We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for adults in Orlando” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes

Save Saved
You added Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4012 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #14 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great choice for adults in Orlando”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz for several days to relax in the sun. We were happy with our decision to stay here. The front desk staff was always courteous and accommodating. The bell staff (including valet) were also always ready to assist and help in a timely fashion. Everyone offers you bottled water which was very much appreciated (leaving, arriving, just passing through).

Our room was a good size, standard Ritz furnishings and bathroom set-up. It has a separate shower and tub, double sinks, separate toilet closet. Lots of hangers in the closet and all the in-room amenities you need, including safe.

The pool area was the highlight for us. Particularly since we spent most of our time there. The pool staff (especially Xiomara) and wait staff (Jason and others), were all great. They were always attentive and helpful. Would definitely recommend that as a guest, you spend time talking with these folks and treating them kindly (saw others who didn't do this!), they work hard for you in the hot sun! Not easy. During our stay there were kids at the pool, but not too many, and most were really well behaved. If I were to bring kids, I would take them to the JW next door, the kids would have a blast over there and it is much more kid friendly.

The lobby and restaurants are typical Ritz, elegant, but not over the top.

The buffet breakfast included in our rate was delicious, with made to order eggs/omelets and many other good selections. Service was prompt and friendly.

We have stayed at many Orlando hotels, this by far rates the highest for overall experience (rooms, location, service, service, service!).

It was easy to drive to all of the attractions. Sea World and Universal are really close. Disney is only 15 minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the service elevator (its noisy around there).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    854
    224
    66
    46
    16
See reviews for
369
276
43
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our second stay at the Ritz Carlton Grande Lakes. It's just me and my husband and were looking for a easy to reach destination for a long weekend. So, should you stay here if you do not have kids in tow? Yes, the service is wonderful, the grounds lovely, the golf course on site and 10 minutes from the airport. But plan ahead...it is well worth it to book a spa treatment because you have use of the lovely and quiet adults only spa pool all day. You can also pay $30 a day, but why not schedule a manicure or facial and then enjoy the peach and quiet of the spa pool. There is a cafe in the spa as well, but I loved having lunch at the restaurant (Bleu, I think it's called) next to the hotel pool. The grounds are extensive and make for nice walks, the golf course was excellent. Perfect for a 3 day weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I just came home from a week long vacation here at the Ritz-Carlton Orlando. This has been one of my most enjoyable, and relaxing stays at a resort. It slightly reminded me of a mini Atlantis (but with better service, and less people). This resort has one of the most beautiful grounds I have seen in a resort, the detail is outstanding. There was a convention going on while I was here, but it was still very relaxing. The JW Marriott next door (which is useable to the Ritz-Carlton guests, and vice versa) was beautiful as well (only having used their outdoor amenities, as well as having breakfast at citron. But the staff was wonderful here as well).

I came here for a family vacation to the Disney parks with my 6 year old daughter. But wanted to get away from the non-stop disney action. And we are very happy we did just that. It was so great here that even our daughter chose not to continue to go to the parks because she wanted to enjoy the outdoor facilities.

I can not stress enough how beautiful this resort is! We will be coming back very soon, and not for the parks....

I also recommend having dinner at Norman's steak house! The pork Havana is exceptional, thanks to the recommendation of our waiter David. David was a great waiter, he even brought my daughter and I out to see the banana tree that grows right off the restaurant because my daughter thought it was neat to have a banana tree.

My only drawbacks were house keeping came too early for my liking, the beds were a little small (although they were double beds so that's an obvious oversight on our part), and the pool/ jacuzzi closed at 10pm. But other than that those are my only gripes.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a pool/lake view it's beautiful! Try getting a room away from the elevator, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Ritz Carlton multiple times, and this time was special as I was taking my daughter to see Taylor Swift for her first concert. We have NEVER been disappointed. But, when you are paying this way, one should never be disappointed. A few things however have affected our comfort level the last few stays, and for the cost I doubt we will stay there again until resolved.

