We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Pointe Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Cypress Pointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836 (Formerly Sunterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Vernon, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, nice for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband, our two kids and my parents enjoyed our Spring Break away from Central NY and stayed for a week at Cypress Pointe Resort. We had a 3 bedroom, 3 bath unit on the second floor just steps from the pool. My mother had called a few days before our arrival and requested a unit close to the pool and we were not disappointed. The unit was absolutely beautiful and very spacious. The only issue we had with it was the 2nd bedroom meant for our kids - boy 13 and girl 9 - only had a double bed rather than 2 twins! But, they took turns sleeping in the bedroom and on the sofa bed so all was well. My husband and I had the lock-out room, which was so large and had it's own mini-fridge and microwave. Another issue was that we had to pay for Wi-Fi for the week, per device, which cost $35. But, we were on vacation and expected to spend a little bit on extras. All and all, the unit was well stocked and met our needs for the week. The pool area was very nice and it was heated! We are sunbathers so one of us was up and at the pool by 8:00 every morning. We never had an issue finding seats because one of us was always out there. There were a few people who would get up early, put their towels on chairs and come back hours later! There was a nice convenience store, a poolside deli and an arcade that we used everyday. A poolside bar would be nice for an frosty drink but we brought our own so no worries! The location of the resort was fantastic as well. There is a Winn Dixie and and ABC Liquor Store literally right next door. There is also a Walgreens across the street and many restaurants within a few miles, including Joe's Crabshack which we went to twice! We also went to Universal Studios one day, which was about a 15 minute drive. Luckily, my parents have been to Orlando so many times, they know the back roads and we easily avoided I-4 and the heavy traffic. It was also very easy to get to the resort from the airport and took about 20 minutes. Bottom line, we loved this resort and would not hesitate returning next year!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    284
    91
    42
    52
See reviews for
415
97
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I checked in late, helpful man on reception, room nice, good parking. The only slight downside of the room was that because it had an ajoining room - locked, obviously as i was alone - it was very noisy when the next room was occupied, maybe the sound proofing is not good on doors that can be opened ? ? I dont think they were particularly noisy people but it was quite unnerving being woken in the middle of the night as it sounded like they were in my room !!
Having to pay for wifi nowadays is virtually unheard of and of the 12 different hotels i stsyed in, this was the only one i did have to pay for.
Nice resort, good facilities, but for me the major down fall was the hard sell on the time share that i got, the only way for me to end the conversation and say that was not interested in attending a meeting was to tell them i did not earn enough money to qualify !
However this hotel is in a very good loaction and i would use it again, but be prepared for the time share issue.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmore, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time at this resort. The rooms were good size and whenever we needed anything someone was right there to help. The only issue we had was with the WIFI, it wasn't free which was a major bummer.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were really pleased with our apartment. On arrival late evening we were welcomed at reception, and given our key passes. On entering our second floor apartment the table was set up with place settings and glasses. Very roomy with two bedrooms, en suite with Jacuzzi and walk in shower. Separate bathroom next to the washing machine and tumble dryer cupboard. A veranda was also a bonus we did overlook the car park though, but it was shady when it became very hot later in the day. AC was good and the kitchen adjoining the living area was well equipped, the fridge/freezer was a bit dodgy as the shelves on the door on opening would come away if you had put stuff on them, so needed to be gentle when pulling the door open otherwise any bottles etc would be on the floor!

The pool area and amenities available for families are good too. There is good security who walk around periodically to ensure all is in order. The complex is kept clean and tidy. Lovely fountains on entering the site. There is Wi-Fi available but for an additional charge per item, we didn't use this and ended up down the road to use free Wi-Fi from restaurants nearby.

The only negative thing would be for us is the early/late families going/coming back from the parks or outside entertainment as no consideration is then given to those who wish to sleep in or are trying to sleep by stomping up and down the stairs and starting up their cars in the early morning which as one grandmother commented to her grandchild "you are waking up the whole complex!" Excitement I know.

This resort is a convenient base for Downtown Disney, all the Disney resorts, Sea World, Aquatica and a short journey of 15/20 minutes or so to Universal Studios (we found getting to Universal was easy it was leaving to return onto the right road was difficult.) A car is recommended to get around but there is a good bus service no 50 about 10 mins walk to bus stop to go to Sea World for $2 per person, OAP $1 and if you need to go further e.g International Drive or to go shopping at Vineland Ave then ask for a transfer ticket and you can then get on a number 8 from Sea World which will take you in either direction. Ask the bus driver and the majority of the time they know and will tell you which bus stop you will need. You can also purchase a day rider ticket for $4.50/person if you plan to use the bus for more than four journeys in one day.

There is a good supermarket called Winne Dixie behind the resort, which we discovered nearer the end of our holiday you will see ABC wines and spirits building its behind/adjacent to this shop. Ask for a discount card as a lot of the food is discounted if you apply for their card. Walmart supermarket is on Turkey Lake Road about 10 minutes drive away on the left-hand side, and there are other shops in this area too. A lovely road and this road takes you all the way to Universal Studios without having to go onto the I4 carriageway

We would definitely return if we can. Thank you Cypress Point Resort for giving us a great holiday.

Room Tip: I would recommend to choose a room facing the fountains as this would be a good view, noise level fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place, friendly efficient staff. Fairly central location with plenty of restaurants in walking distance. Traffic is beastly but that's how it is around Disney. Wi-Fi sux and cell phone reception questionable in places. Cool gameroom...pool is nice but could have been cleaner. Staff at cafe was GREAT but food is all from freezer. Lobby parrot would only speak to me when no one else was around. Screened in porches and jacuzzi tubs were sweet. Love this place.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We r booking to go again Oct 2016 with our 2 kids aged 8&10 loved it last great location nice big apartment we were on 2nd floor no real hardship we got a 2 bedroom condo which was ideal.supermarket nearby plenty places 2 eat easy 2 get 2 all theme parks great base cant wait for our next visit.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love cypress pointe. me and my family go there every november! Very ideal and only 5/10 minutes away from Wal-Mart and the disney parks! they have everything you need, a number of pools around the complex and definitley makes you feel like home! would reccomend to anyone!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Pointe Resort

Address: 8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836 (Formerly Sunterra)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Pointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cypress Pointe Resort is a timeshare resort managed by Vacation Resorts International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cypress Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Pointe Hotel Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Hotel
Cypress Point Resort
Cypress Pointe Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Resort
Cypress Pointe Grand Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.