We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early - Save 15%
Ranked #20 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I booked this hotel online after reading previous reviews and was not disappointed. We had one room with king bed for my husband and i and adjoining room with 2 kings for our 2 teenagers. We did overlook the highway rooms 2204,2206 and i slept like a log and didnt hear any noise. The complimentary breakfast was good enough for us but not 2 fussy teenagers. Perhaps a bigger choice of fruit? Staff were extremely helpful. Once we had checked into our room, reception rang to enquire if everything was ok and to ask if they could do anything for us. The cleaner knocked on our door everymorning to ask if there was anything we needed and to ask if we needed service. Location was good with restaurants in walking distance and prime outlet shopping not too far away. Definitely would stay again. Free breaky, some dinners,wifi and parking all for a great price!

Room Tip: some reviewers had complained about rooms overlooking i-4 but we had no problems and rooms were quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sue B,
It was such a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. Your kind and detailed remarks about the great service provided by my team are genuinely appreciated and I am thrilled to share your comments with the team. Thank you for your constructive feedback as well so that we may better meet the needs of all of our guests. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you are back in our city.

Warm regards,

Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    259
    43
    16
    7
See reviews for
489
104
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

What can ya say, realy friendley staff.good service. Staff always ready to help. Free breakfest. And dinner from monday to thursday.onley halfway tru holliday bud cant get better.thank you homewood staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sonny V,
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel. It is such a pleasure to have you as our guest and I am happy to hear that we have been successful in providing a homelike atmosphere for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again on future visits.

Sincerely,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
upstate New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff was wonderful - extremely helpful - and we needed help as we had never been to Orlando or Universal park before. We were guided by the front desk to a comfortable suite that overlooked the pool and was on the quiet side of the hotel. We used the hot tub and pool 2 of the nights and they were clean and refreshing. We took the shuttle to Islands of Adventure and also back and that was terrific since we didn't have to drive and we were exhausted by the end of the day. We found the concierge and front desk very helpful and friendly. We had a lot of questions but they were all answered with a smile. The free parking and free WiFi were huge values for us. I also liked that the hotel was just off International Drive which made it just a bit more relaxing. The breakfast was very nice too and the little shop was convenient.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room at the front desk - she was more than happy to accommodate. We faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Memmett,
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your visit to our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you found my staff to be "wonderful" and "extremely helpful", and I know they genuinely enjoy helping our guests to make everyone's visit more enjoyable. I am happy to know that you enjoyed our pool area and we are excited to let you know that we are currently putting the finishing touches on a new pool deck and extensive landscaping upgrades in our pool area. We hope to see you again next time when you can enjoy these upgrades and other continued improvements.

Sincerely,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The on-line images of this property fail to show the extensive wear and tear. The whole hotel needs freshening. We were assigned rooms on the highway which are very noisy. When I later mentioned this to the desk they said to ask for rooms not on the highway next time. How about offering such rooms in the first place if available?

BEWARE if you need to go into Orlando proper because crossing Sand Lake Road will take three lights to get through. Hint: crossover to John Young Parkway S and take it to get into Orlando.

A nice bathing suit and shorts were left in one room. When we returned the next day to ask for them and after much research and calls on the hotel's part, it seems they were thrown out by the cleaners. Hotel's policy is to bag and keep such items. We were given a discount for the price of the items but wonder what really happened to items (they were Australian).

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room NOT on a highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear JaneD,
Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback about the noise concerns and missing items. We have reviewed our current recovery process for lost items with our housekeeping staff to ensure that no items are discarded within 30 days.
As part of our ongoing improvement process, we will be replacing the remainder of our guestroom carpets in the coming year and we are currently installing a new pool deck in addition to several other projects. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience and hope you will reconsider staying with us.


Sincerely,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We began planning a family Thanksgiving for over a year, and looked at VRBO's, coastal hotels, and other options in the Orlando, Florida area. After much research, high prices for approximately 20 members of our family, and consternation; a friend (travel agent) recommended the Homewood Suites at Universal Studios in Orlando. From the moment I placed the call to the time we left for home last Tuesday after the vacation, it has been nothing but 5 star treatment and amenities from the staff at the suites. Breakfast every morning and dinner Monday thru Thursday was wonderful. In fact, we had planned to cater Thanksgiving dinner on Thursday, but they had a fantastic thanksgiving dinner for all residents. We car pooled to Disney World and visited many other sites in the Orlando area using the Suites as our base. The suites were roomy, always clean and accommodated all of our needs. The desk staff were wonderful even helping to take family pictures. The price $115.00 per room fit my budget so well. I can tell you it is all about making memories and my five kids and their children made many during the week we stayed at the Homewood Suites at universal Studios in Orlando, Florida.

Room Tip: Call the hotel, develop a relationship with staff, and enjoy the experience. Convenient o everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear JoeT,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We really enjoyed having your family to celebrate the Thanksgiving holiday with us. Your comments are genuinely appreciated and go a long way in motivating my team. I am so fortunate to be able to work with a great group of people who truly enjoy helping others. You can't train or force that quality. Again, thank you so much, and a very merry Christmas to you and your family as well.

Sincerely,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our first time staying at a Homewood Suites, and needless to say it will not be out last. We were very impressed with everything. The staff was friendly and very accomodating. Both the breakfast and the dinners they served were wonderful. The suites were excellent. We had a wonderful time and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear 129ShirlD,
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We are constantly striving to provide high quality food service, and my staff takes great personal pride in doing their best to help all of our guests. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again next time.

Sincerely,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I can't say enough about our wonderful stay here. The staff is top of the line, very friendly & accomodating. We missed the shuttle to Universal because of an issue with our flight. The front desk personnel not only arranged for a can service but also paid for it!! What other hotel would do that?? Our room was very clean & so spacious. The kitchen in the room was excellent - it was like staying in a condo! The hot breakfast was also exceptional! We will be back for sure!! Thank you!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 114
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Mary F,
It was such a pleasure to have you visit with us in November. I am pleased to know that you found my staff to be "top of the line, very friendly, and accommodating." Housekeeping especially appreciated your comments regarding the cleanliness as they work so hard to ensure that details are not overlooked. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our city. And best wishes for a wonderful holiday season.

Sincerely,
Keith Beears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios

Address: 5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#20 Family Hotel in Orlando
#28 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest To Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Orlando Universal
Suites Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Homewood Universal Suites
Orlando Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.