We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Save Saved
You added Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Tingo.com
and 2 more sites!
Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 329 hotels in Orlando
Henderson, KY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Checked in here yesterday for a full week and I am very impressed so far. Once you check in at the front gate you are greeted by name and welcomed home. Staff very friendly and the lodge is immaculately detailed after the lodge in Yellowstone National park. Absolutely stunning landscaping and attention to detail throughout. The villas have their own quiet pool and the main resort has their own pool. Nice gift store and quick service food place. The Whispering Canyon Café is fantastic place to eat and fun atmosphere for the family. Movies and marshmellow cooking on the beach during the evening for family to enjoy. Short boat trip to the Magic Kingdom from the resort, otherwise you need to catch the buses or the monorail at Magic Kingdom to get elsewhere. Beds are very comfortable and rooms very nicely decorated . Very nice place to stay, would stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    75
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
201
48
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I want to first say this resort has wonderful theming. There are two areas--the main Wilderness Lodge building and the Disney Vacation Time Club resort which is the villas at wilderness lodge.

Pros:
Great cast members who were very friendly
Beautiful Theming
Great Pools

Cons:
Studio rooms are very small, not really suitable for 4 people. Our room definitely needed some TLC and refreshing. When inspecting the bedshirt had some kind of horrible staining that looked like it could be residue for some kind of insects and had holes in it. I immediately called front desk and they sent a housekeeping manager up along with a horticulturist. They basically took the room apart looking to see if this was some type of staining or something else. Consensus was that it was staining. No insects found. I will say it's very, very odd if it was staining because it was on the side and a couple of the corners--rust colored but when surfing the internet I found no pictures that looked like what it could be. They replaced all bedding and sent a message on the phone to see if we needed anything and if it was satisfactory. I was still a little leary but never found any bugs.

Bus service--- for a deluxe resort you would like they would have their own service. Nope, they share with other deluxe resorts. This is seriously messed up. The value and moderate resorts mostly have their own buses (even with more people on them) and I think it's a little crazy to pay so much more money for a resort and then share transportation. Sometimes the bus came quickly sometimes not so much. We waited at least 45 minutes for a bus to Magic Kingdom one time and then had to go to the Grand Floridian to pick up more people.

Boat Service- Nice but also had multiple stops.

Luggage--if you plan to park and move your own luggage be prepared for a LONG walk.

Would I stay here again? --Only if in the main building


I woukd prefer to stay moderate due to their bus service being superior.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a total of 8 nights. 7 in a one bed villa and 1 night in the Deluxe room at the hotel. We were blown away by the service at this hotel especially Brandon the manager. We had a couple of issues which were resolved more than satisfactorily. He is a credit to the Disney corporation. Other names to mention would be Cameron the concierge, Tracey DV Bell services, Jonathan who valet parked for us and so many others whose names I failed to remember and feel very bad that I can't :(
Rooms are brilliant for families, spacious, clean and lovely to return to. Restaurants were excellent - we were surprised by the good, 'value' food at the Roaring Fork. Pool area is gorgeous and we had the misfortune to need first aid for our baby and the response from the team was firstly professional and of an extremely high standard but secondly very thoughtful. A young cast member was so sweet to run into the gift shop & get our baby a small minnie toy to take her mind off her injuries.
Location of this resort was perfect for us. A direct boat to MK or contemporary (where you can monorail to TTC) is efficient and fast.
Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

If you are going to Disney World and you want to stay somewhere special that's a short boat ride to Magic Kingdom, has one of the cosiest lobbies , fun restaurants, nice pools, lake activities great rooms and feel like you are in the great north west, this is the place to be. Can't say enought good things bout this place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently returned from a week long trip at the Wilderness Lodge. This was our first time doing Disney, and it blew us away! We booked a villa for the first six nights, and a room at the lodge for our last night only because the villa was not available. We booked the villa by renting/buying DVC points. The front desk made the room change very easy, so that it did not interfere with our park time. They moved all of our belongings for us, so that it was waiting for us in our new room after a long day at the park. This resort was really everything we thought it would be and then some! The location, the decor, and the theme were beautiful. It has a national park vibe if you are into that sort of thing, which we are. Every cast member we encountered was incredibly helpful and made us feel that they loved what they did there.