The good? Pleasant smiling service, never too crowded, amazing food, many room service options, outstanding club level, clean pool and hot tub, great drinks, gorgeous spa.

The not as good? The lack of valet speed even when calling ahead for car, the loss of "tea time" in the club room, the fact that the club level suite has ONLY a king bed, no double options, and NO sofa bed (which, in Orlando and for close to a grand a night seems somewhat ridiculous), and the lack of thought from some staff is all a little disappointing. The hotel was out of proper cribs and only had those awful and loud pack n plays left, it took an hour to get one which meant we had already put the baby to bed in a lounge chair, and then later when we needed a pillow, despite the "shh" sign on the door, the bell was rung repeatedly. Now, none of these are earth shattering issues. But for the Ritz? A 5 star property with these prices?? I expect someone bringing a pillow, at 11 p.m. to know NOT to ring a doorbell when there is a clear sign on the door and when I gave specific instructions when calling for the pillow order. Nope, we won't be back until some of these minor issues are resolved. For this money? I expect virtual perfection, not classic 3 1/2 star problems.

Room Tip: Clarify a need for doubles when booking room, and ask for suites with doubles. Very few and far betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Yes location is very good, easy to get to--BUT the real story is how wonderful the experience is at this hotel--a very classy greeting at reception, a beautiful room perfectly fitted out, super comfortable bed, very clean, excellent gym, wonderful buffet breakfast and a fantastic staff-enough said???

Room Tip: Be prepared to feel very special, the breakfast is very very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I only stay at hotels in this price range when attending a business conference with my employer picking up the tab. I’ll note that I could technically afford to spend this much on a family vacation if I wanted to, but for my wife and I the value just isn’t there.

Pluses: The staff. I have stayed at a fair number of similar places and the staff at this one really are extra-attentive. Also, unlike the hotel itself they never act is if they expect a tip – although I certainly did give tips as warranted (e.g. handling the luggage).

Many of the rooms have nice little private balconies. Very welcome.

Typical: Grounds, public and private furnishings, bath décor, bed comfort, room size, etc. are fully what you should expect of a hotel of this class and price range, but nothing extra.

Minuses:
Golf course: If you are a golfer, has to be one of the most boring and unchallenging courses I have ever seen. Nicely tended to but dead flat, and uninteresting design. If you are not a golfer – well, unfortunately your room fee includes a substantial amount needed to contribute to the golf course maintenance.

Parking: Self-parking: If you insist on the self-parking instead of the assumed valet parking your visit starts on a down note as you are treated at that point as a second-class guest. “May I leave my car here [in front of lobby] just while I check in and take my laptop to my room? No sir, we suggest you use the recommended valet parking.” Self parking is not advertised – you need to have researched. And it is about as far away from the hotel as possible – a real delight on a hot Florida afternoon.

Surcharges: The hotel charges extra for anything it can think of. Internet? $10 / day plus tax. Self-parking is high. Shuttle to/from airport (7 miles)? – Forget about it. Get a taxi? Nope – you have to use the so-called limo service (Town Cars), you cannot call an ordinary taxi. 18% mandatory service charge on everything. Most drinks (except a couple of wines by the glass) outrageous. Free breakfast? Ha!

Bottom line: Pay more, get less. If that's your bag, go for it.

Room Tip: Unless you are one of those worried about fires, higher is better at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at the Ritz Carlton for work purposes, found the stay enjoyable, and food extremely high standard. What was annoying was the daily room charge for internet access, which seems steep considering the room costs. Also had issues with the key card system on the room which ended up using 15 new cards and many people looking at the door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes

Address: 4012 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#4 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#11 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#12 Business Hotel in Orlando
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new hotel is located 10 miles from Walt Disney World; 10 miles from Airport & 7 miles from Universal Orlando. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Ritz Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.