We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Pointe Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Cypress Pointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836 (Formerly Sunterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Lake Worth, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very close to everything. Went to Aquatica and it was very conveniently located. Only issues I had were that there were no elevators and we had large suitcases to carry up 3 flights. Also the cleaning staff were a bit rude but the front desk staff was amazing and very helpful. We did find a palmetto bug but we are Florida residents and understand it has nothing to do with cleanliness so we just set him free outside.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    289
    94
    42
    54
See reviews for
420
99
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our time there! We had a 3 bedroom/3 bathroom suite. We used our timeshare so no idea how much it cost per night. Rooms were nicely decorated. Not too modern but not too dated. Had a homey feel to it. Washer, dryer, full kitchen (pots, pans, small appliances), flat screen in all rooms. Master bathroom had jacuzzi tub and shower that fit like 4 ppl, double sinks. 2 rooms had king beds, 3rd had a full size, and living room had sofa bed so was big enough for our family (4 adults and 5 kids). Also had a 2 screened porches with table and chairs. Pool was big, nice, and warm. Always enough lounge chairs. We used their grills to cookout and kitchen to cook. Saved a butt load of $ by doing that. There is a tennis court, basketball court, shuffleboard, arcade/pool tables (that we didn't have time to use). They share amenities with sister resort which has like 3 pools and mini golf. Cypress Pt is like 10 min away from Disney. 1.5 hrs away from clearwater and cocoa beach. They give you a packet with coupons and maps when you check in. ONLY bad thing is no free WiFi but we survived lol. Oh, remember to do your inventory check list when you get there just to cover your butt from extra charges. There were like 2 towels missing and a pan according to the list but I told them asap and my deposit was refunded no problem at check out.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful, up to date timeshare close to everything including Disney. Depending on which room your in, you may be able to catch a glimpse of the firework show from Disney also. Clean, Big, beautiful rooms with balcony. All amenities provided and good quality too. Friendly staff but Do Not attend their Timeshare Presentation - this was the worst presentation i ever experienced - like piranhas trying to suck our blood. Beside that, definitely recommend and would stay again

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Villa has many issues on this property. Rented a 2 Bedroom Villa (Suite 7301 A), the "3rd Bed" is a lockoff and the door/wall between them are paper thin as others have commented on, you will hear everything next door. Only Solution, get the 3 bedroom villa to solve this problem. Best Solution, stay somewhere else!!!

Customer "NO" Service at this property is absolutely horrible. Had issues with Maid Service attempting to call and enter our room the 2nd day we were checked in thinking we were about to check out (had an 8 night reservation). Had maintenance enter our unit while asleep in bed attempting to service a repair we neither called for or needed our 3rd day. The phones in our unit worked like garbage (bad wiring/connections) and we had the phones for both Units A & B in our Unit A Villa. So we got phone calls for both units...

Wifi is a joke here. There are 2 paid options ("High Speed" or "Normal Speed"; read as Slow and Very Slow; connection speeds were 1800kbps on high speed and 900kbps on normal speed). It's per device and is a horrible speed and even worse service. Had issues with the wifi almost our entire stay. At one point the entire wifi system went completely down for most of a day and it "lost" our connection to the 2 paid devices we had. Wifi is handled by an outside company and they are even worse with their tech support. Bottom line, spent literally all day on the phone with them attempting to fix the wifi, which they never fixed and we ended up paying twice per device in an attempt to fix it (per their advice), which didn't work. Still waiting on the refund for 2 high speed connections (4 x $35 = $140).

Cellular service is impossible on this property as well. Using Verizon, we had almost zero signal on the property grounds. Immediately leaving the property and entering a public area (street/side walk) restored almost full bars 4G LTE. I asked the property management if they used cell phone jammers and they denied it of course. But something on this property is jamming signals, illegal or otherwise. If you like using your cell phone while on vacation, DO NOT STAY HERE.

Overall the villa is very standard compared to other villas in the Orlando area. We have stayed in a few thru the years. As a very seasoned business traveler, the best advice I can offer is stay elsewhere. There are far better properties for the money and with better customer service.

Room Tip: Paper thin walls if you only get a 2 Bed or 1 Bed (lock-off rooms), get a 3 bed to avoid. Better yet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As Diamond Resort owners, we have stayed in this hotel four times now. Great location, nice, clean, comfortable rooms with spacious baths and nice kitchen. We always stay in 3-bedroom unit with lock-off, so have to compare apples to apples. Two of the bedrooms are huge and well appointed, while one is small and cramped. Everyone should know by now that they charge $20 per day for Wi-Fi PER USER! Very expensive, and many lesser hotels offer for free, but this one doesn't. We just bagged the Wi-Fi and used smart phones when we left the complex. Check in was friendly and quick. Great location with many restaurants within 1-mile. Good Kobe Japanese Steakhouse about 1.5 miles away. Great location for Disney attractions, good pool, and easy plentiful parking. Just don't complain about the Wi-Fi charges.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

As timeshare owners we have stayed in many different places. Is Cypress Pointe the fanciest? No. Most modern? No.
Cypress Pointe is a very comfortable, spacious condo. We were in a 3 bedroom unit. It had an average size full kitchen, large living area, comfortable couch and a flat screen tv. The lanai fit 4. But honestly, we were in Orlando. Who spend time in a room. Even with a few days of rain there were things to do.
It is located about 1.8 miles from Disney property and just a few miles south of Sea World and Universal.
We enjoyed coffee, omelets and breakfast from the pool cafe. The food was really fresh. Sodas, chips and snacks were available while spending a day at the pool as well.
I would recommend this place to anyone.
My sister in law lived it so much, she was already calling her vacation club to see if they could reserve rooms themselves.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We stayed at this hotel during the first two weeks of May and booked through a UK travel operator. The reception was as expected however the parrot was a litle loud!! Having to pay the $250 cover charge is pretty standard at any hotel and is just there to cover any damage you may put on the room - this is usually only "held" on the card and never does the transaction actually go through (saying that I have not checked since being back).

Wifi charges are a joke - this should be free of charge in any hotel in this digital age! Also having to pay for the safe seems ludicrous to me - was a little put off by this however we obviously had to take this out to protect our vauables as we were out most of the day.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment and was pleasantly surprised with what we saw - I am assuming we had one of the updated apartments - flat screens TV and new looking sofa and chairs etc - fridge was a little old but seeing as we only ever kept liquids in there was no big deal. The airconditioning was OK but like others mentioned very noisy. We were never bothered by noise and were located in one of the aprartments adjacent to the entrace. The only thing we ever heard was the frogs!! I did not hear a single other person for the whole 2 weeks we were there!

General ammenities of the hotel are a little basic and tired - the pool area could do with some work - spending less money on an imitation volcano and more on the chairs and sun beds would be the first investment!

The accommodaiton is very close to all disney parks, universal and International Drive - this has to be its main selling point. You can be in Magic Kingdom on the rides within 30 mins (as long as you get a bit of luck with the traffic lights).

Food etc close by is pretty standard - classic American. If you like fried food, chips (fries), chicken wings and copious ammounts of it you will love the food. I for one would like to see some change here - no wonder America are eating the world away into obiesty.

I would defo book again in this area or Florida (Beuna Vista) but would probably look at a more up market hotel / apartment next time.

Room Tip: If you get tired easily don't book high as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cypress Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Pointe Resort

Address: 8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836 (Formerly Sunterra)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Pointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cypress Pointe Resort is a timeshare resort managed by Vacation Resorts International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Cypress Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Pointe Hotel Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Hotel
Cypress Point Resort
Cypress Pointe Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Resort
Cypress Pointe Grand Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.