We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Buffet for a Great Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Potro Mexican Restaurant

El Potro Mexican Restaurant
4666 South Kirkman Rd, Orlando, FL
http://www.elpotrorestaurant.com/
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #343 of 3,178 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Kernersville, NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Large Buffet for a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went to El Potro at 5 pm on a Thursday during our Orlando vacation. The restaurant was almost empty. The staff were helpful and attentive and made sure our questions were answered. Items were still being brought out to the buffet, so everything was hot and fresh. The buffet was much larger than others we've been to. There were many choices- everything from taco salad to taquitos, burritos, shrimp, chicken, rice, fajitas, and cheese quesadillas. Just about anything you could think of was on the buffet! They also had desserts, including fried plantains, tres leches cake, etc. The price for adults was $11.99 and kids were $5.99. We found this to be well worth the price. Food was plentiful, fresh, and delicious. We got a ton for our money, and it was a nice change of pace from the other high priced tourist spots near the parks. Everyone enjoyed the meal, and we'll definitely be back on our next Orlando vacation!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“is it the same restaurant?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Went there on wednesday evening. restaurant is run down and not even clean. sitiing outside is OK as long as you like traffic zooming by.
The food is really poor. No sign of the buffet. The meal was cheap but then the quality was slightly worse than a taco Bell.
How can it possibly get the accolades it seems to have and makes a mockery of the recommendations on Trip advisor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFayette, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mexican Food! Wonderful Prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

When we lived in Orlando this was our default Mexican restaurant. Although we tried others in the area El Potro was, by far, our favorite.

Early this week, while on a trip in Orlando, we stopped by again, and were not disappointed. The food is every bit as good as we remember. The Chori Pollo is one of my favorites if the buffet is not available. El Potro also has amazing Sangria. Be sure to get a glass the next time you stop by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I went here for lunch for the first time today, and it will not be our last time. Excellent food and service! The lunch buffet had a great variety and the staff was constantly replenishing items and ensuring everything was fresh. Everything tasted delicious, our drinks never went empty and the prices are very reasonable. I think we've found our new favorite Mexican restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mexican Buffet Shines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great food, great selection, excellent service. Oh yeah, and only 7.99 for the buffet on a Saturday afternoon. That about says it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Potro Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to El Potro Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Potro Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.