We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A vacation to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
alabama
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A vacation to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

We had the most wonderful experiance at the Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge. This lodge is outstanding. The minute you pull into the parking area you are taken to another place and time. My 2yr daughter was beside herself. The Christmas decorations, the music playing softly and the overall majasty of this place is beautiful.
Our family stayed in the 2br Villa on the 5th floor. We did not have a view of the lake but that is not why we were there in the 1st place.
I told the the front desk that we were celebrating our daughters B-day and that she just loved Cinderella. When we returned to our room just hours later...we opened the door and there stood a bouquet of ballons, 5x7 photo and a letter from Cinderella. My sweet daughter was in tears and so was I! Disney and the Wilderness Lodge is truly a winderful place!! I can not wait to return very soon!

Some advice:
1. if you are in a villa and have access to a frig. use it. it will save time and money.
2. take the boat to MK. it takes 10 minutes and is a beautiful ride.
3. take advantage of the early and extra hours. less crowds and more to do!
4. if you are there for any special reason (bday,anniv,1st visit Mk, wedding) let the front desk people know. the buttons that they give you will be a vacation to remember! cast members love them!
5. plan your days ahead of time. bring snacks and frozen water.

  • Liked — Close to Mk
  • Disliked — Nothing! Loved it all!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    102
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
259
61
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

On a scale of 1-10, I would have to say that my recent stay at the Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge was a 9. I was somewhat disappointed that the Villas’ pool area was closed for refurbishment; therefore, I had to use the main pool at Wilderness Lodge which was not as convenient – or quiet, as the one just a few feet away. But overall, I did enjoy the rustic atmosphere of the resort as well as the scenic wooded areas.

  • Liked — The rustic atmosphere of the resort as well as the scenic wooded areas.
  • Disliked — The Villas’ pool area was closed for refurbishment.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

My stay at the Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge was wonderful. My room was very clean and the lodge itself was beautiful and relaxing. Disney has done a very good job of making you feel like you've traveled to the Pacific Northwest instead of central Florida.

During my stay, I took advantage of in-room dining, full service dining at Whispering Canyon, recreation boat rentals, a massage at the spa and the swimming pools. Each time I visited these areas I encountered very friendly and knowledgeable staff.

So if everything was great, why didn't I rate the resort as excellent? Well my trip lasted 4 days and 3 nights. Of those 3 nights I was woke up at 8:30 in the morning by someone from the Lodge knocking and attempting to enter my room. The first time, it was a Front Desk manager just stopping by to ask how my stay was going. That's great and all, but does this really need to happen at 8:30 am? Couldn't she have just called or slipped a note under the door? The last time I was woke up was again at 8:30. This time it was the housekeeping staff trying to get in and clean the room on the day I was to check out. Now checkout doesn't happen until 11:00 am, why on Earth are you trying to get into the room at 8:30?

Because everything else during my stay was so great, I am willing to look past these two minor issues. I would recommend this resort to others and I would stay there again myself. Just don't forget to use the "Do Not Disturb" sign!

  • Liked — The design and theme of the resort was amazing and beautiful.
  • Disliked — Being disturbed by hotel staff early in the morning.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

We love the Villas at the Wilderness Lodge and we have stayed there several times. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed and QUIET! This is important after a full day. We stayed for a brief weekend this trip, so we didn't need the in-room washer and dryer, but it is a nice feature (they provide the Tide, but you should bring your own fabric softener). The pool for the Villas is lovely and much calmer than the pool at the Lodge. The fitness center is also large and full of good equipment.
This was the first trip we took to Disney with our infant, and it is truly a baby friendly place. Besides the dishwasher and microwave (essentials) the pack 'n play was clean and just fine for our son.
Service is always incredibly friendly.
Only a few negative comments:
My family belongs to the Disney Vacation Club. Member services was really lacking this time around when I called. I had difficulty getting assistance from the DVC person when I tried to set up the "Disney Magical Express" ride for us from the airport (I didn't have my member number on hand, and she simply said I was out of luck). When I tried talking to a DVC person in the flesh at one of their booths, they said they were helpless and couldn't do anything, and I should call member services. It was frustrating.
The other slight negative, that we didn't notice before we had an infant is that it takes a LONG time to get to another hotel from the Lodge. We wanted to eat at the Polynesian and it took 45 minutes to get there by boat and monorail--there is no direct bus. In retrospect, we could have taken the bus to a park (which would stop at the Grand Floridian) and then taken the monorail. Plan accordingly with your little ones.

