We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Pointe Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Cypress Pointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836 (Formerly Sunterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a 3 BR, 3 Bath unit on the second floor. Lots of space for the 8 of us. Lots of closets, huge bathrooms. The 3 young boys loved shooting out of the pool slides like little rockets. The pool volcano is a nice touch and looks impressive at night. The hot tub was not overly inviting, looks a bit dirty, because of the wind blowing dirt and leaves around. The pool area has lots of loungers and a few cabanas for people like me that stay out of the sun. The children enjoyed the playground too. We used the shuffleboard court, the basketball court and the tennis courts. We also used the BBQ area and I would not recommend it for anything other than thin burgers or weiners because it didn't get very hot, took forever just to brown the weiners. The couple next to us had the same issue. The staff are great. We did a timeshare tour for 2 hours to get $100 off your Disney Tickets. They weren't pushy and we had some good coffee and pastry while touring the place at 7 am and the rest of our group were just ready for breakfast when we finished, so it was worth it. The patio is screened in which is great to help keep out the Florida bugs. The patio is a bit small for 8 people, it only fits about 4 at any one time. The location is a short drive to Disney Attractions and Universal. Easily walk to restaurants, drug store across the street too. I would definitely stay there again if going to the amusement parks in Florida.

Room Tip: There really isn't a great view anywhere. We were near the pool/restaurant and were pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This is an ok place to stay if your not carrying luggage or have any little ones but staying on the third floor with luggage and children was terrible. The older units have NO ELEVATOR! There was a terrible smell of sewer, nasty old blue carpet and torn toss pillows. Bathroom has no door tub is basically in your room!? Kinda creepy. They don't provide coffee so bring your own. No hair dryer bring your own. It's like a cheap 80's apt.
We stayed before and it was nicer but apparently there is a vast difference in the buildings. I can't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esteromom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights 5 November.
Had a 2 bedroomed apartment on 3rd floor.
The 2nd bedroom and the ensuite for the master bedroom had been renovated, we have stayed here before and would stay again.
Great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely apartment for two, would be a little snug for any more. Really clean and so close to Disney and Sea World. Restaurants close to hand. Went at end of September so very few children around so very relaxing around the pool. Would not hesitate to recommend. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Pros: free on site parking, well kept grounds, tennis, volcano pool, very clean, large A suite with full kitchen, TV in every bedroom and living room, good studio B unit w/ large tub and separate shower, mini kitchen, good 4G reception. Together they're big enough to invite family.

Cons: $20 wifi per device with sporadic connectivity and no ethernet backup connection. Together they're big enough to invite family.

Also, they've got a beautiful parrot named Charlie.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8repeels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We got resort thru our timeshare for a great value on our point system. They are currently doing renovations on the property. The construction was not a big deal but they do need updating. I do not know if the rooms themselves are getting a facelift but I hope so. A coat of paint and some new improvements would be nice. My only real beef was the smell of our room. It smelled like old water or mold. The room itself had great size for 8-10 people which was a plus. The furniture was ok. Beds were comfy. Colors a bit too miami like but not a big deal. The pool area looked fun and nice. We did not use it but it was heated. The location is very close to DisneyWorld but rent a car so you can get to the parks. Overall we enjoyed except for the smell. It I hope gets updated soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dager3585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had rented a 3BR unit in Oct '12 based on reviews and proximity to WDW (I have stayed in LBV before and like the access to the gate right off of I-4 and some of the 'back doors' into the World.

This place did not disappoint. The kids loved the pool and having a TV in each BR was a big hit with them. The place is close enough to WDW that you could easily make it back for an afternoon nap if you wanted to break up each day.

Physically, it's apparent that the place is older: dinged up (but repaired) doors, no elevators, etc. Still it has been very well maintained, the rooms are large, and everything was in perfect working order.

Biggest pet peeve was that the AC was fixed to run between 73-76 or thereabouts, which was annoying.

Showers were great (plus a big jacuzzi tub in the MBR), hot and good pressure. Good towels and LOTS of them, which is always a plus in Fla, where it takes at least a full day to dry something out.

Pool was great: big, not too crowded, hot tub was pretty hot, 3 little water slides, plus an erupting volcano. There was a little deli connected to the main building nearby, though we didn't use it. The lobby was intact, but the main entrance was adding a large portico, so routing went around back. No big deal, and just more evidence that they are keeping the maintenance at high levels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beezlebubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.7 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#17 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,651 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Tuscany Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
2.0 mi away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
1.3 mi away
Floridays Resort Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#11 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 6,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Pointe Resort

Address: 8651 Treasure Cay Ln, Orlando, FL 32836 (Formerly Sunterra)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Pointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cypress Pointe Resort is a timeshare resort managed by Vacation Resorts International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cypress Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Pointe Hotel Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Hotel
Cypress Point Resort
Cypress Pointe Orlando
Cypress Pointe Grande Resort
Cypress Pointe Grand Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing