We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to call home at Disney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a great place to call home at Disney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in the Villas at Wilderness lodge for the first time this Easter week and could find no better place to stay on Disney property.
A perfect place to relax and catch your breath after busy days and nights at the theme parks. Cannot beat the access to Magic Kingdom, the separate pool, closeness to Wilderness lodge.
Suites are perfect for up to 8 -we had 7 and combined 2 bedroom suite worked great. We were able to serve breakfast and most dinners (we ate out at lunch and two dinners over the week).

Room Tip: Ask for room on lake side for view of sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    94
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
239
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

10 minute Boat ride to MK is a big advantage. Transportation to other parks not so great, took about 45 to get from resort to AK.
Our 1 bedroom villa was perfect for our family of 4. Fully equipped with a full kitchen, washer & dryer, big jacuzzi tub, walk in shower & a large pull out couch which slept our two boys comfortably.
Pool was great too. Staff encouraged kids to participate in pool games, also a fun slide for kids. Nice poolside bar for adults as well.
Food at the resort was pretty good. The artist point was great (delicious wild salmon), whispering canyon cafe not our favorite, too much meat & very overpriced ($160 for four of us to eat baked chicken, ribs, pork with sides and dessert). The roaring fork was convenient and decent. We have issues with gluten & all of the restaurants were extremely helpful & made eating out easy for us. Disney is the gold standard in dealing with allergies and dietary restrictions. At each meal a manager or chef came out and carefully explained our choices.
I did get a massage, although there isn't a true spa (massage is done in a room adjacent to gym), the quality of my massage was very good.
We also had a great experience doing a private boating excursion to watch the July 3rd wishes fireworks. Our driver provided lots of info about all things disney, and the fireworks were amazing. A night my family will never forget!
If you plan on spending a lot of time at MK and require more space than I would highly reccomend the villas at the wilderness lodge.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Loved the villas at the wilderness lodge...we (4 adults and 2 kids)stayed in a 2 BR unit. it was spacious and bright...extremely clean. We used the kitchen and washer dryer a fair amount...there were two pools...one more geared to kids and the other the more laid back crowd...after a day of sensory overload in the parks, it was refreshing to return to the quiet of the lodge. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed in the Wilderness Lodge villas for our 2013 summer Disney trip. We are DVC members and have stayed at the Beach Club, Boardwalk, Animal Kingdom, Port Orleans French Quarter, Pop Century, Old Key West, as well as a few off site hotels. Previous to this stay, our favorite resort was probably Boardwalk due to the proximity to Epcot. Wilderness Lodge is now either the favourite or a close second.

Pros: the villas are quite secluded and quiet. Access to MK is great with a quick boat ride option. Self parking is very convenient. Rooms are very clean. The theming throughout is very nice and the main lodge is stunning, with a very tall ceiling, and a stream running from inside and cascading down a waterfall into the main swimming pool.

Cons: shared bus with Grand Floridian makes bus rides 15 minutes longer than they should be.

We would be quite happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, NH
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is such a peaceful resort. Once you drive through the gates, you really don't feel like you're as close to the Magic Kingdom as you are. It's a nice escape from the hustle of the parks. The grounds are beautiful, the resort is beautiful and well themed. Very clean resort. Our two bedroom villa was well-appointed, and very clean.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We are DVC members and have stayed at a lot of Disney properties and this is by far the most ralaxing. This is good for people with older kids or no kids. We had a 2 bedroom villa this time for 4 of us. Plenty of space including spa tub and walk in closets and full kitchen. The pool near the Villas is smaller but more quiet. The othe pool has a slide and is always busy. Service was great here as compared to animal Kingdom Lodge. Everyone was helpful. Will definitely be back

Room Tip: If you want shorter walk ask for something near elevators. Big building so it can be a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, KY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Checked in here yesterday for a full week and I am very impressed so far. Once you check in at the front gate you are greeted by name and welcomed home. Staff very friendly and the lodge is immaculately detailed after the lodge in Yellowstone National park. Absolutely stunning landscaping and attention to detail throughout. The villas have their own quiet pool and the main resort has their own pool. Nice gift store and quick service food place. The Whispering Canyon Café is fantastic place to eat and fun atmosphere for the family. Movies and marshmellow cooking on the beach during the evening for family to enjoy. Short boat trip to the Magic Kingdom from the resort, otherwise you need to catch the buses or the monorail at Magic Kingdom to get elsewhere. Beds are very comfortable and rooms very nicely decorated . Very nice place to stay, would stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#21 Family Hotel in Orlando
#45 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design of the Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge honors American craftsmanship and artistry found in the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century. This architecturally grand Resort celebrates the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness with features that include a stunning 7-story lobby—built from 85 loads of Lodgepole Pine—and an 82-foot-tall lobby fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Disney`s Wilderness Hotel Orlando
Hotel At Disneys Wilderness
Hotel At Disney Wilderness
The Villas At Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.