We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixing Business and Pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4012 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Resort credit and parking
Ranked #15 of 332 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixing Business and Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a conference and to visit SeaWorld and Disney. As a conference hotel, it gets a five plus rating as a family hotel I would give it a three/four. Unlike the prior poster, my son and nephew were not made to feel like princes. When I mentioned would they like to check in or ask the gentleman any questions, the front desk clerk stared at me as if I was crazy. We were literally standing in front of the little checkin desk for kids, but the front desk clerk did not encourage the boys to use it. Maybe they treat you differently if you are checking in for a conference.
I took the kids to the pool the first afternoon. The pool attendant at the Marriott could not have been any nicer if he tried. He answered lots of questions, found me a shady place to sit, gave me advice about the resort , and even offered to go get me towels and brought me extras. When we went back to the ritz, the service was lousy. It took me ten minutes to find someone I could ask about an umbrella. She pointed me across the pool, and told me that she was going to go collect the dirty towels and that then I could sit there. I was flabbergasted and told her no that I wanted to sit near the kids. She condescended to open an umbrella for me, but never offered to lay out the nice towels the ritz offered. On a positive note, there are mats available to use in the pool.
Our room had a great view and the beds were very comfortable. The closet and bathroom was disappointing as it was set up for handicap access and the water in the shower was never hot enough. The conference facilities were excellent. Valet Parking had great service and they always asked if I needed directions. I loved being offered a bottle of water on my way out and in.
The Ritz is very close to SeaWorld and even offers a shuttle. We drove as we wanted to be there when the park opened. I wouldn't stay here if my destination was Disney. I find the Grand Floridian, Yacht Club, and Hyatt Grand Cypress to all be nicer hotels than the Ritz Orlando with much easier access to Disney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    315
    95
    53
    22
See reviews for
506
361
50
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the end of May. I cannot praise the staff and the hotel enough. We traveled with our 4 year old daughter who was treat like a princess, given her own bracelet for free ice cream throughout her stay and her own Ritz Robe and slippers. The pool area and bar were fantastic and Breakfast was superb. Disney was a 10 min drive away and it was great to have the contrast from the hustle. The joining Marriott has a great lazy river for children. We will be back. The only downside is this hotel has spoiled us for future holidays!

Room Tip: We had a pool view which was lovley
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
231 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a classy Ritz-Carlton. Arrive and four staff members open the set of double doors for you into the grand lobby. The service is as smooth and professional as you would expect and wish. Rooms are plushly comfortabe, a chaise longue for reclining, a balcony with a view over the golf course or the Lake. Marble bathrooms and Asprey toiletries.
The hotel connects with the adjacent J W Marriott through the conference center area which is vast - acres of carpet in the break-out space. You could easily enjoy a substantial stroll without leaving the buildings. But you should - the grounds are beautifully landscaped into wetlands, with a profusion of wildlife, ibix, herons of various hues, rabbits and rumors of alligators.
The hotel enjoys a quiet, grown up feel - 'no blue jeans' says the dress code, but designer denim seems OK. Internet is $9.95 and shirts are only $7 to be laundered.
Note for Europeans: There is no way a pedestrian could access this hotel! You really need a car; self-park or valet-park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz during the Memorial Day weekend 2 weeks ago. We thought the hotel would be full of guests since it was a long holiday weekend. But it actually felt very comfortable and organized when checking in, at the valet, pool, restaurants etc. They even had a whole weekend of activities planned for the children such as scavenger hunts, sports, and arts/and crafts.
We had an early flight from NYC and arrived around 1pm and thought that we would not be able to check in til 4pm(check in time) but they saw that we have a toddler and immediately let us check in with out me asking. Sent a crib up with a bunch of goodies for the toddler including baby toiletries,outlet safety plugs, and a tub spout protector. These little attention to details make me want to go back to the Ritz again because they show that they care.
The room was immaculate and bedding and pillows were all down and comfortable.
We also enjoyed their sister hotel's pool/lazy river. It's just a 5 min walk over and we had a blast with our 2.5 yr old son. Staying at an upscale hotel like the Ritz made our first trip to Disney with our son even more memorable!
If you have the budget, i think staying at this hotel it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ritz Carlton Grande Lakes. We arrived late after a long, tiring day at SeaWorld and got a very nice friendly welcome. We got two spacious and bright adjoining rooms with a balcony that overlooked the lakes.

The hotel is very accommodating to our children, ages 1 and 3. The staff is extremely friendly and would leave personalized messages for us and gifts for our boys.

This is a classy property with the lobby and rooms tastefully decorated. It is clean and it smells good. Very nice hotel - all you would expect from a Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at this property during a four day busienss meeting. Although the lcoation is a bit off the tourist map, it is a fantastic hotel with first class amenities. The fact that it shares facilites with the JW Marriott is even better. Ritz guesrts can use the lazy river pool next door. The staff was very attentive and the room was very clean and luxurious. We had a group rate that was crazy low and I would stay at this hotel during the off or shoulder seson without any concern over cost.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good. Some have golf views but candidly I could care less. i fyou are there fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I will begin with the downside, Hotel is isolated, 25 minutes drive to theme parks and shopping malls. This is a minor problem( no problem at all if you are here for golf!) as the Hotel itself is magnificent. My husband and myself travel extensively throughout the world and I believe the staff here are the most helpful, courteous, and well trained I have ever had the pleasure to experience. Special note should be given to the house keepers I had the pleasure to meet several of them as I was in my room when they came to turn down. They were so friendly, cheerful and eager to please and gave me extra chocolates Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#21 of 332 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 2,786 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 332 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes

Address: 4012 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#3 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#7 Green Hotel in Orlando
#11 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Business Hotel in Orlando
#20 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 500-acre nature inspired luxury resort is located 10 miles from Walt Disney World; 10 miles from Airport and 7 miles from Universal Orlando. Guests can enjoy on-site eco-tours, kayaking, fishing, tennis courts, championship golf course, award-winning spa with adult-only pool and dining by James Beard award-winning chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Ritz Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.