We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay Just be Aware it is a Resort Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Villas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Villas Resort to your Saves list
Grande Villas Resort
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   12118 Turtle Cay Circle, Orlando, FL 32836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 35%
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay Just be Aware it is a Resort Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. The grounds include pool and hot tub, both of which are worth using, with a relaxing atmosphere and plenty of lounge space. It also has a mini-golf course which isn't bad considering its included in the price. There are plenty resorts in Orlando, but this one seems to earn that name, with these extras. Also, there is no additional resort fee, or parking fee, making a great value if you are fortunate enough to get this through Hotwire or similar sites.

Rooms are very spacious, with ample dishes, fridge, small oven and stove. Beds were comfortable, and the bathroom enormous. Most rooms also have balcony, which is very nice. The one BR was plenty of room for two people. We did find the placement of the toilet a bit odd - in a small sub-compartment of the bathroom.

It is important to note that it is a resort property so do not expect daily housekeeping (unless specifically requested), and some of the other perks provided by hotel properties. You bring your own trash out, clean the room when you are done, and account for all the items. This was really no big deal, and was well worth the trade-off to get a larger room. We were glad to prepare our own breakfast, and to be able to re-heat leftovers.

In summary, we'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    193
    50
    20
    15
See reviews for
292
103
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived at 1pm and asked for a ground level unit facing the pool. It wasn't ready yet so we went to the pool for a swim. Half hour later they called us that it was ready.
The 2 bedroom unit was huge and very clean.There was a room with 2 small sailboat style beds for the kids and a large master with king bed and full bath with jacuzzi tub.There was a full kitchen with all the amenities. There was also a nice screened patio and living room with big flatscreen. The unit also had laundry machines and lots of storage closets.
The grounds themselves are very lush and green. There are several nice warm pools and jucuzzis. Theres a playground, mini golf and a clubhouse on site. Theres a store selling fast food and convenience items.
Every day by the Whale pool they had some kind of activity like bingo or water aerobics. There was an older crowd at this pool. One pool was shaped like a turtle and had a kiddie pool too. The sister property, Cypress Pointe had a volcano pool with water slides. You could use any of their facilities, just a couple minute walk away.
The location was very good. You were only a 5 minute drive to downtown disney and 10 to 15 minute drive to all the parks.
We definatley enjoyed our stay very much and will be heading back soon for March break, cant wait!

Room Tip: Main floor is convenient but has ac noise when your on your patio. Get a unit facing inwards for a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions following your stay at Grande Villas with your fellow travellers and our future guests! We are pleased to read that the standard of our resort has met, if not exceeded, your expectations and we are happy that you have found the resort facilities and entertainment attractive and varied. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I needed a place to stay in Orlando in early January and were very pleased with the villa we were assigned.

We received a one-bedroom villa by only paying $45/day through Hotwire, but based on the amenities listed, we thought we were going to be assigned a nearby villa and were somewhat disappointed with the one we were given. We could possibly be wrong with it? We read the reviews and even though it had a solid 4 star rating through TripAdvisor, we were still somewhat speculative about it.

That all went through the window when we arrived. We got to Orlando after midnight on check-in day and only were greeted by the host on the front desk. Because we arrived late, we weren't given the timeshare pitch by the attendants on the adjacent side of the building. They did call early in the mornings, though (9AM). We ignored the calls as we figured they were calling to give us the pitch.

The one-bedroom villa itself probably shouldn't host more than 2-3 people as it is small, but very useful for a getaway. It has anything and everything you're going to need. Your home away from home. The one-bedroom villa has a mini version of the full kitchen in the bigger villas but was fully stocked with every utensil and china you'd need -- from plates of different sizes, silverware, ladles, a wine cork opener, a fruit peeler, pots and pans, cups, wine glasses, soap for the dishes, a coffee maker (with limited sugar, cream and coffee grinds available), toaster, paper towels, a microwave, an oven, and a stove-top hot plate.

Oh, and the kitchen has a mini television that you can watch while eating/cooking, just feet away from a bigger TV in the bedroom. The kitchen also has the only AC vent, which can be started by clicking up the light switch.

The bedroom is very comfortable. It has a king-sized bed which left my partner and I not wanting to get up in the morning, a telephone (which they charge you for using if you're not just using it to call the main desk/services -- more below) and an alarm clock. You can watch TV from your bed. The bedroom also has drawer space to put clothes away underneath the flatscreen TV set.

There is a tiny unlocked balcony that is connected to the bedroom that has two plastic chairs and a side table. We were facing the front entrance to our villa building so it wasn't much of a view, but sitting there in 80 degree weather in January when we're used to the NYC winter cold was excellent. The unlocked balcony thing isn't an issue as the balcony is isolated from the bottom up to the upstairs resort with a screen that prevents any bugs/flies from coming in and from you tipping over to your demise when you've had a drink or two more than you should have after a long day at meetings and at the parks. Don't even ask.

The bathroom is enormous and is connected only through the bedroom (the villa itself only has three rooms -- the kitchen, bedroom, and the bathroom). The bathroom has a double sink, a separate large bathtub and shower, and tucked in away in a tiny space within the confines of the large bathroom is a tiny thing they call the toilet. Good luck trying to move around in there if you're a bigger person (which we're not by any means, but was still tricky to move around in there).

