We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to spend a few days!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Villas Resort

Save Saved
You added Grande Villas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grande Villas Resort
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   12118 Turtle Cay Circle, Orlando, FL 32836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Peoria, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great spot to spend a few days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were originally booked for five nights at a Disney property, but were so disappointed that we started looking for a new hotel after only two nights. We decided to take a chance on Grande Villas and drove over, knowing that there was a chance that we would find a mediocre villa. But we figured we would AT LEAST have more space!

We opened the front door to our two bedroom suite (F37A at $117 per night) and were immediately delighted. There was a nicely equipped kitchen with granite counter tops. Beyond that was a glass top dining table for six. Beyond that was a living room with one 3 seat sofa and two chairs. Here was the first of three flat screen televisions in the villa. The only negative was a worn place in the carpet next to the dining room table and another worn spot in the carpet in the smaller of the bedrooms. I brought these to the attention of the staff, just to be sure I wasn't charged for them!

One bedroom held twin beds and a dresser. Next to it was a nice bathroom with a toilet, a granite counter top with one sink and a large granite shower stall. The second flat screen television was here.

The other bedroom, clearly the master suite, had a beautiful, plush queen bed and matching dresser, as well as a large closet. The third flat screen television was here. The suite contained a huge bathroom with a triangular Jacuzzi tub, long granite counter with one sink and a separate additional room that contained a toilet, a pedestal sink and a huge shower stall done in the same granite.

Toiletries were very generous in both bathrooms, with bath soap, facial soap, make-up removal cloths, shampoo, conditioner, lotion and shower gel. Towels were plentiful and plush. Pool towels were provided as well.

There was a small, screened-in balcony with a table and four chairs. The balcony could be reached from the master bedroom or the living room.

We were also pleased to find a stacked washer & dryer, which we did use to do out laundry before we drove home.

We did get the request to attend a presentation for a time share opportunity. We declined. There was some pushing, but no more than you would expect in a sales environment.

There were multiple pools to choose from. My 25 year-old son spent some time at the pools in the evenings and enjoyed himself.

This was the perfect location for us, just minutes from each of the parks we visited! We could not have been more pleased! We slept soundly with no noise issues. We were able to shop at a grocery store that was less than half a mile away and cooked breakfast for ourselves for the remaining mornings, which saved us money. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    146
    45
    15
    11
See reviews for
225
83
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The room was lovely but dated. The power points didn't all work so our cameras would charge some days and not others - not a great help on a Disney/Universal holiday.
The resort had very low occupancy but they put us in a 5th floor apartment then tiled the lift and had it out of order for 2 days that were 106oF and hugely humid. Watching their housekeeping staff lugging huge bags of laundry up and down the stairs was cruel. This is also a non renovated tower and should not have had residents in it when half the resort was empty.
They also hound you to attend a timeshare talk, but once attended they are done with you and service drops off.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room, make sure the lifts are working
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodation to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is concerning to us that your accommodations did not meet your expectations. Our front desk is always receptive to our guests when concerns are brought to their attention, including room assignment, and broken electrical outlets. In regard to the lift (elevator) being out of order, we sincerely apologize if this had a negative effect with your stay. Our front desk staff would have been more than happy to have a team member assist you with luggage, groceries, etc. if asked. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership resort, solicitation for a timeshare presentation is part of the check in process; however, attending the presentation is completely voluntary and not required by our guests. Providing outstanding quality Customer Service all the way from entering our resort until check out is our primary goal for each and every guest. We regret hearing that this was not the case for you and your party. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and exceed your expectations. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our Florida trip. It is a nice resort, lovely accommodation, lovely facilities, pools are huge!

We had a one bedroom suite which ead very well appointed and the resort is in a great location for Disney etc.

Downside- as it is a timeshare resort, on check in I was referred to guest services who tried to sell me attraction tickets and when I wasnt interested on them then went on to try to get me to attend a sales presentation and offered money as an incentive. As we were very familiar with the area over these past 15 years plus, I Did explain this and said we were not interested. The woman was very pushy and tried to argue why we should attend. I did not appreciate this intrusion and hard sell at check in.

We did not have a coffee maker in the suite and I Phoned reception end asked if housekeeping could provide. Some 3 hours later when we were ready to go out the coffee maker had still not arrived so I Rang again. The coffee maker was subsequently left inside the, door for our return. Different story on check out day when house keeping were knocking on the door at 10.05. (check out was at 10) so they could be efficient when it suited them.
One thing to watch is that where they can charge you, they will. Phone calls, internet, activities on resort.... If they can provide it.. You WILL pay for it so beware!

