We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4012 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
SC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Fantastic 3-night stay with husband and 2 kids – this was a NO PARKS trip and all we wanted to do was enjoy friends and family and this was the perfect place.

Lovely lobby, public areas. We had spacious 1-bed suite w/ balconies w/ great views from 6th floor. Big walk-in closet, 1.5 baths, long soaking tub, separate shower. Great HD pictures on TVs. Lots of channels and pay movie options. Housekeeping was excellent but didn't get to room until late one day.

Very good room service dinners (note 18% gratuity included to all food/bev purchases onsite –saves trouble of adding tip : ) Orders were prompt and correct (although phone rings a long time). Fabulous breakfast buffet was included in our rate for two adults so we paid for kids’ buffet $10 each – fills you up until dinner.

Dinner at Vineyard was okay. Avoid the beet salad. The crab cake and Caesar salads were average. Entrees good. The waiter was rude - guess he knew he was getting a tip, didn't care.

Ritz pool is quiet and relaxing. The waitress was always there to take our orders. Beware birds will eat your food! Pool guys nice, lots of towels and complimentary cold water. Hot tub was luke warm though. Spa and golf looked great but we didn’t have time to enjoy. For $25 you can use spa pool w/ no kids if that's your thing.

5-min walk to JW for Lazy River, fun a couple of times around but it was crowded and dirty (timeshare uses too) w/ lots of partying adults/college kids consuming bevs in pool. JW lounge chairs need replacing. The lazy river is lazy slow. We met friends at the JW pool bar and were having a fine time until they closed at 5 pm due to non-existent weather concerns. Everyone was grumbling and unhappy because it was a beautiful Sat night!

Great hotel experience on the whole. No more vacation clubs for me – don’t want to cook and do laundry when away from home!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    269
    81
    50
    20
See reviews for
435
318
47
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

A quick holiday getaway turned out to be luxury at its best. After a quick drive from the airport we arrived in the middle of the night to the sight of an extraordinary hotel with gorgeous lighting and a beautiful series of fountains. The welcome we received at the front desk was first class - you wouldn't know it was the middle of the night as the Hotel had plenty of staff on hand to assist and greet us. From the moment we entered the room with the tiled foyer we couldn't have been happier - the decor was lovely and comfortable and the bathroom was spectacular.

Dining was ideal - from an ample breakfast buffet to a casual lunch at the pool where we enjoyed a crab cake sandwich and jerked chicken sandwich that we both not consider personal favorites.

Classic Ritz service abounds in this fabulous resort - a true five diamond experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The Ritz-Carlton had a very nice pool but next door was the JW Marriott pool that had a lazy river pool that you could also use. There was music, cafes for a quick bite and the pool was delightful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and the package deal we booked thru their website online was wonderful. Our $419 Exec Suite came with free valet, breakfast buffet and $50 credit every day. The food at the hotel restaurant (Vineyard) was wonderful and the service was excellent. The rooms were very clean and tasteful. I never saw the maid once, but our room was always cleaned complete with turn down service. The location was a bit far out for our needs, but the drive was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast U.S.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I stayed here one night for quck business trip to Orlando. Usually my husband and I come here 2-3 times a year for long weekends. We live in Florida and this is a great getaway. The hotel is always immaculate, the restaurants and lobby lounge are always enticing with good food and good vibes and the staff continues to exceed every expectation we have of good service! I only stayed for about 15 hours (checked in about 7 PM and out about 11:30 AM the next morning. I reserved the least costly room which was equivalent in price to the Marriott next door, the Peabody, and the Rosen at Shingle Creek. What I get at the Ritz Carlton is worth so much more. The room was so comfortable and was, as always, so clean. There never seems to be any wear and tear on the furniture or on the walls. I had a drink in the Lobby Bar--as a single woman alone I was made to feel so welcome.

This hotel at the right times of the year is no more expensive than other resorts and conference hotels. Always check for specials and "free nights" which can be found on their website. This is very removed from the theme park craziness of Orlando. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel based on a friend's recommendation. The room price was the same as at the JW Marriott, which is literally right next door. The value you get from the Ritz far surpasses any other hotel. One point to note, though, is that everything is more expensive at the Ritz. So if you are staying with a family, it may be cost-prohibitive to stay at the Ritz. We discovered this when our bill for lunch at the pool- one (delicious) Cuban sandwich and a bottle of white wine came to $90.00! We used our AAA membership to get a great price on the room. The package also included complimentary valet, free breakfast and a $25 resort credit. Our room was spacious and impecably clean. The only slight annoyance was the numerous calls and knocks at the door when we checked in to make sure everything was up to par. (we were contacted 3 times in the first hour of being there..a little overkill) Otherwise we absolutely enjoyed our stay. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. There is a great running trail around the two hotel properties. The pool at the Ritz was beautiful and the staff at the pool and everywhere else were so courteous. We spent the second pool day at the JW Marriott to enjoy the lazy river. All in all a great hotel.

Room Tip: AAA discount gave us best discount and freebies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol - UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and this, in our view is the best. We stayed in a club room. The Room was spacious, clean, you could ask for no more, the staff are incredible, nothing is too much trouble. The buffett breakfast is great, with a very good selection and the best omelettes!! The canapé's were stunning. We really could find no fault....well I suppose the wifi was a bit hit and miss. Stay here, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Stay in a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes

Address: 4012 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#5 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#7 Green Hotel in Orlando
#8 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
#24 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 500-acre nature inspired luxury resort is located 10 miles from Walt Disney World; 10 miles from Airport and 7 miles from Universal Orlando. Guests can enjoy on-site eco-tours, kayaking, fishing, ropes course, tennis courts, championship golf course, award-winning spa with adult-only pool and dining by James Beard award-winning chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Ritz Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.