We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A steadfast staple for our family Disney trips!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Pointe Resort

Save Saved
You added Cypress Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cypress Pointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836 (Formerly Sunterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty lodging in Orlando
Yarmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A steadfast staple for our family Disney trips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a 3 bedroom lockoff on the 3rd floor with no elevator. We knew this side of the resort had no elevators from past visits, so no big deal to us. The 3 bdr is very spacious, plenty of room for everyone; full kitchen with dish soap, detergent - but never salt and pepper?! Washer and dryer always come in handy, as does the 2nd and 3rd bathrooms!

Bedrooms are large, except for the 2nd in the 2 bdr -- a single bed, though amenities are great there - flat screen tv, full closet, chair. Lockoff unit is like a large hotel room, jacuzzi is beside the bed, but what does that matter? Microwave, flat screen tv, coffee maker with Starbucks packets, shower and veranda.... all you really need.

Overall, the unit and grounds are clean, well taken care of accessible. Others have references teh Grand Villas; my understanding is that Diamond has taken over the Villas, and Cypress Pointe Resort is still being managed by their own company (we booked early, before the transition had taken place, so we were in Cypress Pointe). We asked for and happily received a tour of the Villas by a very friendly and engaging security gentleman. The units are more modern and there are elevators, but not as nice pools. We were very pleased to stay at Cypress Pointe again -- and will be in the future if that happens.

Both are in an area where you can walk to Winn-Dixie, Walgreens, and numerous restaurants. Downtown Disney is a short and easy 5 minute drive and the parks are close too. Accessing the I-4 is simple and easy, so going to other parks or Amway Center (the Magic!) is simple and fast.

Another great vacation in Orlando, in large part due to our accommodations!

Room Tip: If no elevators are a problem for mobility, be sure you are going to the Grand Villas and not Cypres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    258
    86
    40
    50
See reviews for
376
95
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a 3 BR, 3 Bath unit on the second floor. Lots of space for the 8 of us. Lots of closets, huge bathrooms. The 3 young boys loved shooting out of the pool slides like little rockets. The pool volcano is a nice touch and looks impressive at night. The hot tub was not overly inviting, looks a bit dirty, because of the wind blowing dirt and leaves around. The pool area has lots of loungers and a few cabanas for people like me that stay out of the sun. The children enjoyed the playground too. We used the shuffleboard court, the basketball court and the tennis courts. We also used the BBQ area and I would not recommend it for anything other than thin burgers or weiners because it didn't get very hot, took forever just to brown the weiners. The couple next to us had the same issue. The staff are great. We did a timeshare tour for 2 hours to get $100 off your Disney Tickets. They weren't pushy and we had some good coffee and pastry while touring the place at 7 am and the rest of our group were just ready for breakfast when we finished, so it was worth it. The patio is screened in which is great to help keep out the Florida bugs. The patio is a bit small for 8 people, it only fits about 4 at any one time. The location is a short drive to Disney Attractions and Universal. Easily walk to restaurants, drug store across the street too. I would definitely stay there again if going to the amusement parks in Florida.

Room Tip: There really isn't a great view anywhere. We were near the pool/restaurant and were pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This is an ok place to stay if your not carrying luggage or have any little ones but staying on the third floor with luggage and children was terrible. The older units have NO ELEVATOR! There was a terrible smell of sewer, nasty old blue carpet and torn toss pillows. Bathroom has no door tub is basically in your room!? Kinda creepy. They don't provide coffee so bring your own. No hair dryer bring your own. It's like a cheap 80's apt.
We stayed before and it was nicer but apparently there is a vast difference in the buildings. I can't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights 5 November.
Had a 2 bedroomed apartment on 3rd floor.
The 2nd bedroom and the ensuite for the master bedroom had been renovated, we have stayed here before and would stay again.
Great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely apartment for two, would be a little snug for any more. Really clean and so close to Disney and Sea World. Restaurants close to hand. Went at end of September so very few children around so very relaxing around the pool. Would not hesitate to recommend. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Pros: free on site parking, well kept grounds, tennis, volcano pool, very clean, large A suite with full kitchen, TV in every bedroom and living room, good studio B unit w/ large tub and separate shower, mini kitchen, good 4G reception. Together they're big enough to invite family.

Cons: $20 wifi per device with sporadic connectivity and no ethernet backup connection. Together they're big enough to invite family.

Also, they've got a beautiful parrot named Charlie.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We got resort thru our timeshare for a great value on our point system. They are currently doing renovations on the property. The construction was not a big deal but they do need updating. I do not know if the rooms themselves are getting a facelift but I hope so. A coat of paint and some new improvements would be nice. My only real beef was the smell of our room. It smelled like old water or mold. The room itself had great size for 8-10 people which was a plus. The furniture was ok. Beds were comfy. Colors a bit too miami like but not a big deal. The pool area looked fun and nice. We did not use it but it was heated. The location is very close to DisneyWorld but rent a car so you can get to the parks. Overall we enjoyed except for the smell. It I hope gets updated soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Pointe Resort

Address: 8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836 (Formerly Sunterra)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Pointe Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cypress Pointe Resort is a timeshare resort managed by Vacation Resorts International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Cypress Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Pointe Hotel Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Hotel
Cypress Point Resort
Cypress Pointe Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Resort
Cypress Pointe Grand Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.