We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Florida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Pointe Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Cypress Pointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836 (Formerly Sunterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas in Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were pleased with our stay. As most people with kids, most of our time was spent in the parks.
The 3 bedroom unit had plenty of room for our family of 6. It was clean and well furnished. The location provided easy access to Universal Parks without getting on I4.


http://www.welearnaswego.com/2013/01/01/christmas-2012-florida/

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    296
    97
    44
    55
See reviews for
431
100
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed the week before Christmas in a 3 bedroom. The place is clean and spacious. We bought groceries and planned on cooking most of our meals. We were missing some essential cooking utensils, but our major complaint was our refrigerator. It failed 3 times while we were there! That meant removing food, and replacing it when done 3 times. It also meant waiting while they worked on the refrigerator. The freezer froze up every time, even after replacing it with another refrigerator. The manager told us we would have to shop for any spoiled food and bring him the receipt. We did this once. We had purchased $260 initially and only needed to replace $25. Then it failed the 3rd time and we lost some freezer items which totalled $12. He told us that we caused the freezer to fail by turning the refrigerator dial from 3 to 4, and refused to pay. The front staff was very pleasant. The maintenance department was prompt, but seemed inexperienced to fix the refrigerators. I think this resort is struggling. The manger needs to be more proactive in making sure resort guests are taken care of. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We came here for Christmas week with 2 other couples. Stayed in a 3 bedroom including the lock-off. Overall place is spacious. 3rd bedroom very small. Decor is dated (80's Miami look), kitchen functional, kitchen was missing some things when we arrived and we were told they were "out of them" when we called to have them replaced. Pool nicely heated. Hot Tub unnicely cooler than the pool. Very kid oriented place so would maybe have appreciated more if any of us had them. Location is great! Close to freeways and tourist destinations.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom at the Grand Villas section of the Cypress Point. The timeshare was decorated nicely but was small. As stated in the description on the timeshare in order to get to the bathroom you have to go through the bedroom which can be inconvienent if someone is staying with you. The bathroom is large and has a separate shower and jacuzzi tub. I liked the idea that they gave you 4 pool towels in the room so you didn't have to go to get them or return them before you left. There was plenty of parking and most times we parked right in front of the section we stayed in. The place was very quiet and was in a great location. We rented the room from someone on ebay and got a great price. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

On arrival the weather was shocking the plane was delayed and therefore the start to the holiday was anything but good, approaching cypress pointe we couldn't wait to get settled and start our holiday the next day however when checking in the helpful receptionists told there was a problem with our booking, 13 in total traveled however there was only 1 room booked for 4 people. The issue was resolved quickly and we were soon in our rooms! Not wanting to waste any more of our holiday we decided to complain to the travel company on return. The rooms were fabulous, spacious and clean! The small twin room was a tad on the small side for two adults however there was a pullout bed in the living room, and a very comfortable space for 4 adults! The facilities in the resort were fantastic for us all and would definitely recommend having a bbq and pool evening and using the hot tub! Restaurants are within walking distance (between 10 and 30minutes), which is different to any other time we have visited Florida usually having to drive everywhere! The orlando ale house just across the road is fantastic! All the parks are relatively close by as well!! We had a lovely stay at cypress point and would love to go again one day!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were able to get a great deal on a 3 bedroom unit. Talk about great, 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, one has jacuzzi tub, one tub is in the middle of the room, 3rd is just normal. Kind beds that were great, my back did not even hurt when I got up. 2 balconies, large living area with a kitchen that has every thing needed. This is the first time renting a condo type unit that we were given a starter kit with everything needed. The kids loved the pool with 3 slides and a kiddy area that sprays water out of the ground. My husband, myself, and 3 grand daughters with us and had a couple come over and spend the night. Plenty of room!!!

Room Tip: No elevators so try not to get 3rd floor, even the 2nd floor was tough after going up and down after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a 3 bedroom lockoff on the 3rd floor with no elevator. We knew this side of the resort had no elevators from past visits, so no big deal to us. The 3 bdr is very spacious, plenty of room for everyone; full kitchen with dish soap, detergent - but never salt and pepper?! Washer and dryer always come in handy, as does the 2nd and 3rd bathrooms!

Bedrooms are large, except for the 2nd in the 2 bdr -- a single bed, though amenities are great there - flat screen tv, full closet, chair. Lockoff unit is like a large hotel room, jacuzzi is beside the bed, but what does that matter? Microwave, flat screen tv, coffee maker with Starbucks packets, shower and veranda.... all you really need.

Overall, the unit and grounds are clean, well taken care of accessible. Others have references teh Grand Villas; my understanding is that Diamond has taken over the Villas, and Cypress Pointe Resort is still being managed by their own company (we booked early, before the transition had taken place, so we were in Cypress Pointe). We asked for and happily received a tour of the Villas by a very friendly and engaging security gentleman. The units are more modern and there are elevators, but not as nice pools. We were very pleased to stay at Cypress Pointe again -- and will be in the future if that happens.

Both are in an area where you can walk to Winn-Dixie, Walgreens, and numerous restaurants. Downtown Disney is a short and easy 5 minute drive and the parks are close too. Accessing the I-4 is simple and easy, so going to other parks or Amway Center (the Magic!) is simple and fast.

Another great vacation in Orlando, in large part due to our accommodations!

Room Tip: If no elevators are a problem for mobility, be sure you are going to the Grand Villas and not Cypres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites on International Drive
1.7 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 332 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#10 of 332 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando - Downtown Disney Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Pointe Resort

Address: 8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836 (Formerly Sunterra)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Pointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cypress Pointe Resort is a timeshare resort managed by Vacation Resorts International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cypress Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Pointe Hotel Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Hotel
Cypress Point Resort
Cypress Pointe Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Resort
Cypress Pointe Grand Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.