We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend getaway to Universa Studios” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #108 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary weekend getaway to Universa Studios”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Great location right down the street from Universal Studios!! Beautiful hotel great staff and easy free shuttle to the parks! All tickets to park for purchase in lobby. Great selection of shopping and restaurants in the area. Great vacation to get away!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Universal to spend your special occasion. Happy Anniversary! We appreciate your comments and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit. Please come back again soon. Would love to have you back for every anniversary celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    507
    184
    58
    28
See reviews for
451
479
55
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a great hotel. It is close to many major attractions and is an overall beautiful hotel. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The pool is nice and large, the hot tub is a little small but still okay. The interior of the hotel is quite nice with a 15 story glass atrium with glass elevator. The room I stayed in was a standard room but was quite nice with a decent view. The room service food was very high quality and priced reasonably. I will certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't pay for valet parking there are great parking spots within 10 steps of the front door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing with our Trip Advisor readers. It is our goal at the Crowne Plaza Universal to have our guests "love us" It appears we accomplished this during your visit. We do appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know how we are doing. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake County, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nothing over the top to talk about. They were very courteous and helpful. I did expect the room to be a bit bigger. They did have ping pong and an arcade. The pool area was very nice. It is is a good area to stay Not too far from Sea World or Univerisal

Room Tip: The presidential suites would be the best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I appreciate your feedback. Although you mentioned a "nice place to stay" we still strive for more than a 3 star rating from our guests. I am sorry that we did not achieve this for you. Your tip of the Presidential Suite is a good one. It is very spacious and connects to two King bedrooms. We only have one of these so the availability is limited. Please visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for getting to the theme parks. They offer a free shuttle to both Universal and Disney, but only a few in the morning and a few at night. Otherwise for a cab it's about $10 to Universal and $28 to Disney.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, with the exception of a rude, older man at the concierge desk and a disinterested lady at the entrance to the breakfast restaurant.

The room was great, very clean, bed extremely comfortable. House keeping staff kept room lovely and clean.

Overall very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend it!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am thrilled that your overall visit was a very positive one. I will certainly address the two exceptions that you mentioned. I do appreciate you bringing these to my attention as our goal is to have our guests "love us" and we use your feedback to help with our ongoing training. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We got a Groupon for this hotel and it certainly didn't let us down! The accomodations were very nice, the pool and rec areas were beautifully maintained, there were busses to local attractions, and all in all it was a great place! The staff was very helpful.

I only gave it 4 out of 5 however because they do kind of nickel and dime you while you're there. $9 a day for parking and you have to pay for wifi in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience here at the Crowne Plaza Universal. For future reference, all of our IHG Rewards members receive complimentary internet. If not a current member you can enroll immediately whe you check in during your next visit. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We previously stayed at the crown plaza two years ago, and had no hesitation rebooking for our trip at the beginning of December. At previous guests, we were upgraded to the executive floor and it's privileges.
The good... staff were exceptionally nice and helpful. Very comfy bed, chocolate on the pillow.
The bad... We noticed that the hotel is looking a little scruffy. For an upgraded room, we really expected a little luxury with a nicer bathroom and amenities. What we actually got was a tired and well worn room - view of the car park and cheap plastic bathroom units. Oh and only one bathrobe.
Hiccups... The tap had a mind of its own and kept spinning round by itself like a water sprinkler so we could not regulate the water temperature. The plug leaked, so never managed to have a bath with more than a few inches if water. Oh and the big one... The toilet would not flush!
We reported these problems at 9am - on our way out but when we returned at 5pm, there was still two guys in our room.. We had to wait outside then the guy seemingly in charge stood waiting for a tip. Erm no!! When we complained about the bathroom problems, we got an apology from reception staff. Nothing was passed to management as far as we are concerned..
In short, we decided to just use the hotel as a base to bath and sleep, if we had needed to make use of the room /hotel for longer periods, we would have checked out on day one.
Would we return or recommend .. Most certainly NO.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and I can certainly understand how might feel about your recent visit. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your experience was not what you expected. The plumbing issue was more than an simple repair I am sorry that you were inconvenienced. I know you are a regular visitor to Orlando and hope you give us another opportunity to be your host so that we can show that your experience was the exception rather than what you can expect. We are in the planning stages of a rooms renovation that we are very excited about. This is just part of our ongoing efforts to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. Again, thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were in Orlando for the AKC Eucanuba dog show and stayed at the Crowne Plaza.
The accommodations were wonderful, and the staff made us feel welcome.
It is right in the middle of all the action and just a short distance from Mouse land.
Even though this was a short stay we will use the Crowne Plaza again for our trips to Orlando.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing the wonderful review. I am only sorry that you didnt have the opportunity to stay longer and enjoy all that there is to offer in the area. That only provides the excuse to return. When you do I certainly hope you once again choose to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Universal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

Address: 7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Orlando
#90 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#98 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.