convenient to I-Drive. Staff is fun. Breakfast is mostly processed foods. So, if you're health-conscious, go shopping. The mini-kitchens are great and have full sized fridges.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear JasonB,
Thank you for choosing our Homewood Suites while searching for your new Orlando home. I appreciate your kind remarks about my staff and the helpful information for future guests of ours. We hope you'll keep us in mind when you have family and friends come to visit.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

the free meals saved money AND (most importantly) time. Earlier in the week, we stayed at a fancier hotel with no free meals, and lost 2 hours a day. Plus, everyone had to waste time waiting for all 4 of us to finish with the one bathroom before we could go to breakfast or dinner. At this Homewood, parents could eat while kids were showering and vice versa. Nothing fancy, but the restaurant manager went back and found us some bananas because the kids wanted them :)

Room Tip: our suite had a separate room with a DOOR between the two rooms. You need the person in the main bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Markcharm,
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to post your review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the meals to be such an added benefit. Our complimentary breakfast (7 days) and dinner(M-Th) are definitely one of our most popular value adds. Also thank you for your acknowledgement of my breakfast host's helpfulness. When your travels bring you back to Orlando we do hope to see you and your family again.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Address: 5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#41 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest To Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Orlando Universal
Suites Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Homewood Universal Suites
Orlando Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.