We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Rogers City, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I brought my daughter, son in law, and granddaughter to Disney to celebrate her 5th birthday. We had a one bedroom villa ---- my granddaughter and I shared the pullout bed in the living room. No complaints about anything!!! Beautiful place to stay, my balcony overlooked the small pool, the rooms were great, so convenient to have a washer and dryer and a full kitchen with a small child. Will definitely stay here again. The boat ride to the Magic Kingdom was awesome, so was the Boat Parade every evening. Loved being picked up at the airport and not having to worry about our luggage. We arrived at 11:15 am and our room was ready!! 7 days wasn't long enough --- at least 10 days next time!! We visited several other resorts but decided we will be back to the Wilderness.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    93
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
239
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 7 days in a 2-bedroom villa at the wilderness lodge. We rented 'points' from a timeshare holder to make this somewhat more affordable. We were on the top floor and had a nice lake view. The theme of the entire resort is top notch - definitely impressive. The main pool was closed for renovations but my small children still enjoyed the smaller pool a few times. The villa itself was very well appointed. Plenty of space for two parents, two small children, and a grandparent. Gave us enough space to still enjoy the villa when the children were asleep. Had a grocery order delivered to give us flexibility and get full use of the kitchen. Was nice to have the facilities to not have to eat every meal out at a restaurant. Kitchen had all the gadgets and dishes that we needed. The only thing that seemed a little on the stingy side was the coffee/creamer/sweetener. They don't give you enough for the time that you are there. So we had to buy more. The rest of the villa was very nice - loved the Jacuzzi tub and both bathrooms were nice. Even made use of the stackable washer/dryer once. Plenty of closet space too. In terms of the overall resort - the location and proximity to the magic kingdom was a big plus. We took the boat to the magic kingdom which was very quick and direct. We also got take out a couple times from the quick service restaurant there (roaring fork). It was decent. A good option when in a hurry. Overall we loved this resort and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor on the lake side was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned from a 12 day visit to Disney World and we stayed in a very nice Deluxe Studio at Villas at Wilderness Lodge for several days. The rooms have been recently remodeled and the changes are really awesome. There was ample room, great decor, a lot of closet space and plenty of drawer storage. The in room kitchenette was well laid out and equipted very nicely with new sinks, cupboards, a coffee pot, toaster, microwave and refrigerator. They've added a fold down murphy bed under the flat screen TV that allows you to comfortably sleep (5) in the studio now. They've provided a small refrigerator that doesn't have a freezer compartment and it therefore has a larger capicity for all of your other refrigerated foods, which we found very useful.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and lakeside room near elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville,In
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three nights during Thanksgiving week at the Villas of the Wilderness Lodge. The Christmas decorations were just beautiful. When you stay at the Villas, you check in at the main Wilderness Lodge building. We arrived mid evening and our room was ready. We had a studio. Although the room was perfect for our needs, it was probably in the worst location in the whole building. Room 3562. The last room on the right down a long hall in the Villa building. The location of course was quiet with no one on one side of us. The view was terrible - you could actually see all the linens and towels for the hotel in some sort of outdoor holding area. Now, we were here to see the Holiday decor and do everything Christmas you could do in three days. We are DVC members and are lucky to come to Disney often. If this was our only visit, I would have been very disappointed with the location of this room. But I knew the resort was full and was not interested in trying to change rooms. On the positive side, the room was recently updated. New carpet, paint, linens. The mattress was okay. The pullout couch my 13 year old said was comfortable. My 8 year old slept in the new pull down bed that is located under the TV and is part of the table. Table by day, bed by night. It is a twin size and would probably only work for a child. Our room was very clean with plenty of room and towels. We did have to request an extra blanket for the pull down bed. The kitchenette area was larger than most and had a microwave, small frig, toaster, and plenty of paper plates, bowls, glasses, etc. Despite the poor room location and view, I would definitely stay here again. The whole atmosphere is relaxing and homey. The decorations for Christmas were just breathtaking. I thought the Villas were very convenient to the main building which has a gift shop, a small food court, an arcade and two restaurants. The main pool was being refurbished during our stay, but opened back up our last full day. There is also a smaller pool near the Villas. Bus service was excellent - only waiting the normal length that is expected at Disney. The overall location is great for the Magic Kingdom. You can take a boat to the Magic Kingdom or to the Contemporary and Fort Wilderness. We really enjoyed our visit and look forward to trying it again.