  • Liked — Quiet, spacious and comfortable
  • Disliked — A little isolated from the rest of the hotels
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

I recently visited WDW from May 29-June 5, 2007. This review covers my stay at the Wilderness Lodge Villas from May 29th thru June 3rd. You will have to read the extension of my review once we reached the Villas at Boardwalk Inn.

Our trip began with a stay at the Wilderness Lodge Villas. We had visited the Lodge before to have dinner at the Whispering Canyon Restaurant and toured the grounds. To say we were impressed at what we saw and the excitement we felt as we checked in would be an understatement. We were checked in right away and placed in Room 3059. After a long day of travel getting to Florida, all we wanted to do was take a shower, rest for a bit and hit the parks that evening. When we first got to our room we found lights burned out on the bedside and the bathroom, and as we unpacked and started to stock our refrigerator I noticed there was a crack in the handle that subsequently pinched me at the tip of my finger. Not a good first impression. I told the front desk receptionist about our experience as we left for the park. When we returned, the lights had been fixed, but the fridge had not. Also as we settled in the night, I noticed a smell from behind the couch and so I pulled the couch out from the wall to find pepperoni left behind. To say it was disgusting would be in jest as my feelings to the overall attention to cleanliness and detail were far from positive. The next morning I got up to get a bottle of water from the fridge and again was pinched by the broken plastic handle. That was it and I felt I needed to communicate my disappointments with a manager. I went downstairs and spoke with a manger by the name of Alisha. She listened to all my concerns, apologized for the occurrences and assured me that the room would be cleaned again and fridge repaired to the best of her ability. I thanked her for her time and left for a day in the parks. When my family returned we were glad to see that the room had been cleaned, fridge replaced, but the complimentary fruit basket and note of apology was amazing. That bit of hospitality went a long way and helped put our trip on a magical course again. We stayed at the Lodge till June 3rd.

Check out my continued saga on my review of the Villas at Boardwalk Inn. Magical just did not find my room there.

  • Liked — Loved the decor, convenience to Magic Kingdom, spa
  • Disliked — Room had several problems from the start, but corrected during stay
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

My husband and I and our 13-month old just returned from a long weekend at the Villas at Wilderness Lodge. The Villas were a perfect choice for us.

In General:
We loved the pacific northwest feel and style of the hotel, especially because we live in Miami and this was a welcome change. There were rabbits and birds and squirrels outside our room every morning and pines and other types of trees you don't see normally see in Florida. The Villas have their own separate common area which includes activity rooms and quiet seating areas. The gym "Sturdy Branches" is also located in the common area in the Villas. The Villas have their own pool area which is a bit quieter than the main pool at the Lodge.

Our Room:
Our Villa was a 1-bedroom apartment on the first floor with a full kitchen and separate bedroom. They supplied the dishwashing soap for the sink and the detergent for the dishwasher. They also supplied all dinnerware, cooking supplies and dishtowels. There was a coffee pot and toaster, stove and microwave, everything you could need. This made preparing food for our little one very easy and we also prepared food for ourselves and saved money and time. There is a washing machine and dryer (they supplied the Tide) and a laundry basket up in the closet too. The furniture in the room seems to have been designed with little ones in mind. It is very sturdy and I was comfortable letting my toddler freely move around the room. (I do recommend bringing a roll of duct tape to cover outlets and tape the garbage door shut, if you have a toddler.) They had a pack n play and a highchair in the closet but they also set up a crib in our bedroom. The room was extremely clean and I was comfortable with their bed linens for us and for my son.

Activities:
I highly recommend renting bikes (we rented a surrey bike - fun!) and riding over to Fort Wilderness for the petting zoo or evening activities.

Other Notes:
We visited the Animal Kingdom Lodge (Boma is highly recommended) Boardwalk, and Polynesian and I had a nice visit at all 3 but am definitely glad that we stayed at the Villas at Wilderness Lodge. It just seems more upscale and spacious.

  • Liked — Well-appointed and spacious room, services and activities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#18 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#38 Family Hotel in Orlando
#45 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recalling the 1860's railroad hotels of the American West, The Villas offer the comforts of home amid the rustic beauty of Disney's Wilderness Lodge. Relax on the white-sand beach, explore trails through lush meadows and delight in the enchanting Silver Creek Springs Pool. Just a breezy boat ride to Magic Kingdom park, The Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrate American craftsmanship and the majesty of the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas At Disney`s Wilderness Hotel Orlando
Hotel At Disneys Wilderness
Hotel At Disney Wilderness
The Villas At Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.