We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for pre teens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Universal's Islands of Adventure

Universal's Islands of Adventure
6000 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)
407-363-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$145*
and up
Universal Orlando Tickets
Ranked #3 of 85 Attractions in Orlando
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Universal's Islands of Adventure features some of the most innovative rides and attractions ever made on seven spectacularly themed islands: The Wizarding World of Harry Potter, Marvel Super Hero Island, Toon Lagoon, Jurassic Park, The Lost Continent, Seuss Landing and Port of Entry.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great for pre teens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

my son loved this place instead of disney. He was actually bored at disney, and this place is way cheaper, we got tickets from the hotel. He enjoyed the simpson ride, spider man, the mummy, and of course harry potter. we got a 4 day pass but i think we did everything in 2 days, most enjoyable for him was the arcade, where u could win prizes, he won some stuffed animals with the claw grabber machine.... can't wait to go again!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,254
    3,510
    1,003
    304
    219
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Secret - Get there when the park opens, go straight to Harry Potter, no waiting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on-site, extremely expensive and the only reason it was worth it was to get into Harry Potter early. You get into the Islands of Adventure a full hour before guests who did not which allowed us to go on every ride multiple times with zero wait. I noticed that when the park did open, it was still not busy for an hour or so, but by 11am, the wait was two hours for Harry Potter World. So, the secret is to get there when it opens, go straight to Harry Potter, then move on. You won't need the fast pass at all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Small, But Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It may not be as big as Walt Disney World, but it still is good. The best attraction which I enjoyed has to be the newest one, Harry Potter. It stayed true to the books as well as the movie portrayal. I particularly enjoined the Butter Beer!! Very tasty. The rest of the park hasn't changed in years though. The big drawback has to be the outrageous prices for food that they charge. Not really worth it, and their special all you can eat meal plans, which I got 2 years ago, limited what you could order. They only let you order what they wanted you to, not anything on the menu. All in all though, 1 day was all you really needed there, and I didn't need the fast trak ticket which put you in the head of the line for the ride attractions since the most I had to wait this time of year was only 30 minutes at most, on the weekend!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was an excellent theme park but it didn't get a five rating for a few reasons.
1st reason-It took 40 minutes to get ticked into the park- way to long when the park is only open for 8 hours. At the ticket counter, there is a major "upsell" - which takes some time and probably confuses some of the patrons who don't speak English- we observed one family there for literally 25 minutes! If at all possible- pre-purchase your tickets!
2nd Reason- the locker situation at the Harry Potter World- see my review of that.
3rd reason- which is mostly my fault for my lack of research on this park as well as the season I attended- A lot of the rides are water rides where you get drenched-I wish the rides in the Jurassic Park section were regular rides- I was looking forward to some dinosaur action! It was only in the high 60's and a very windy day when we went- way too chilly to get wet. So if you go on a similar day- bring a change of clothes!
4th reason- Pterodactyl flyers - also in Jurassic Park- Bizarre rules! Only an adult with a child can ride! Meaning, even one adult can't ride this ride- what the heck!
Okay- so those are my complaints- but overall the park is awesome! Harry Potter Forbidden Journey was fantastic! Worth the whole park itself! I also really enjoyed the Spiderman 3-D ride and, although my eyes were closed for the entire ride, my husband says that the Hulk Roller Coaster was the best roller coaster he has ever been on!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“WOW AMAZING AND FUN!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great departure from Disney as we have a 12 and 10 year old who only wanted to do the thril rides. If you want thrills and and a break go here

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal's Islands of Adventure also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Universal's Islands of Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal's Islands of Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.