We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early - Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 327 hotels in Orlando
Baraboo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel was close to Universal and offered a free shuttle service to and from each day. The free breakfast was awesome and offered a big variety. They also have a free light supper Mon-Thurs which was great! The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. We got a great night's sleep each night we were there as it was really quiet. The pool and hot tub were wonderful and the staff was friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were happy with everything. The price of this hotel made it an amazing value! I would highly recommend this hotel! : )

Room Tip: When checking in, the staff asked us what our preference was for a room and we said we wanted someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Pamela B,
Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel. I shared your comments with the team this afternoon and it was a great morale booster to hear what you had to say. I know they truly enjoy going out of their way to take care of our guests and it means so much when their efforts are recognized in such a public forum as TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to have you visit with us and I do hope to see you back again in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    264
    45
    16
    9
See reviews for
504
107
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Fla.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I'm sitting right now in Room 408 and can't decide what is louder: the constant drone of traffic from the interstate or the never-ending slamming of doors from neighboring rooms.

It's a shame, because the suite's interior is nice, with a larger-than-expected bedroom and well-designed living room and kitchen. A nice bonus: restaurants within walking distance.

If you absolutely have to stay here, at least ask for a room away from the interstate. Maybe one day, the hotel will add bumpers to the doors to solve the problem of slamming doors.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear StPeteSaint,

I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a great experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the neighboring noise. While I'm glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms we want to ensure all areas in comfort. Your comments have helped us to improve our guest experience and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were planning our family vacation (Wife, 2 kids and me) and decided to pickup this one. I read the other reviews and got excited.Full kitchen, sofa-bed, bedroom and more... all we would need for a long stay (~20 days).
Anyhow, we face some questions I would like to share...
Considering Christmas and New Year Eve dinner we were planning to roast a turkey... but that full-kitchen didn't have a oven... :-o. The room would fit 5 people easily, but the dinner table was design for 2 people.
Pros: Staff is really good treating the guest... 5 stars
Cons: Room cleaning wasn't that good (we hadn't service in our room for 2 days)

Location is also good...

Room Tip: Ask for swimming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear ReginaldoQC,

We're so glad you chose to stay with us for your long holiday vacation. I'm terribly sorry that we did not have a full oven to cook the turkey and I'm also sorry about the inconsistencies you experienced with our housekeeping. I'm reviewing these areas of opportunity with our staff so that we can ensure we're doing all we can to make guests feel at home with us. We hope that on your next trip you will think of us and come back for an even better experience.

Kind regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for a family trip with kids. Great location near Universal with plenty of good food near by. Kids loved the pool. Hot tub is a bit small but nice. Enjoyed it well. Always enjoy the breakfast at Homewood. Could have used joined rooms but they didn't have any with king beds.

Room Tip: keep away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear TanaG,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Breakfast is an area where we continue to work very hard to provide an outstanding value and I am pleased that you enjoyed this amenity. It was a pleasure having you and your family with us and we do hope to see you again when you return to Orlando.

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Quiet room and the space worked well for our family of four. The breakfast and supper were good. Not having to go out in the morning or evening to a restaurant made it easy to spend more time at the theme parks. Adult children enjoyed the pool and the pool at the Hilton across the parking lot. It was a very easy and safe walk to Universal from this hotel.

Room Tip: asked ahead of time for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Joan360,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the readers of Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again when you return to the Oralndo area!

Best Regards,

Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

stayed for 3 weeks february 2012 couldnt fault it at all,2 adults 2 children,coming back february 2013 for 2 weeks,cant wait,super value for money wouldnt stay anywhere else now so convenient for everything staff lovely no problems at all.had room next to conference room so had own little patio kids could get out window to go swimming,and keep their floats there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Susieham,
Thank you so much for the glowing review of our hotel. Looking forward to seeing you again in February!

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a suite for three people for a week, which was indeed nice. Plenty of room and everything works. The hotel has free wi-fi and free hot breakfast and free parking. It also offers free 'light' dinner Mon-Thur, which is very rare. The hotel is about 1+ mile away from Universal, which is walk-able. The people are very friendly and helpful.

There are some little things that the hotel can improve itself. First, being a suite for the family, the bathroom or anywhere does not have any way to set up a cloth line, to dry socks or swimming suits etc. (You can of course use the machine.) Second, eating the same hot breakfast for a week gets boring. There was little change day to day... Finally, the only 'light' dinner we had was cold meat sandwiches, which made one of my post-teenagers very angry. If you are serving cold sandwiches, do not label it as 'dinner'.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are in parallel with I-4 highway. Universal is on the other side of I-4. The rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Sun20,
Thank you for your objective review of our hotel. Your kind remarks about the friendliness and helpfulness of my staff are genuinely appreciated by us all. I also appreciate your suggestions regarding how we can make ourselves even better. We typically rotate a specialty egg item, oatmeal, waffles/french toast/pancakes, and various pastries, though I will review this with my breakfast team to ensure daily variety and get the rotation back on track. I am sorry your family didn't enjoy the deli night. This item is typically in our dinner rotation two times per month, and I hope you found the other days to be more enjoyable. Again, thank you for your kind remarks and helpful recommendations for improvements. Your ideas are certainly workable and we will continue to strive for improvement in these areas.

Warmest Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Address: 5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#28 Family Hotel in Orlando
#34 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest To Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Orlando Universal
Suites Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Homewood Universal Suites
Orlando Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.