The bathroom comes equipped with more than enough towels for two, pool towels, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, lotion, a couple of bars of soaps, and wet wipes to wipe your face. The bathroom area also has closet space with a safe (it does appear to need a key which wasn't provided in the villa, so we're not sure if it's for a cost) and a nicely spaced area to hang your clothes up in.

One thing we didn't like about the villa was that the lightbulbs used by the resort seem to be low energy and barely lit up the rooms in the dark. While we're all for conserving energy and going green, this was a slight issue at night. During the daytime this is not a problem as you have light shining in through the blinds. The smaller villas also don't have a dishwasher or washer/dryer. The latter is available for a cost in the resort buildings, though.

They do charge for internet, which is odd being that it's the year 2013. That should be standard by now. They charge $5/day or $20/week. While the WiFi signal is strong, we opted for using our iPhones as routers. Not only did we save some money by doing so (despite a likely weaker connection), but we heard their internet service is a mixed bag with it turning on and off constantly. Didn't want to risk it. They do have free internet service with a printer by the front desk if you don't really need to use it in your villa like we did.

You only receive housekeeping once a week if you stay longer than seven days. If you want housekeeping and you're staying less than a week, rates start at $18 for a light clean if you're in a smaller villa, up to $35 for a three-bedroom, and $45 for a full clean for a one-bedroom and up to $110 for a three-bedroom. No kidding.

If you want to exchange towels, that'll cost $8. We did receive "free" towels on our door handle in a bag a few days into our visit, however.

Want to make a local call? That'll cost $0.75/call.

Where they'll charge you, they will, but if you want a no frills place to stay in between the local attractions (just two minutes away from Disney World, 15mins from Universal), don't hesitate to stay here at all. They have a Publix (local grocery store) 10mins away, which we shopped at the day after checking in. This is a good idea if you're on a budget and want to save more money by cooking at the villa.

While the rooms themselves are not each within an indoor building, we noticed a LOT of security on tiny white scooter-like vehicles while we were on the resort, so they do take their security seriously on their large lot.

We only used the villa as our spot to crash and occasionally spend time at in between the parks and work, so we can't comment on the resort itself (pools, Jacuzzi, basketball/volleyball/tennis courts/BBQ grills, etc), but any doubts we had about the villa when we reserved were quickly erased when we arrived. I'm not sure if this is because we were lucky and we received a nice/recently remodeled room, or if all the other rooms are as nice, but we were impressed.

Don't hesitate staying here at all.

Room Tip: Be prepared to walk quite a distance from where you parked your car to the villa if you get here lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for providing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Grande Villas Resort. We were extremely pleased to hear that our accommodations exceeded your expectations and that you would recommend our resort to future potential guests. Please be aware that wi-fi internet services are provided by a 3rd party company. We do not establish the rates for Wi-Fi, nor do we profit from these charges. As we have received a lot of feedback about these charges, we are currently in discussion with our Homeowner’s Association to see if these charges can be eliminated in the future for our guests. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership property, housekeeping services are provided on a weekly basis. This information, along with additional services and amenities, is relayed to our 3rd party rental partners, so that they can advise their customers. Charges made from your room’s phone to outside lines are representative of the charges other resort’s of our stature usually charges to their guests. Our guest’s safety is one of our utmost concerns that we take very seriously, which is why you see a large presence of security staff on-site. Most of our rooms do resemble the one you stayed in. Those rooms that do not are in the process of being refurbished. Thank you again for your review and recommendation. We look forward to being able to accommodate you and your husband again in the near future. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

make sure you rent the 2/3 bedroom unit. Just make sure when you check in to tell them you don't want any sales calls. Very clean, close too the attractions and shopping. Internet service a little iffy sometimes, can be slow. I enjoyed the pools and the condo. No one bothered my family while we were there. Have stayed here many times and have a good experience each time. Staff was very helpful in directing which attraction to go to and arranged golf for us. If you are interested in buying a timeshare this has been a very good company to deal with. Near I 4 and downtown disney, many restaurants, outlet malls. But am never travelling at Christmas time again
Got there Dec 29-Jan5 way to busy, Worst I've seen it and we've been several times at Christmas

