We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free breakfast everyday and free dinner on select nights.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early - Save 15%
Ranked #20 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Free breakfast everyday and free dinner on select nights.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Another stay while house-hunting. Clean and convenient to I-Drive. Staff is fun. Breakfast is mostly processed foods. So, if you're health-conscious, go shopping. The mini-kitchens are great and have full sized fridges.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear JasonB,
Thank you for choosing our Homewood Suites while searching for your new Orlando home. I appreciate your kind remarks about my staff and the helpful information for future guests of ours. We hope you'll keep us in mind when you have family and friends come to visit.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    260
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
484
104
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

the free meals saved money AND (most importantly) time. Earlier in the week, we stayed at a fancier hotel with no free meals, and lost 2 hours a day. Plus, everyone had to waste time waiting for all 4 of us to finish with the one bathroom before we could go to breakfast or dinner. At this Homewood, parents could eat while kids were showering and vice versa. Nothing fancy, but the restaurant manager went back and found us some bananas because the kids wanted them :)

Room Tip: our suite had a separate room with a DOOR between the two rooms. You need the person in the main bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Markcharm,
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to post your review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the meals to be such an added benefit. Our complimentary breakfast (7 days) and dinner(M-Th) are definitely one of our most popular value adds. Also thank you for your acknowledgement of my breakfast host's helpfulness. When your travels bring you back to Orlando we do hope to see you and your family again.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The shuttle to Universal studios is pitiful. We stayed at homewood solely because of its proximity to Universal, and the assurance when I called to inquire that there was a regular shuttle service. There is not a regular shuttle service; in fact, returning to the hotel at night are only 2 buses, the first of which was too full to accommodate us, leaving us and countless others standing for an additional hour. Total wait time to travel the 5 minute ride to the hotel: 1.5 hours. Ridiculous. With 3 small children, this was a terrible experience. I will choose to either stay on universal property or at a resort that has a better shuttle service next time. They should inform prospective guests of this fact when they inquire instead of lying to them. Even at the front desk when i checked in i was assured that "they are big tour-style buses and there is always room." For the price we paid for 2 nights, to be nickled and dimed when it comes to getting our family to universal and back, it was a joke. We won't stay at a homewood suites again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Dptn,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I can assure you that we want to be nothing but helpful to our guests and we hold ourselves to a very high integrity. I would have been very frustrated to experience this situation and I am very sorry that our transportation service failed to meet your expectations. We appreciate that you brought this to our attention so that we may address this issue with the transportation provider as I do not find your experience to be acceptable. Should you encounter a situation such as this in the future, please contact our Front Desk so that we may assist with alternate arrangements to bring you back. We hope that you'll give us another chance to make things right and if I can be of further assistance, certainly let me know.

Kind regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our family traveled over spring break to Orlando, FL. I am pleased to say we couldn't have picked a better hotel!! It was clean, staff was professional and friendly, and the hotel was very close to Universal Studios. With free breakfast and Mon.-Fri free dinner/beer/wine...the price cannot be beat!! We will definitely look to stay at other Homewood Suites in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear soccerboyzr,
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel and staff! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We know you have hundreds of options in the Orlando area and I thank you for choosing our Homewood Suites. When your travels bring you back to the Orlando area, we hope you will consider us your Orlando home away from home.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Crisp, clean sheets, comfortable beds, and a quiet room. Had a great night's sleep! The staff was friendly and efficient. Check-in and check-out were smooth and hassle free, even with our late check-in. Appreciated the kitchen stocked with toaster, coffee maker, dishes, glasses, pots & pans, cookware, and a dishwasher. Would have liked a slightly lower price, but not complaining. Will stay at Homewood next time I am in Orlando.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear GregL,
Your great comments about my staff and the cleanliness of our hotel are genuinely appreciated. I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to your return. With regard to price, there are many times that you can get a great deal in this market. If your travel plans are flexible, September is an excellent time for great deals and you can get the most out of your visit to the parks with almost no lines. The end of April and May, as well as the end of August are also great times for deals in Orlando. If you are limited on when you can travel, I would book early to get the best rates or check with the hotel to see if there are any better periods within your travel window to get the best rates available. I hope this helps.

Best Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Homewood suites was perfect for us. Our suite comfortably accommodated our family of 5, the staff was helpful, the shuttle to Universal was convenient. The breakfast had lots of choices, and we were pleasantly surprised that our stay included dinner on some nights too. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear KirstenA,
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent visit to our hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and found our hotel to meet the needs of your family. We know you have hundreds of options in the Orlando area and we are honored that you chose our Homewood Suites. When your travels return you to Orlando, we hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Fantastic experience at the hotel. Staff are so friendly & accomodating. Our room had a view of the Universal Studios fireworks display every night. The pool was lovely, also had use of the pool & tiki bar at the Hiton Garden Inn Sister Hotel across the parking lot.

Room Tip: In our room overlooking Universal Studios we were able to see the Universal fireworks show every nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sandra C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your recent visit to our Homewood Suites, and for your kind remarks about the friendliness of my staff. We loved having you with us and hope to see you again on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Address: 5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#21 Family Hotel in Orlando
#36 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest To Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Orlando Universal
Suites Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Homewood Universal Suites
Orlando Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.