We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Knife

The Knife
12501 State Road 535, Orlando, FL
321-395-4892
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Knife is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #953 of 3,102 restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 535 and I4
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We went here to celebrate my birthday, it was our first time. Our server was not very good but luckily the food was. We didn't understand the process and extra charges but the server wouldn't explain. We told him it was my birthday and he did nothing special. :( The grill was loaded with a variety of meats & veggies and the salad bar was full of unique cold sides. The only hot sides were sweet potato fries, french fries, or mashed potatoes and the server had to bring those.The placemat in front of us said a dessert was included but once we got the bill they were $3 more each. The food was tasty but the service was no good. They have a fly issue too not to good around the cheeses.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    71
    57
    24
    19
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food value and healthy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Who'd a thunk it! Great tasting fresh food and a salad bar unlike any I've ever seen. Wood grill cooking at least 4 types of meat just you want it. Plus seafood on weekends. For just a few dollars more per person, your bottomless drinks too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“First time trying Argentinian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Looking for something different, we tried the Knife. Different type of food, I'd says little high priced for self serve, but tasty.
Our server was very efficient, attentive and informative.
I'm not a big meat eater, so I probably wouldn't return just based in that. Decent restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Full of bugs that bite; scary food;”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Move on - this place is full of biting bugs - even our waiter apologized. They bit my dinner companion's ankle (maybe food was rotting under the table) and left him with 20 eraser-sized bites that oozed for 5 days. The food is slop - the pepper seeds and stems were butchered along with the flesh. Horrible experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A lot of food for your dollar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an Argentinian steakhouse. Set up a little different...rather than the meat brought to you, you stand in line to have it carved. For $30, it was all you can eat plus a bottle of wine per person. The salad bar was fantastic, though the shrimp cocktail lacked flavor. The meat was good, but not great, though the sausages were amazing. The red wine that came with the meal was surprisingly good (Spanish red). This dinner was the first we had in Orlando where I didn't rationalize spending a lot by saying "well, it's Orlando and we are on vacation". Worth every penny! Almost forgot, the ground beef in pastries that they bring around to your table are delicious!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Knife also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida

Been to The Knife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Knife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.