We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called Island of Old Adventures” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Universal's Islands of Adventure

Universal's Islands of Adventure
6000 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)
407-363-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$145*
and up
Universal Orlando Tickets
Ranked #3 of 85 Attractions in Orlando
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Universal's Islands of Adventure features some of the most innovative rides and attractions ever made on seven spectacularly themed islands: The Wizarding World of Harry Potter, Marvel Super Hero Island, Toon Lagoon, Jurassic Park, The Lost Continent, Seuss Landing and Port of Entry.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage
Cleveland
2 reviews
“Should be called Island of Old Adventures”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent 5 days on a family vacation at the Hard Rock in Orlando. We decided to go to Island of adventures in the early morning (if you stay at the Hard Rock you get early admissions into the park) to experience Harry Potter world. Harry Potter World was actually really awesome. The place (Hogsmade) that you walked through was a spitting image to the movie. The Lost Adventure Harry Potter Ride, that was in the castle was really cool. The castle was really detailed. There were two roller coasters. One was really lame. It was like a thrill ride for a five year old. The other one was really cool, The dueling Dragons. Other than Harry Potter World and Dr Sues, the rest of the park was in dire need of a makeover. Toon Lagoons water features, showed signs of wear and tear from all of the water effects. The Lost Continent needs some fresh ideas. There was never a wait for any of the attractions because they were so boring. Especially the Lost Continent walk through, that felt like a Social Studies field trip waiting to happen. The best part of Jurassic Park was the water ride. They need to let the T-Rex loose so he can destroy the rest of the park just like the movie. Marvel was pretty good. Spiderman and the Hulk were some of the best rides in the park. So take it from this 13 year old the only adventure in this park was Harry Potter.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,176
    3,486
    997
    303
    217
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“what an adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

awsome rides and attractions, highlights were Harry Potter, Spider man. Paid a visit to the halloween scream night with my son and was suitably scared s******s

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Over an hour in line to purchase tickets”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Why does it take so long to enter a park the average person is at the window over 10 minuets too much up sale going on at the window

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southwest US
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Harry Potter is worth the price of admission (if you are a fan)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was the only "non-Disney" attraction we visited during a full week in Orlando. We love roller coasters and this place has two of the best anywhere - The Hulk and Dragon Challenge. We had practically no wait to ride Dragon Challenge and when that is the case, I HIGHLY recommend standing in line a few minutes to ride in the front group - it is an experience not to be missed.

The real draw for us to visit was the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. We loved it! The Hogwarts ride is very high-tech and very intense. In fact, we loved it so much all five of us rode it again as single riders and my poor wife vomited while on the ride! Too bad the ride's action cameras were down at the time or we would have bought one of those pics! When her ride came to an end the staff person was sort of rude and simply pointed my wife to an exit without offering to help her clean up, etc.

The frozen Butterbeer and the Pumpkin Juice were amazing and the lunch we had at The Three Broomsticks was outstanding for theme park fare. My 11 year-old daughter was selected during the magic and wand demo where a certain wand chose her and it was an experience she will never forget and it erased the hour spent in line for this. There are many other things we liked about Harry Potter but we found the entertainment, while good, to be a bit lacking in production value compared to Disney (sorry Universal).

My older children added Hallowen Horror Nights to their admission. They had a good time at that, but it was way overcrowded with one and a half hours to go through to see most of the special attractions. However there were enough creepy charact

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuuk, Greenland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome adventures (rides)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Isl. o/Adv. is a great park to visit. I've been here 5 times and don't tire of it.
Musts:
The Amazing Adventures of Spiderman (favourite!), The Incredible Hulk coaster, Dr. Doom's Fearfall and Jurassic River Adventure.
Other great rides:
Harry Potter (not as thrilling as the above, but good), Dudley Doo-Rights Ripsaw Falls (fun plunge), and Popeye and Bluto's Bilge-Rats Barges. You will get wet in the last two.
Kids-fun and kids at heart:
High in the sky Trolley ride is sweet.
The rest of the rides are mostly for spending time or sitting down or for little kids.

The in-park shopping is a little annoying since the quality of clothes, bags and merchandise is generally low. Which makes me think I'd might as well purchase from online stores from back home or on one of the many outlets of flea-markets in the area.
The prices are relatively very high compared to what you get for your dollars.

The Marvel-part of the park is great fun and they play awesome music, the cartoon part fun and has lots of shopping, Harry Potter-city is, well, very Harry Potter-ish but beautiful staged, Jurassic area is fun and actually has some of the best shopping-stuff if you're looking for fun gadgets to kids that won't shrink in wash immediately..., Sinbad/eighth wonder-part of the park offers spectacular settings, and psychic readings which are fun and mystic, but the best part of it is Mythos, the restaurant. FANtastic dining for a great value.

It's a fun park, well worth visiting for it's awesome rides and fun surroundings.

Not very food-allergy friendly except Mythos and a grille though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal's Islands of Adventure also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Universal's Islands of Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal's Islands of Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.