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
At Grande Villas Resort we take extra care to ensure that each and every guest has a stay to remember and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time spent with us-thank you for your review! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We shared our family vacation December 29 through January 7, 2013, with our two grown children. Thank the good Lord we had two units! No WAY we could have all been comfortable in the 1 bedroom unit, even with the pull out couch in the living area. 1st of all the kitchen table and chairs were already over in the corner (the only place they would fit), but that blocked the utility closet, so if you needed the broom etc. you had to completely move everything. In our kids unit, where they were using the pull out couch - they had to actually stack the chairs ON the table just to get through to the kitchen. It was just way to small for more the 2 people. That was the biggest draw-back, but that being said, most everything else, including the bed, bathroom and kitchen appliances - they were all top notch. The balcony off the bedroom was really small as well. I love to drink my coffee out on a balcony in the morning & although it was nicely screened in, it was too cramped! Just 2 plastic chairs and hardly enough room to turn around. We also complained, several times, about skate boarding kids in the hallways - it continued through out our stay and would wake us almost every morning. The pool and the very large spa were great, enjoyed them every day! The location was fabulous for the Disney properties. We didn't use the 'shuttle' as it was more expensive than driving ourselves and paying $14 to park! We could easily walk to Walgreens, Chili's, Steak & Shake and the Winn-Dixie grocery store. I have to say that I liked Publix market FAR more than this though! The staff at the front desk were very good and helpful. I found the concierge to be less than helpful! After they roped you into the sales presentation, That was MUCH longer than they "promised" - you're pretty much on your own. We were having trouble with long traffic lines getting over to the Basiiica on the opposite side of the freeway. When we asked the concierge, they simply gave us mapquest directions - which we already had on our smart phones. They could have suggested an alternate route, but they couldn't be bothered. I found that staff totally UNimpressive. My husband used the gym every day, and when he asked for a channel changer for the tv's - it took an act of congress and a meeting to figure that out. That should be common knowledge, right? The mini market is a nice touch and they are friendly, but use them just as a convenience, because their prices are high. Nice place to get a daily newspaper though! We did enjoy the mini golf - short & sweet, but fun (1 time).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here with the family after spending a week in the Disney resort. The place is a little bit tired and you may hear the occasional bump, but for $140/night we didn't care.

A lot of earlier reviews here related to the hard sell given at the "Welcome package" - don't let this put you off. We politely declined the welcome package and were called on our room phone twice (which we didn't answer) and were left alone after that.

The concierge staff were very helpful with luggage, tours bookings and transportation and there was lots on for the kids to do.

The wireless internet was a bit flaky/slow (which was annoying) - I don't mind paying for wi-fi but I expect it to work, aside from that it's hard to fault this place.

Value for money wise this place is hard to beat.

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter as the only noise we ever heard was from the rooms above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your stay at Grande Villas! We are happy that you had a pleasant stay at our resort and were satisfied with the service provided by our team. We hope this is not your last visit at Grande Villas and we are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed Jan 13-18 2013 . A vacation with two college age children that wanted to sleep till 11-12.
We could hear all the hall noises from staff and other vacationers.
Got a call from concierges twice at 9 am which woke us up, they were just diamond resort sales people trying to get us to go to an hour sales talk. I refused on my initial interaction with them, but they called every day we were on property. I told them no every day. There was no communication between each of the sale people (concierges).
They also had construction on the villa above us.
I had called prior to my booking about construction and was told they were done. This was a lie to get me to book.
Beware: No housekeeping and only towel exchange on Tuesday and Thursday.

positive points was the front desk people and the look of the villa. We bought ear plugs for the noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience from your stay at The Grande Villas Resort.

While we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay, we don’t want it to be at the expense of other guests. We hope that you notified the front desk regarding the noise, so that they could address the issue.

We apologize for the excessive calls from the concierge. Once you decline their offer, they should not reach out to you again during their stay. We have notified the Concierge manager for review and coaching.

There is currently no construction happening at The Grande Villas; however, we do frequently go into our rooms and do an extensive deep clean. This could have been the cause of the noise above you.

As many vacation ownership properties, we do not provide daily housekeeping. Stays of eight nights or more will receive housekeeping service. You are correct that towel exchange is done on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

We’re so pleased that your room and our team members did leave a positive impression. We are confident that if you do decide to return to our property, our team will ensure that you have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Villas Resort

Address: 12118 Turtle Cay Circle, Orlando, FL 32836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Villas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orlando and Grande VillasOrlando, Florida is the ultimate in destination spots for the entire family to enjoy. Grande Villas is the perfect setting for your family to relax and enjoy while traveling to Orlando. There's more than enough to see and do in Orlando, not to mention plenty to keep you entertained while just at the resorts. It is also the ideal location to unwind poolside, and let time slip by without doing a thing. Every one of Florida’s main attractions, including Walt Disney World® theme parks and SeaWorld®, are at your doorstep. Maybe your idea of getting the family out for a day includes shopping, and there is plenty of that. You'll find all you need at the nearby Florida Mall, or discover the best in savings from the numerous brand name, designer outlet malls circling the resort. Whether you want to visit Universal Studios or the nearby beaches, it is all within easy reach. Grande Villas Resort – Your Orlando HavensBe in the middle of all the action without feeling like you are. Find a way to kick back while still knowing you are amid all of the activities you could possibly want to enjoy while visiting the Orlando area. For starters, keep in mind the activity doesn’t end when you get back to your resort! With an outdoor swimming pool, water volcano and slide, children’s pools and playgrounds, you have plenty to choose from. Parents, you'll love the heated outdoor pool or hot tub, along with the BBQ area. It's like having your own summer pool party, without having to host it at your own home. If you want, you can make use of the fitness center or get some friendly, family competition going in the Games Room. Let the Concierge help you plan your outings within Orlando, or find out what's happening on-site with the Activities Department. Once you retreat to your cool, air-conditioned room, you can take in views from the terrace or soak in the whirlpool jet tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grande Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.