Room Tip: Do not ask for room 3562. Last room at the end of the hall. View of housekeeping holding area. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the two bedroom villa with two teens, and it was an ideal set up. We were on the fifth floor with a double balcony; amazing view of lake through wetland and trees meant we had the best of both Disney and "Yosemite."

We found the space to be pretty much ideal. Lots of room, comfortable beds (on the firm side which we prefer), huge bathroom space, well-appointed kitchen. No bugs, no dirt, no weird noises... in fact, overall, very quiet even during a crowded Thanksgiving.

For us, the location is great: the villas are just a short stroll through a pretty breezeway to the main (GORGEOUS) lodge; transportation is very simple most of the time (bus direct to and from almost anything; boat to Magic Kingdom, Contemporary, Fort Wilderness). We also learned that the bus runs to the Grand Floridian; we went there to use the pool as the big pool at the Wilderness Lodge was not open.

Hard to imagine a prettier, quieter, more convenient setting!

Room Tip: Really enjoyed being "up in the trees" on the fifth floor. Lake view was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge is our home resort as vacation club members and we have been coming here for about the last 10 years. I really like the refurbished rooms. We had the one bedroom villa and were traveling with my daughter, her husband and 2 year old granddaughter. The wood floor in the main living area was nice instead of carpet and the bed was comfortable. At check-in it was very crowded and a very nice young lady came up and registered us with her tablet so we didn't have to wait in line. Everyone was friendly and for the most part the service was good. The pool wasn't open as it was also being "refurbished" and so we were given a one day pass to use for either Typhoon Lagoon or Blizzard Beach which was very nice. My granddaughter loved the water slides at Blizzard Beach. I also like the convenience of the boat ride to the Contemporary. We used the pool there the first day we checked in and also walked to the magic kingdom from there on the morning of our Cinderella's Royal Table Breakfast. Now for the negatives. We only had 4 towels when we checked in to use for 5 people. I know they have started cutting costs with the shampoos, lotions etc., but to not even give enough towels is a bit much. Obviously I called and they did bring more. The jacuzzi tub did not work. I called twice and was told it would be fixed but it never was. The TV did not work in the main living area. I called and it turned out it was a problem with the remote. They replaced it but brought the wrong make and had to come back again but eventually got it fixed. On our next to last night I was sitting on the couch reading to my granddaughter and thought I saw something move. I looked down and there was a giant cockroach "Palmetto Bug" crawling across the wood floor. That was a first for me at a Disney hotel. My friend who lives in Orlando said that everyone was having trouble with the bugs due to all the rain they had had in the fall. I know its the south and this is common but unfortunately I have a phobia of roaches and literally couldn't sleep the last two nights of our stay. My husband was really bummed because he knows I have this irrational fear and won't want to stay here again. He loves the Wilderness lodge. It is his favorite resort. Please Disney, keep up with the exterminators! I don't want to see any more bugs!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This hotel is by far the best we have stayed on property so far. This time we stayed club level and to be honest it's going to be tough to stay any other way going forward. Great service, lovely refurbished rooms and the added benefit of being able to take the boat to the Magic Kingdom just makes this hotel the best value luxury disney property.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#21 Family Hotel in Orlando
#47 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design of the Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge honors American craftsmanship and artistry found in the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century. This architecturally grand Resort celebrates the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness with features that include a stunning 7-story lobby—built from 85 loads of Lodgepole Pine—and an 82-foot-tall lobby fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Disney`s Wilderness Hotel Orlando
Hotel At Disneys Wilderness
Hotel At Disney Wilderness
The Villas At Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.