We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go again some day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Pointe Resort

Save Saved
You added Cypress Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cypress Pointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836 (Formerly Sunterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty lodging in Orlando
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again some day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

On arrival the weather was shocking the plane was delayed and therefore the start to the holiday was anything but good, approaching cypress pointe we couldn't wait to get settled and start our holiday the next day however when checking in the helpful receptionists told there was a problem with our booking, 13 in total traveled however there was only 1 room booked for 4 people. The issue was resolved quickly and we were soon in our rooms! Not wanting to waste any more of our holiday we decided to complain to the travel company on return. The rooms were fabulous, spacious and clean! The small twin room was a tad on the small side for two adults however there was a pullout bed in the living room, and a very comfortable space for 4 adults! The facilities in the resort were fantastic for us all and would definitely recommend having a bbq and pool evening and using the hot tub! Restaurants are within walking distance (between 10 and 30minutes), which is different to any other time we have visited Florida usually having to drive everywhere! The orlando ale house just across the road is fantastic! All the parks are relatively close by as well!! We had a lovely stay at cypress point and would love to go again one day!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    252
    82
    39
    51
See reviews for
366
94
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houghton Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were able to get a great deal on a 3 bedroom unit. Talk about great, 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, one has jacuzzi tub, one tub is in the middle of the room, 3rd is just normal. Kind beds that were great, my back did not even hurt when I got up. 2 balconies, large living area with a kitchen that has every thing needed. This is the first time renting a condo type unit that we were given a starter kit with everything needed. The kids loved the pool with 3 slides and a kiddy area that sprays water out of the ground. My husband, myself, and 3 grand daughters with us and had a couple come over and spend the night. Plenty of room!!!

Room Tip: No elevators so try not to get 3rd floor, even the 2nd floor was tough after going up and down after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a 3 bedroom lockoff on the 3rd floor with no elevator. We knew this side of the resort had no elevators from past visits, so no big deal to us. The 3 bdr is very spacious, plenty of room for everyone; full kitchen with dish soap, detergent - but never salt and pepper?! Washer and dryer always come in handy, as does the 2nd and 3rd bathrooms!

Bedrooms are large, except for the 2nd in the 2 bdr -- a single bed, though amenities are great there - flat screen tv, full closet, chair. Lockoff unit is like a large hotel room, jacuzzi is beside the bed, but what does that matter? Microwave, flat screen tv, coffee maker with Starbucks packets, shower and veranda.... all you really need.

Overall, the unit and grounds are clean, well taken care of accessible. Others have references teh Grand Villas; my understanding is that Diamond has taken over the Villas, and Cypress Pointe Resort is still being managed by their own company (we booked early, before the transition had taken place, so we were in Cypress Pointe). We asked for and happily received a tour of the Villas by a very friendly and engaging security gentleman. The units are more modern and there are elevators, but not as nice pools. We were very pleased to stay at Cypress Pointe again -- and will be in the future if that happens.

Both are in an area where you can walk to Winn-Dixie, Walgreens, and numerous restaurants. Downtown Disney is a short and easy 5 minute drive and the parks are close too. Accessing the I-4 is simple and easy, so going to other parks or Amway Center (the Magic!) is simple and fast.

Another great vacation in Orlando, in large part due to our accommodations!

Room Tip: If no elevators are a problem for mobility, be sure you are going to the Grand Villas and not Cypres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a 3 BR, 3 Bath unit on the second floor. Lots of space for the 8 of us. Lots of closets, huge bathrooms. The 3 young boys loved shooting out of the pool slides like little rockets. The pool volcano is a nice touch and looks impressive at night. The hot tub was not overly inviting, looks a bit dirty, because of the wind blowing dirt and leaves around. The pool area has lots of loungers and a few cabanas for people like me that stay out of the sun. The children enjoyed the playground too. We used the shuffleboard court, the basketball court and the tennis courts. We also used the BBQ area and I would not recommend it for anything other than thin burgers or weiners because it didn't get very hot, took forever just to brown the weiners. The couple next to us had the same issue. The staff are great. We did a timeshare tour for 2 hours to get $100 off your Disney Tickets. They weren't pushy and we had some good coffee and pastry while touring the place at 7 am and the rest of our group were just ready for breakfast when we finished, so it was worth it. The patio is screened in which is great to help keep out the Florida bugs. The patio is a bit small for 8 people, it only fits about 4 at any one time. The location is a short drive to Disney Attractions and Universal. Easily walk to restaurants, drug store across the street too. I would definitely stay there again if going to the amusement parks in Florida.

Room Tip: There really isn't a great view anywhere. We were near the pool/restaurant and were pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This is an ok place to stay if your not carrying luggage or have any little ones but staying on the third floor with luggage and children was terrible. The older units have NO ELEVATOR! There was a terrible smell of sewer, nasty old blue carpet and torn toss pillows. Bathroom has no door tub is basically in your room!? Kinda creepy. They don't provide coffee so bring your own. No hair dryer bring your own. It's like a cheap 80's apt.
We stayed before and it was nicer but apparently there is a vast difference in the buildings. I can't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights 5 November.
Had a 2 bedroomed apartment on 3rd floor.
The 2nd bedroom and the ensuite for the master bedroom had been renovated, we have stayed here before and would stay again.
Great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely apartment for two, would be a little snug for any more. Really clean and so close to Disney and Sea World. Restaurants close to hand. Went at end of September so very few children around so very relaxing around the pool. Would not hesitate to recommend. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cypress Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Pointe Resort

Address: 8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836 (Formerly Sunterra)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Pointe Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cypress Pointe Resort is a timeshare resort managed by Vacation Resorts International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Cypress Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Pointe Hotel Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Hotel
Cypress Point Resort
Cypress Pointe Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Resort
Cypress Pointe Grand Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.