We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, as expected!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes

Save Saved
You added Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4012 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Hotel Credit & More
Ranked #11 of 328 hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, as expected!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

When staying at a Ritz Carlton, you expect a high level of service. Clean rooms, turn down service with chocolates on your pillow at night, an easy check-in and great food. This Ritz had all that, and more. I was there for a conference. The service was impeccable and the facility highly conducive to successful meetings. I loved the rocking chairs outside and the many places to sit down for an impromptu conversation.

The great experience began the moment I arrived. I was greeted immediately and was met at the door by one of the front desk staff who whisked me through the process and sent me on to my room with perfect directions.

They had a great area for kids. I'll bet the kids staying there had a wonderful time.

I look forward to the chance to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    867
    225
    66
    46
    16
See reviews for
377
279
44
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston bean
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great property with golf! Pools and spas! You don't need to leave this property to enjoy the warmth of Orlando! We stayed in February and the pools are heated. The restaurants on premises are great especially Norman's!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake and/or pools!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

As one would normally expect, the property is great, the service fenominal, the food extraordinary and the price a little more than what you like to pay. However, you get what you pay for.

We had a room on 9th floor overlooking pool and lake. You were also able to see the Disney Epcot ball in distance and some fireworks.

One of the best features is the ritz kids. They take care of the kids and they have a blast. This is definitely one of the best properties in Florida. Will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Amazing place with great service. James the concierge (Yorkshire lad) was great. The fish in the restaurants is as good as any I have had.
You must do the Kayaking around the swamp with the guide (I'm sorry I have lost his name). The wildlife is amazing and even though there are alligators the guide knows how to watch them safely. Very easy paddle and very informative. In two hours we spotted, deer, alligators, owls and all sorts of birds of prey. Try and go in a small group.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor as the views are great and there are three lifts per floor so you never wai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here for four days in January during the PGA show (although my family and I have stayed here 6 or 8 times in the past during visits to Disney and are returning again this March). We return to this hotel because we like the location AWAY from Disney. It is an easy drive to the Disney, Universal or SeaWorld parks but we enjoy coming back to a hotel that isn't always ALL about Disney (characters, etc). The Ritz (and adjoining JW Marriott) offer a large property with spa, golf, pool, lazy river pool, kids activities. We especially choose this property as they offer a bathroom with separate tub and shower that is large and luxurious. The rooms in the Ritz are large (480 square feet for regular room and about twice that for a suite). We usually eat at Vineyard restaurant (reasonably priced, for a Ritz, with a nice wine list). The breakfast buffet is awesome (about $25 US per person) and we never had a bad meal for dinner and the entire staff has always been wonderful. We have also eaten at every other restaurant in the Ritz/JW and enjoy being able to have variety in dining options without leaving the hotel. The Ritz Lobby bar is roomy and nice and offered piano or guitar entertainment that was nice. The drinks are pricey and the service was a bit slow (often crowded). Last visit I had a garden facing room and did not experience any of the outside noise other guests mention but I did witness, upon checkout in January, many guests queued up to talk to a manager about noise in the pool facing rooms (especially lower floors). I enjoyed three rounds of golf during the visit in January and found the course to be excellent, the pace of play acceptable. I had a room deal with golf included (unlimited), which is a nice way to go if you are a golfer. Otherwise, the golf is pricey but in line with what you will pay elsewhere in Florida this time of year ($100 - $200 US per round). We used a caddie (Gaya) that I highly recommend. She was an expert at reading the greens. This service costs an extra $50 plus tip ($50) for the caddie. The golf concierge (Ricky) was also very friendly and would drop in during the round to check on us and even offered us chocolates. We ate lunch twice at the Fairways Pub and enjoyed our meal (I think I had steak salad twice). One area where we had service issues was the valet and housekeeping. EVERY time we called ahead for our car, it was not available and, upon checkout, the bellman never came to our room and we carried our own bags downstairs. Unacceptable. Otherwise, the outside ops folks at the Ritz were always friendly, opening doors, offering directions, etc. Housekeeping issue was not with room cleanliness - the hotel is very clean. The issue was that I often had to hunt for the housekeeper after she cleaned the room since she failed to leave us extra soap, shampoo, etc. Again, if you are looking for an upscale hotel while in Orlando, this property is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: High floors facing lake are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have stayed at this property twice on the concierge floor. Except for a few Rosewood properties, we usually stay at the Ritz properties. Yes, not all Ritz properties are equal and since Marriott purchased them, they have gone downhill. However, not this one. All Ritz Carlton property managers should come and visit Orlando and their concierge floor. Service and food are excellent! Keep up the good work. It is one of our favorite places. Everything is streamlined and the client is very important to them and it shows. Love all the dining facilities except The Vineyard --- not worth the money and the other dining facilities are pricier but better. Spa with zen pool, awesome.
Puerto Rico RC --- you definitely need a field trip to this property for service, ambiance and having your staff look professional and clean.

Room Tip: Only concierge level! Great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First of all, let me say that I have never been to an hotel where the staff are so polite and friendly and that the hotel was spotlessly clean, both of which are a huge plus, but something I would expect of the Ritz Carlton.

The grounds were nice, but certainly not spectacular, in fact the butterfly garden (which may have been part of the adjoining JW Marriott consisted of two dead looking bushes..... Given this is winter in Florida and all the colorful plants thrive at this time of year, the landscaping was not up to par with many other bordering large hotels.

Now the complaints:

We were on one of the upper floors and you could hear every word of conversation on the pool deck, in fact in the evening you could hear so clearly you could join in.....

At 9:00 am every morning out came the man with his leaf blower and it took him a full 1 hour 15 minutes to do the pool deck and the fountain area, which again because the sound travelled so badly was like having him leaf blowing our room. Whilst 9:00 may not affect everyone, when I am on vacation I want to get up when I want to, not because I cannot stand the noise anymore......

Rooms were nice, but to be honest no better than any other up market hotel.....

The smell of dirty cooking oil pervaded the lobby level so badly one night that guests were left feeling nauseated by the smell and when I came back from an evening out 4 hours later, it could still be smelt.

The internet in the rooms was an absolute pain in the rear. They do have an IT department who help, but why should it be so difficult to get more than 1 device on the wireless system. I gave up.

Pool was cold, I only saw one person in there in the 5 days I was there. If you are paying Ritz prices, shouldn't you be able to swim in relatively warm water?

For me, the stay was a huge disappointment and I will probably not bother ever staying at a Ritz Carlton again, I can put my hard earned cash to better uses.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes

Address: 4012 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#4 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#7 Green Hotel in Orlando
#10 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#12 Business Hotel in Orlando
#22 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new hotel is located 10 miles from Walt Disney World; 10 miles from Airport & 7 miles from Universal Orlando. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Ritz Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.