We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but over hyped” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Universal's Islands of Adventure

Universal's Islands of Adventure
6000 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)
407-363-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Universal's Islands of Adventure like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$156*
and up
Ranked #4 of 285 things to do in Orlando
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Universal's Islands of Adventure features some of the most innovative rides and attractions ever made on seven spectacularly themed islands: The Wizarding World of Harry Potter, Marvel Super Hero Island, Toon Lagoon, Jurassic Park, The Lost Continent, Seuss Landing and Port of Entry.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good but over hyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Harry potter is a great ride and the best part of the park. Not a huge amount of rides if you don't like roller coasters.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15,390
    4,000
    1,138
    334
    245
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“So Much Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We got the two day park to park tickets and had a great time at Universal Studios and Islands of Adventures.

We went on a Friday and Tuesday and found the queues were quite long for the newer rides. i.e despicable me and Olivanders.

However rides like the hulk,
Duelling dragons (forget the new name) and the mummy we managed to get on without queuing.
We also found the popular rides were quieter first thing when the park opens or at the end of the day.

We used the single rider queue for the Harry Potter ride and cut the wait time down by 2/3.

If you only have time to do one park I would pick IOA over Studios however once the new Harry Potter section is complete my opinion may change.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun, Fun, Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

my family visited for the first time this year and had a blast. It was small enough to be enjoyable. However there's no fastpass as Disney has, you have to purchase a pass for I believe 70$ and you can only use it once per ride and Harry Potter was exempt from the pass .However the park isn't that expensive so I believe on weekends the locals go there because the park was crazy full on the weekend but during the week kids were in school and the crowds were way down. Will definitely go back again.....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Loved everything. Well worth all the money. Memories for life. Get it on your bucket list. Live in the moment don't film it. X

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Harry Potter Island was great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We enjoyed the whole park but went for Harry Potter and were not disappointed. Just likewalking into the movie. A must do for fans of the books or movies.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal's Islands of Adventure also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Universal's Islands of Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal's Islands of Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.