We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all loved it...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5617 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #63 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We all loved it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went there with the family because we wanted to spend time at Universal Studio. We choose this hotel because of the location and price. Hotel is close enought to Universal Studio that you can walk to go there. My wife found out that 5 min from there (other side of I-4 on International Dr.), she could go shop a bit to the Orlando Premium Outlets. Definitely a plus. Hotel was clean and quiet (what a surprise for an hotel in that area). Only thing that bother me a bit was the outside whirlpool. The water was so hot that we could get in. Too bad because after a couple days walking all day long at Universal Studio, I would have liked jumping in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Mario D, Thank you for the nice review of our hotel. I apologize for the hot tub, we have since checked the temperature and made some slight adjustments. We hope you visit us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    146
    33
    15
    10
See reviews for
222
65
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room had 2 queen beds, pullout couch, mini-fridge & microwave. Clean which is the most important feature for us. Spacious. This was a 1 of 6 hotels we stayed in as part of our 2 week vacation in Florida. I say this was the best 'room' we stayed in. Decor is basic, so maybe not the best looking hotel. Eating breakfast at 9am means you may not get a seat but anytime before that seems to be good. Hot items like eggs & sausages, waffles, along with the standard breakfast items. Liked the ample supply of fresh fruits. There was never a shortage of anything. Not sure how the eggs are made but suspect it comes from a carton. Wireless in the room was slow.

It was hot hot hot, plus knowing we were going to be at Universal the whole day, we decided to drive and pay for the parking at Universal. I would estimate the walk to be at least 15 min.

I would recommend this to family and friends, but think it will be another decade before I make it back to Orlando, given that my kids are older now.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
TAFanToronto, We appreciate the kind review of your stay with us. We do our very best to make sure all our guests leave with a smile on their face! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at comfort suites for two weeks in August the reason we picked this hotel it so we could walk to universal and save on the parking fee's, we used the shuttle for seaword and aquatica, location ok near a wendy's mc'donalds burger king also five mins walk to orlando ale house and walgreens for supplys drinks etc. We were only the fourth floor room large clean and good air con not a lot of storage though for a family staying two weeks only a small wardrobe a three draws, but we had iron & board fridge hairdryer which was great,there was two queen beds but five little pillows my husband hated these small pillows and could'nt wait to get back to a normal size at home the hotel also has a guest laundry on the third floor i used this twice only $1.50 for a large wash and $1.50 for a dryer was great not to come home will piles of dirty washing. The breakfast was good plenty of choice but the breakfast area is too small during our stay guest's were stood in the hall eating they need to entend this as it currently only seats about thirty people and fills up very quickly. We used the pool most afternoon during out stay clean and fresh pool towels provided by the hotel and added bonus. my only complaint was our room was one of the last to be cleaned between 4 and 5 each day, i know someone has to be last but we were out early and with the florida weather got back about three had a swim then wanted to relax in our room but it had never been cleaned so we had to hang about waiting for the maid to get to our room dont know if the hotel could ask each guest when the want there room cleaned and then the family in the last review wouldnt have been woken. overall would highly recommed and would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Jayfamily, We appreciate the thorough review of your stay with us. I'm very happy you and your family enjoyed your time in Orlando. I do apologize for the breakfast area as this becomes a challenge during busy times and for your room being cleaned late. Like you said, someone has to be last. We do our best to get the rooms cleaned at a decent time so our guests can relax. We look forward to serving you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We are here on business, but at the front desk they have list of shuttles that go to and from universal. The customer service is outstanding. Check in was very smooth. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Then lady at the front desk called us in the room an hour or so after getting here to make sure everything with our room was ok. Perfect place to stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Abdavis9222, Thank you so much for the outstanding review of your stay with us! We take pride in delivering the best service in town and hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a very clean, nice hotel. We liked the pool area, the business (computer) room and our room. Overall, it was a good experience but I did have to complain to the manager about being woke up early morning on our last day of a 10 day vacation (and the ONLY day we could have slept in). A housekeeper banged on our door twice and announced, "Housekeeping" as my husband jumped out of bed and got half way to the door when they OPENED our door to come in. Our children were also woke up by this so it was frustrating to have missed out on catching up with our sleep. The manager gave us half price discount for one of our night's stay, which should have been a full price discount, but it's whatever. He claimed the housekeeper was a new hire and they can't keep good housekeepers working for them. The breakfast area was packed with no seating and we had to sit out in the hallway at long brown tables. We felt excluded of sorts and in the way (when a housekeeper pushed her cart past us twice and kept bumping into our chairs).

Room Tip: I believe any room you get here will be a nice one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
The Messer Family, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I remember the conversation we had and again I'm truly sorry for my room attendant waking you up on your last day. I have since discussed this issue with my housekeeping staff to ensure we are knocking on doors at appropriate times. The housekeeper in questions was fairly new and was re-trained on this issue. I'm very lucky to have a great housekeeping staff at my hotel as I very rarely get complaints due to cleanliness and guest service. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gueret
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent 6 nights in this hotel that we chose first for its closeness to Universal (you could walk there if there was a sidewalk all the way and no freeway to cross).
The staff was very nice and welcoming, the rooms were huge (a real suite) with 2 comfortable double beds and a couch, there was also a fridge, a micro wave and a small dining table.
Breakfast was great with delicious fresh waffles every morning (you made them yourself) but it was kind of crowded even though we were there in late october.
The swimming pool was too cold (but again it was not summer) but the hot tub was nice.
The shuttle was convenient (contrary to what universal says however the shuttle does not operate from the comfort suite but from the hotel nextdoor) but it took 30 min while it is only 2 miles away (not the fault of the hotel though).
I would come back with no hesitation

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Marion D, Thank you very much for the nice review of your stay with us. I'm glad to hear we met your expectations and the family enjoyed themselves. We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel was great. The service was excellent, our room was roomy, well maintained and super comfortable and the hot breakfast was good.
We chose to stay here while going to Unviersal Studios. we are an active family (2 adults, 1 6yr old) so we decided to walk to and from the park each day. There was a shuttle available at a neighbouring hotel but after looking into it decided it was not worth the hassle. This shuttle is ran by Unviersal and the hotels have not control over it. The walk was approximately 25 mins. 15 mins from the hotel to the entrance of Universal and then about 10 mins to walk thru the entrance & City Walk to get to the actual park entrance. It was an easy enjoyable walk.
The only real disappointment was that the pool closed at 10pm. Since we closed the park every night we were unable to enjoy a swim before going to bed. it would have been nice as the pool was perfect for our learning to swim 6yr old.
I cannot say enough about the attendants at breakfast and the cleaning staff. They did an excellent job. Thanks!

Room Tip: first floor, opposite end of the hallway from the pool. Room 104. it was surprisingly quiet and clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Lisa L, We appreciate you sharing your experience with the traveling public. I was very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area

Address: 5617 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Orlando
#112 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Hotel Orlando
Comfort Suites Orlando
Orlando Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.