We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm to Table in the Middle of Franchise Central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rusty Spoon

Rusty Spoon
55 West Church Street, Orlando, FL (St Joses)
407.401.8811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #271 of 3,104 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: St Joses
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Farm to Table in the Middle of Franchise Central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I travel to Orlando on business several times a year. It is hard to not end up at a national franchise restaurant that doesn't take reservations and that is overwhelmed with visitors.

The Rusty Spoon, located in the downtown entertainment district, is an outstanding exception.

The food is creative, well-prepared, attractively presented and advertised as being locally sourced. The wine and beer selection is eclectic and interesting. Service was attentive but we did not feel rushed.

The two of us each had a salad and entree. We enjoyed each. Dinner, including 3 draft beers, tax and 20% was $100.00

There is a fun vibe about the place. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    38
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great. Local. Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. No matter if you're a local or a visitor, put this at the top of your gastro to-do list.

My wife and I started with Cesar salads. The portions were enourmus! Easily shareable. The sale was dressed lightly and I was happy about this. Why? The greens were so very flavorful. Not the typical tasteless hearts of romaine that bring little to the party other than crunch. This salad is a winner.

For entrées, my wife chose coffee rubbed steak with a potato gratin. Cooked just as ordered and full of great flavor. I ordered the lasagna. An atypical preparation with only two sheets of pasta cooked al dente with ragu making up the middle. A nice portion. It was also one of the best pastas I've enjoyed outside of Italy.

Dessert was the show stopper. My bride enjoyed the brown butter cake a la mode. Moist and rich - not too sweet, either. I went for the grown up s'mores. Yeah, s'mores. This was the greatest combo of savory and sweet. I could not stop talking about it. Easily one of the best desserts I've enjoyed anywhere. I'd come back to the The Rusty Spoon if this was the only item on the menu.

Our bill with a half-off bottle of wine before tip was $120. We agreed that this was one of our best meals at that price, ever.

Make a point to get here!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food in Orlando. Period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Our third visit. Best yet. Can't say enough about the creativity of the menu or the service. Both specacular. There were four of us. Started with two different salads: beefsteak tomato salad with feta cheese and a roasted pear salad. Both light, refreshing and beautifully presented. Main courses: corvina on a bed of sweet corn risotto; mahi mahi on a bed of spinach; remodeled lasagna and a pasta, mushroom, sweet corn confection that was truly outstanding. A nice Rioja kept us company. We finished with a pistachio gelato.

Couldn't fault this meal. We've dined in all the "best" restaurants in Orlando. None can best The Rusty Spoon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food,not great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I were very impressed with the food. It was truly stellar. This chef can cook. Only miss was the smores dessert - way too rich. The restaurant is fairly nice looking, but we sat in the back area which was empty looking. It could improve a bit design wise. Our waiter wasn't the friendliest and gave us the impression that he had no time to waste with us, even though the restaurant wasn't that busy. When my husband asked for an explanation of the soup, the waiter was quite impatient. The servers who brought the food seemed to be running a marathon. They put the food down fast and dashed off even faster. If I am back to Orlando, I would eat here agin, for the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Top-Drawer Dining in Downtown Orlando”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The recent gastropub trend seems to have evloved two types of restaurants: the narcissistic, self-aggrandizing type-- overly impresed with its mundane turns on common comfort food and the nuanced, self-effacing type that seeks only to deliver a comforting and creative dining experienece for all. The Rusty Spoon is top-drawer in the latter category. From smart yet attentive service to locally sourced ingredients given tastebud-popping turns, it exceeds where other gastropubs in Florida seem fundamentally unconcerned and uninterested. On this first visit the Docent enjoyed a warm beet salad dressed with honey roasted almonds and house made ricotta salata. That bit of springtime gave entree to more of the season with a beautifully pan-seared tile fish atop risotto greened with spinach, asparagus and peas. The blueberry cobbler, while way too much too much to eat, was appropriately Lucullan and low-brow all at the same time.

There's nothing "rusty" about this place; "sterling" would be more apt.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Spoon also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Rusty Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rusty Spoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.