My 10 year old loved the water slide in the pool, and the pool party the day we spent at the resort. Both my 10 year old, and 2 and a half year old loved the geyser that went off every hour, roasting marshmallows on the beach, and the movie on the beach at night. The first night we were there we went down to the beach to watch the water parade to get us in the Disney spirit. We loved that too. Taking the boat to Magic Kingdom was a huge bonus, and the villas were super close to the bus transportation as well. Nothing was more than a 5 minute walk on the property. The grounds were beautifully maintained, it was a welcomed change of atmosphere after spending long days at theme parks with crowds.

The Villa itself was charming, and cozy. We had a balcony with a wooded view. We had enough room for the 4 of us, and slept comfortably. I will say that we all preferred the room we had in the lodge on the last night, but we needed the space and sink/microwave/fridge of the villa.

The options for dining were fine for us. There is a quick service type of cafeteria that offered a decent selection of grab and go type of foods, a casual restaurant that was lots of fun and offered BBQ and Americana type of selections. They even had all you can drink milkshakes - that was pretty fun. We had so much fun there we ate there twice, and skipped the fancy place all together.

Overall, it was a wonderful experience. I could not have been happier with our decision to stay at the Wilderness Lodge. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was a quiet place to stay. The architecture in the main area was lovely. The gym, walking trails and pool were great. Maid service was wonderful, except for the kitchen floor tile needing a buff & clean. The in room laundry made our stay much better. The only negative was that we had to wait past the check in time to actually get our room, which inconvenienced us. Overall, though, a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at a two bedroom villa for five nights on DVC points.

We had a fourth floor corner room which has a slightly different layout than the other two bedroom villas. I am not sure if the total sq footage differs, but the living room/kitchen is more of a square than a rectangle. There are some extra windows in the comer rooms (which was nice for the extra light) but I think most two bedroom villas have two balconies, the corner room just has one. It was also nice that it was close to the elevator. (I did not make any requests for a particular type of room).

We looked out toward the bus stop, but with all the trees you really could not see or hear it.
The room was clean. The soft goods (curtains, pillows, couch, carpet) all looked very good. The hardwood furniture in the living room, however, was a little beat up looking Also the tile floor in the kitchen was kind of worn looking. Not a big deal, but considering the cost of staying there, they should be replaced.

The public areas, both in the main building and in the villas were fantastic. Everything is well maintained, well themed, and there are a lot of quiet nooks and crannies to relax.
We didn't have a lot of interaction with the hotel staff, but they were friendly and helpful.
We ate several times at the quick service Roaring Fork. The food, selection and price (for Disney) were pretty good. The indoor seating area is bleak but there are nice tables with umbrellas just outside the restaurant.

We used Disney transportation. It was nice to be able to get to the Magic Kingdom by boat instead of always having to take a bus. Generally we did not have to wait too long for the busses and boats - with the exception of one morning when we were trying to get an early start for the Magic Kingdom and there were too many people for the first boat that arrived and we waited about 30 minutes for the next.
I have stayed in almost all of the DVC resorts and this is my new favorite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Also Known As:
Villas At Disney`s Wilderness Hotel
Villas At Disney`s Wilderness Hotel Orlando
Hotel At Disneys Wilderness
Hotel At Disney Wilderness
The Villas At Disneys Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#21 Family Hotel in Orlando
#71 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design of the Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge honors American craftsmanship and artistry found in the Great American Northwest National Park lodges from the turn of the 20th century. This architecturally grand Resort celebrates the majesty of the unspoiled wilderness with features that include a stunning 7-story lobby—built from 85 loads of Lodgepole Pine—and an 82-foot-tall lobby fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.