A nice resort but would not go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The suites are very small. The rooms are nice, but don't expect anything too upscale. Beds were fairly comfortable and the bedding was very good. The staff were very friendly, and helpful. Pool areas were nice, although very busy with people. Be aware that you will be set up at check in to be sold on touring units so they can try to sell you a unit/timeshare or whatever, park tickets etc., under the guise of helping you plan your vacation or getting you a great deal. Not something i really appreciate. I have stayed at other places in Orlando very similar to this, larger, better rooms, for less. Recommend you shop around before you select this hotel. Would not buy a unit/timeshare from this company if this is what their 'resorts' look like around the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Chose this resort first by reviews than price. When i saw the price that was being offered i thought it was too good to be true as it was quite well recommended. We went to resort, check out the room which is a self contained one bedroom aprt. The show room n the room we were provided was clean n well maintained. A couple of draw backs, the Air conditioner is quite noisy, plus there was no daily housekeeping, but the resort do make sure u have all the required amenities. The staff at reception gives service with a great smile n very helpful. Location is excellent, we had a hired car and it was quite close to all the the theme parks, food n shopping outlet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I got a studio suite through Hotwire.com for around $50 a night. I wasn't sure what to expect when we got there. Check in was easy; they invited us to the time share speech and didn't push us when we declined. The room was extraordinary. The "studio suite" was really a one bedroom suite. It had a small living/dining/kitchen area then a separate bedroom and bathroom. It was large enough for my husband and I and we were pleasantly surprised. We could hear them cleaning the room above us but it wasn't bothersome. We would definitely stay here again. Very close to Downtown Disney.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I are big Dave Ramsey fans and even Dave would approve of this place. We went with the one Bedroom studio which was fine for only 2 people. The reason we were looking for cheap accommodations was we had a cruise booked on Monday 8 Oct - 12 Oct at Port Canaveral. We stayed Sat and Sunday night 6- 8 Oct and liked it so well that we booked it for 12, 13 and 14th of Oct after the cruise as well.

You've probably heard the saying if "Momma's happy then everybody's happy! We my wife is very picky about hotel cleanliness; but this one passed the test. This was really not a hotel but a timeshare resort that rented out rooms. They weren't pushy either if you didn't sign up for a tour...what a difference from when you were badgered by pushy sales people everywhere you went in Orlando in the 1990's.

We booked a non-refundable rate via Hotels.com for $60.00 per night. For the second stay we called diamond resort's 800 number and ask for a competitive match which they honored. For the pool, hot tub (huge fits 27 or 29 people), location you couldn't have asked for more. The little store on the premises has everything you need for the pool and a Winn Dixie is located within a couple of blocks. Make sure you eat a Phili cheese steak while in the strip mall area of Winn Dixie. The fellow advertises his Gyro's but his #3 combo (Phili and fries ) is awesome. Also in the other direction 535 South, Black Angus has a great steak with a good enough salad that even guys like me like it. (I rarely eat salad; this was a spring salad.)

I could say things like great pool towels, huge bathroom, clean, dishes and utensils provided, good pillows, double sinks, free miniatures golf, convenient to Downtown Disney, Orlando Premium Shopping Outlet, with nice guest services people but you have probably figured that all out by now by reading earlier reviews. So give them a try. You can't beat the value.

Room Tip: 5th Floor both stays facing the pool. Liked G54B but I would think any 5th floor room is good. Build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay here. We are delighted to hear that you received a great rate for your 1st stay, and that our management company was able to match that rate on your second stay. The tips you have provided about nearby shopping and restaurant options for future guests were very informative and we appreciate that you took the time to do this. We are also honored to hear that our accommodations, amenities, and location met you and your wife’s expectations, if not exceeded them. Repeat guests are always appreciated, and we do hope that we will be able to see you again soon if your travels take you to the Orlando area again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grande Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Villas Resort

Address: 12118 Turtle Cay Circle, Orlando, FL 32836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Villas Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orlando and Grande VillasOrlando, Florida is the ultimate in destination spots for the entire family to enjoy. Grande Villas is the perfect setting for your family to relax and enjoy while traveling to Orlando. There's more than enough to see and do in Orlando, not to mention plenty to keep you entertained while just at the resorts. It is also the ideal location to unwind poolside, and let time slip by without doing a thing. Every one of Florida’s main attractions, including Walt Disney World® theme parks and SeaWorld®, are at your doorstep. Maybe your idea of getting the family out for a day includes shopping, and there is plenty of that. You'll find all you need at the nearby Florida Mall, or discover the best in savings from the numerous brand name, designer outlet malls circling the resort. Whether you want to visit Universal Studios or the nearby beaches, it is all within easy reach. Grande Villas Resort – Your Orlando HavensBe in the middle of all the action without feeling like you are. Find a way to kick back while still knowing you are amid all of the activities you could possibly want to enjoy while visiting the Orlando area. For starters, keep in mind the activity doesn’t end when you get back to your resort! With an outdoor swimming pool, water volcano and slide, children’s pools and playgrounds, you have plenty to choose from. Parents, you'll love the heated outdoor pool or hot tub, along with the BBQ area. It's like having your own summer pool party, without having to host it at your own home. If you want, you can make use of the fitness center or get some friendly, family competition going in the Games Room. Let the Concierge help you plan your outings within Orlando, or find out what's happening on-site with the Activities Department. Once you retreat to your cool, air-conditioned room, you can take in views from the terrace or soak in the whirlpool jet tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grande Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.