We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and tasty pastry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yalaha Bakery- Orlando

Yalaha Bakery- Orlando
1213 N Orange Avenue, Orlando, FL (Central Business District)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,154 of 3,100 restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Bakery, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: This is a new location/ bakery opened by the Yalaha Bakery in Yalaha, FL.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tasty pastry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I really enjoy taking a road trip out to the original Yalaha Bakery in Lake County, and I was happy to see that they opened a satellite store near the Ivanhoe Row district on Orange Avenue in Orlando. I have visited the Orange Ave location several times now to pick up pastry for breakfast. It is also an easy bike ride using the Orlando Urban Trail and/or the Dinky Line Trail.

I enjoy the chocolate eclairs and the fruit tarts are superb. I spend several minutes just eyeing the case to figure out what pastry I want- everything is so beautiful! Prices are a bit on the high side for pastry, but are more reasonable for breads.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    9
    6
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Tasteless and Stale”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had been (years ago) to the original bakery so thought we'd try this one during a stroll. The original location was very good (not superb, but very good); however, this bakery's cookies were dry and tasteless (and $1.95 each for that). Would not recommend this place. Stick with the French bakeries in town for the 'real thing' - pastries and cakes which are superb (try Park Avenue in Winter Park for 2 superb French shops).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming bakery, sinful desserts, offers BOGO!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This bakery is an extension of the original Yalaha Bakery in Yalaha, Florida. I was so happy that they opened a local shop. The bakery is very tiny and almost easy to miss. It sits on a corner with very limited parking, and by limited, I mean only 3 or 4 spaces. Doesn't matter. You won't be in there too long anyway. There are plans to open up their back yard and offer a dining area. Currently, there are just one or two tables with a few chairs.

We went there just to get desserts, but they do offer sandwiches as well. We ordered several desserts. The fruit tart cake was the best. It was a light cake, layered with cream and fruit. The carrot cake was okay, but a bit dry. Th frosting was delicious. The big brownie cake with a huge dollop of chocolate in the middle was also dry, but the chocolate was very good quality. We also enjoyed the berry tart and mixed fruit tart. Our children loved the shortbread cookies, which you can buy in mini-bags of three. The prices were moderate, but we made out on the tarts because they were BOGO. We were there at around 4 pm, maybe that's why they had a few things on sale. They didn't taste day-old.

Just so we didn't leave with only fattening stuff, we bought a loaf of German rye which was terrific. We toasted and spread butter on it. Very authentic taste.

They also offer a few variations on coffee drinks. One customer was clearly enjoying his coffee and dessert, making sure he drank every drop and ate every crumb.

They also offer German deli meats. I wish I had paid more attention, but the display of desserts in the cases was just too alluring.

We look forward to the bakery and cafe expanding. It will be a cool little spot to have lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w.bloomfield
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“heavenly pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Everything is fresh and unique treats lets you want to try one of each! The cookies literally melt in your mouth

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Jealous of their bread making skills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Beautiful loafs of bread. Bought some just because it was so pretty. The cheese pretzel bread was a hit with the kids.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yalaha Bakery- Orlando also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida

Been to Yalaha Bakery- Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yalaha Bakery- Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.