We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #43 of 329 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very friendly staff from start to end. Complete varied hot complimentary breakfast every morning and complimentary dinner Monday to Thursday. Quiet neighbourhood and numerous restaurants and stores located nearby. The hotel is within walking distance to Universal Studios. We had a suite with two large beds in the attached bedroom and everything we needed in the living area. Our only issue was with the shuttle to Universal Studios which we only used the first day, (it took 45 minutes to get to the Park). We would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with a family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear RusticRanger,
It was such a pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for the glowing review of our hotel and your kind words about my staff. You are very much appreciated. I apologize for the inconvenience with the shuttle service to Universal. During busier times it does take longer to get to the parks, though the return trip is a bit quicker since we are first on the route. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    343
    69
    24
    11
See reviews for
655
147
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel was perfect for us, got it for free with our Hilton Honors points and you can walk to Universal studios to avoid the $15 parking fee. It's about a 15 minute walk, but very safe. The hotel also has a shuttle, but it stops at other hotels so it looked to be about a 30 minute ride. The front desk staff is soooo nice. The room was clean and had numerous amenities, we had no problem with internet speed in the room (free). The pool area was very large, clean and designed well, although we did not go, we were only in town for one night. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in either 301, 302 or 303, something like that. These rooms are convenient to parking from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Stella7676,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the readers of TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoy your visit with us and found the Front Desk staff to be 'sooo' nice and the room to be especially clean. Next time you'll have to enjoy our pool as we have recently finished redoing the pool deck and landscaping. We look forward to your return!

Warm Regards,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Depending on what you're looking for this hotel is an excellent choice. The suites have a large king size bed, full kitchen including cooktop and living room. It was very clean and comfortable. The desk staff were very nice and helpful in getting us a cheap taxi. Two things we were disappointed with was the shuttle to universal as it runs early morning and returns only near park close. Also you have to book it the day before by 4pm which is a problem if you want to use it the day you arrive. A cab ride or van shuttle is only about $8. Ask prices first before you get in. Universal is very close (5 minutes) from the hotel. We ended up renting a car but parking at universal is $15 so almost same as a cab. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast which was a good size with lots of options. The elevator is our second disappointment. It took forever for a hotel that only has a few floors. Despite that I would definitely stay again. Plus you earn Hilton points which was great to know and you can redeem them here as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Itinerary Goddess,
I am pleased to hear that you found my staff to be very helpful and accommodating. Your satisfaction is very important to us and your constructive comments regarding shuttle service and elevator speed will be used to help us continue to work on improvement in these areas. With regard to the shuttle service, passes may be picked up in the morning, though there are no evening shuttles to the parks. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Orlando.

Sincerely,

Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Traveling with kids, an apt style room is a must. Standard room with livingroom, bath and kitchen is nice and clean. Daily breakfast is nice and relaxing, always stocked. I'm a HHonors holder and my request for higher floors was not honored. Construction on pool and front entrance was in effect and not mentioned when I booked the room a few weeks ago. Was told to walk across parking lot to Hilton Gardens for pool. Noise level was unbearable from the construction, was told higher floors are reserved for smoking patrons. Walked around area, not much to see. Shuttles only to Universal and none to Disney World. The hotel staff are wonderful and accommodating esp. when I forgot toiletries, wanted to buy but was given via complimentary.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear DisneyFanNewYorkCity,

We appreciate your loyalty as a rewards member and your compliments are very much appreciated. Thank you for your glowing remarks about the staff and our breakfast service. We are looking into additional ways to communicate our current construction hours with guests and appreciate your flexibility as we undergo some growing pains. I'm sorry we could not honor your room request due to high occupancies. We will keep your comments in mind about the shuttle services to see what other options are available. We hope you come back and see us again once our renovations are complete.

Warm regards,

Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I booked this hotel online after reading previous reviews and was not disappointed. We had one room with king bed for my husband and i and adjoining room with 2 kings for our 2 teenagers. We did overlook the highway rooms 2204,2206 and i slept like a log and didnt hear any noise. The complimentary breakfast was good enough for us but not 2 fussy teenagers. Perhaps a bigger choice of fruit? Staff were extremely helpful. Once we had checked into our room, reception rang to enquire if everything was ok and to ask if they could do anything for us. The cleaner knocked on our door everymorning to ask if there was anything we needed and to ask if we needed service. Location was good with restaurants in walking distance and prime outlet shopping not too far away. Definitely would stay again. Free breaky, some dinners,wifi and parking all for a great price!

Room Tip: some reviewers had complained about rooms overlooking i-4 but we had no problems and rooms were quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sue B,
It was such a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. Your kind and detailed remarks about the great service provided by my team are genuinely appreciated and I am thrilled to share your comments with the team. Thank you for your constructive feedback as well so that we may better meet the needs of all of our guests. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you are back in our city.

Warm regards,

Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

What can ya say, realy friendley staff.good service. Staff always ready to help. Free breakfest. And dinner from monday to thursday.onley halfway tru holliday bud cant get better.thank you homewood staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sonny V,
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel. It is such a pleasure to have you as our guest and I am happy to hear that we have been successful in providing a homelike atmosphere for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again on future visits.

Sincerely,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
upstate New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff was wonderful - extremely helpful - and we needed help as we had never been to Orlando or Universal park before. We were guided by the front desk to a comfortable suite that overlooked the pool and was on the quiet side of the hotel. We used the hot tub and pool 2 of the nights and they were clean and refreshing. We took the shuttle to Islands of Adventure and also back and that was terrific since we didn't have to drive and we were exhausted by the end of the day. We found the concierge and front desk very helpful and friendly. We had a lot of questions but they were all answered with a smile. The free parking and free WiFi were huge values for us. I also liked that the hotel was just off International Drive which made it just a bit more relaxing. The breakfast was very nice too and the little shop was convenient.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room at the front desk - she was more than happy to accommodate. We faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Memmett,
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your visit to our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you found my staff to be "wonderful" and "extremely helpful", and I know they genuinely enjoy helping our guests to make everyone's visit more enjoyable. I am happy to know that you enjoyed our pool area and we are excited to let you know that we are currently putting the finishing touches on a new pool deck and extensive landscaping upgrades in our pool area. We hope to see you again next time when you can enjoy these upgrades and other continued improvements.

Sincerely,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Address: 5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Orlando
#42 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#47 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest To Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Orlando Universal
Suites Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Homewood Universal Suites
Orlando Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.