We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful disney property resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Bayport, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful disney property resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

DVC member, beautiful hotel, villas are a little bit out from main building, but close to bus stop. Boat ride to Magic Kingdom is a big plus! Relax on a lounger and watch the Fireworks from the shore in the evening. Units are beautiful, very comfortable, saw all kinds of wildlife from little outdoor deck, so b aware if your given a 1st floor unit. We will definately stay here again!!,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    96
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
243
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My husband and I have stayed in four of Disney Vacation Club Properties and an additional six other Disney Resorts in regular hotel rooms. It is hard not to compare it with the best. The great things are the relaxing nature environment, the sounds of Copland and the magnificent Seven, the smells of barbeque, the evening movies and electric water pageant parade, the use of their own smaller pool (with 5 underwater 'geysers') and the larger pool with waterfall and slide. It is located so close to the monorail hotels and the magic Kingdom you can take a boat to the Contemporary and the Magic Kingdom. The resort itself is very quiet, only has 5 floors, is decorated perfectly with the Cabin theme and has the fitness center right on the first floor.
Some needs for improvement...it is a bit of a walk for beverage filling at the Wilderness Lodge itself. The bathrooms for the pool are actually not too far away in the Villa building, if you are at the main pool - its a hike for bathrooms either way to either resort. I really like the tile work in our kitchen and bathroom of our room, but in the living sleeping area: the bed is against teh nightstand which is against the sofa which is against the lamp - which is against the wall - all 4 crammed together on one side of the room, and the sofa is bland solid color - no cabin personality - white pillows, white sheets, white duvet and a small nondescript fabric at foot of bed. On the opposite wall s a huge space of blank wall (some rooms have a door there) that unfortuneately the sofa wont fit on. not even a picture. next to it is a wall unit that is a pull out bed that doubles as a table with a supportive arm. Its easy to know it is a pull out bed, because of you put anything on it, the table leans and the bed pops out. Balcony is very shallow and narrow. not too comfy for 2 people.
I think the Villas even went through a recent renovation....here are my suggestions: smaller sofa our of fabric that says"lodge" or "cabin", even angle it and put the floor lamp behind it. Ditch the pull out bed! or put in only a few rooms for the rare occasion someone needs to sleep 5. In the rooms that do not have a door on the blank wall, put a chair with ottoman.
Would not be my first choice to stay again. If the Main lodge had DVC rooms, I would prefer that. But after the Animal Kingdom Lodge villas fantastic rooms and animal views, and I would tolerate the food and beverage out on the boardwalk even to stay at the Boardwalk because of location and overlook the quiet pools, before choosing the Wilderness Villas.

Room Tip: It is a LONG walk to the elevator if you don't take a look at where your room is assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

First stay at the villas and will definitely be back. Accommodations were superb and well appointed. Ask for the top floor for increased balcony privacy. I had a corner 1 bedroom and there were plenty of windows and 2 balconies. As warned the pool at the villas is currently closed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Lovely villas conveniently located to all the major Orlando attractions and shopping. Complimentary Disney shuttles pick up and drop off at all the Disney Parks and Downtown Disney. The attention to detail is amazing all around the resort. The main lobby is an open area with wood carved pillars featuring wild animals and traditional "wilderness" people and animals. The theme is carried out across the property. The large pool area is surrounded by national park features with the best being a replica of the "Old Faithful" geyser that erupts every hour. The attention to detail is a trademark of Disney. The concrete walkways have wild animal prints peppered into the concrete. The major fascination is the employees. In the true spirit do Disney, each and every person I met asked what they could do to make my stay memorable. I highly recommend this property for families and adults.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Villas and enjoy a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

At Disney's wilderness lodge the villas are very nice and comfortable. The beds are very relaxing and the pillows lovely and soft. Being the youngest on my family holiday I am on the pull out sofa bed. This bed is very luxuries and easy to pull out and put away. The kitchen has all the utensils that you need apart from a small vegetable knife and dish cloths. The cast members are are so helpful and lovely and I have no complaints about the customer service. Transport to and from the parks is excellent, as the boat comes regularly and the buses come about every 15-20 minute so you are never waiting long. Overall I love this place and recommend it to anyone who would like to have a lovely, happy and enjoyable holiday to Disney.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We are DVC members and Wilderness is our home resort, we often stay here during our Disney vacations since you can make reservations at your home resort 11 months out, but only 6 months out for the other DVC resorts.

We've stayed at many of the other DVC resorts...Beach Club Villas, Animal Kingdom, Saratoga Springs, but there's just something about Wilderness Lodge that makes it our favorite. The theming is just spectacular. Disney really outdid themselves in making the grand lobby area incredibly beautiful and true to it's character of being a modern version of the Old Faithful lodge in Yellowstone Park. The Villas are right next door, and they're situated in a way that makes them a bit quieter, off the beaten path, which I really like. They have their own smaller pool and hot tub, but it's easy enough to walk over to the main pool if you like. There's a beach area with boat rentals and bike rentals available, and a dock where you can catch a ferry to the magic kingdom.

Food options are a bit limited - you have the Roaring Fork snack area which is the cheaper option, or the Artist Point and Whispering Canyon restaurants for more traditional sit down meals. If you stay in the Villas you have a full kitchen, and we take advantage of that by shopping at Walmart and eating breakfast and usually lunch in our villa, unless we happen to be in a park of course. Eating Disney food day in and day out gets a bit old, as well as expensive so it's nice to be able to prepare some of your own meals.

If you've never stayed at Wilderness, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We checked into a one bedroom villa at the vacation club section of the Wilderness Lodge. I love the lodge, always have. The rooms are very quiet, great view most of the time of the woods surrounding the lodge. Quiet pool outside the back of the villas and everything else is just right around the corner. A larger pool, bike rental, boat rental, walking paths. That is one thing I love about the wilderness lodge is that everything is within a short walk. Every the boat ramps to go to the Magic Kingdom or the Contemporary Hotel next door. We rented a small boat and went around what used to be Discovery Island and then into the area outside the Magic Kingdom. Went by the Grand Floridian and the Polynesian Hotels also. The staff are all wonderful at the Lodge. Food court area has a large selection of quick bites or order there. Room service is available. This is one of my all time favorite hotels on disney property. The beds and pillows are amazing, just amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#22 Family Hotel in Orlando
#48 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design of the Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge honors American craftsmanship and artistry found in the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century. This architecturally grand Resort celebrates the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness with features that include a stunning 7-story lobby—built from 85 loads of Lodgepole Pine—and an 82-foot-tall lobby fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Disney`s Wilderness Hotel Orlando
Hotel At Disneys Wilderness
Hotel At Disney Wilderness
The Villas At Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.