We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Cypress Palms

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Cypress Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Cypress Palms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 Fairfield Lake Drive, Orlando, FL 34746 (Formerly Fairfield at Cypress Palms)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 328 hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cardiff, WALES (UK)
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We are pretty seasoned Orlando travellers, having stayed at the OLCC and the Sheraton Vistana (to name 2) previously. I had read with interest the reviews on here and asked LOTS of questions.
We had a relatively early flight this time, and arrived from the UK to Orlando about 2:30pm. By the time we got through customs (an absolute breeze this time) and went to get the hire car, we finally arrived at the Hotel about 3:30pm.

We went to check in, and I was already aware of the process of being invited to the tour aka getting your parking permit. We've been here before, so agreed to the tour on the basis that we were getting $$ off Disney tickets, and we weren't going to budge (we knew what we were letting ourselves into, so didn't feel like it was any big deal). The reception staff were great. Not at all rude or "off" like others have experienced. I thought they were polite, happy and very helpful. .. and that was after an 8 hour flight !!!! We were then directed to the room, which was in Block 2, and on the ground floor. It was great. It was near a trash room, but that was OK, as this wasn't open, it had doors that were always kept closed, and emptied several times a day. The proximity to the pool was excellent. We were only about 8 rooms away, and right opposite the Activity Centre / Arcade - couldn;t ask for more !

The room was as to be expected. It's the same layout as the other 2-bed rooms we've stayed in at other resorts. It was spotlessley clean - the only thing I found odd, was that there were no handles on the drawers, so you had to grip the edges to open them - which got annoying when you were in the middle of cooking, and needed a spoon !! There were welcome packs on the black marble worksurfaces. Everything was well equipped and clean.

The bathrooms had enough towels to dry an Army. There were soap and toiletries on the work surface here too. The beds were AMAZING !! If I could have brought one back with me on the plane, I would have. Nice and high, REALLY comfortable and the bedding was white, crisp cotton. I switched the Air Con off, as I found it too cold. We managed better with fans - I didn't like the effect of coming in from the heat to a room as cold as a freezer. One thing missing from the bathrooms, is a magnified shaving mirror.

The pools were great. As previous people have said, not massively huge, but very large, all the same. The pool near our room was the larger of the two, and we counted 50 sunbeds, and 10 parasol covered tables with chairs. There also small tables to have by the side of your beds, and these were plentiful. We took a cool box to the pool every day with drinks (NO BOTTLES) and this wasn't a problem at all. Some resorts don't like you taking food/drinks to the poolside, but as long as you are sensible, and make sure no breakables are used, you will be fine. The water in the pool was just the right temperature. The water in the Hot Tub however, was just that - HOT HOT HOT !!!! After 5 minutes, I had a red mark (not attractive). One day I noticed the pool side shower had broken, as someone had pulled the chain a little too hard - this was fixed within 2 hours - now that's what I call service.
The Activity Centre staff came to the poolside a few times during the week too. One day they brough cookies for everyone, and another day it was snow cones, another it was popcorn. There was also free tea, coffee, do-nuts and popcorn in the main activity centre - little touches like this are great.

There are at least 2 gas powered BBQ's on site. One was just outside the larger pool. This was only used a handful of times, and given a REALLY good clean by the staff every morning. You had to ask a member of staff to light it for you too.

There were a few families of ducks that had not long had ducklings. These were really cute, and friendly. There was even a resident cat - an an alligator ! This was only 6 months old, and sunbathed on the bank near the smaller pool. Not to mentioned the zillion lizards and a few squirrels.

The resort is tucked behind a Chilies, Macaroni Grill, Uno's and Cracker Barrel. There is also a CVS Pharmacy and Krispy Kreme within 2 minutes walk. There was a Wal-Mart within 5 minute drive, and directions to the Disney parks were straightforward and we made it within about 10 minutes. (not too happy with the $15 to park the car in the parks on this trip though). On the opposite side of the 192 (which we find amusing you are timed to have to cross) there was a Longhorn steakhouse and Ruby Tuesdays. There was also a Chinese (all you could eat) which I did NOT like, as this had been open since 11am, and we had no idea how long the food had been standing under a lamp. My little boy only had a few pieces of fried chicken inthere, and later that evening was really sick. We went to Unos a few times - they wwere great with kids and the food there was great. They've cottoned on that the Brits like a large cold beer :)

Overall, we loved this resort. We were there the last week July/first week August. There were never more than a quarter of the beds used, and the pool was really quiet. We had a few thunder storms and the pools were rightly closed, but reopened within 20 minutes of the last clap of thunder.

The rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. There was a seperate washer and tumble dryer - even iron/board if you felt so inclined. The staff were really friendly, and the Activity Centre girls tried so hard to get the kids invovled with what was going on ....

I would 100% recommend this resort, and would be happy to answer any questions you may have.

Room Tip: ask for a reconditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    164
    58
    26
    21
See reviews for
243
106
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The rooms are beautiful and clean. It has a full kitchen. Its just like a small apartment. It has a washer dryer, a balcony and tv's in every room. The pool is open until 11 pm, they have a 24 hour fitness center and they offer activities everyday for the children. There is a cracker barrel resturaunt right behind the hotel (walking distance) but a host of resturaunts just a few minutes away. A huge plus for me was that walmart is only 5 minutes away. This is definitely a great place to take your family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed n room at this resort with my family, great location and the service at the hotel was fantastic. really nice condo (2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms, etc.) overlooking the lake. The staff was very attentive......

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at this resort for our yearly RCI timeshare get-a-way. reserved (2) 2 bed.2bath condos for a family reunion and found the units to be as advertised. Comfortible, clean, and layed out well. Nice pools and hot tubs and the typical on-site amenities (gym, rec room, etc.) ... each unit had a stackable washer/dryer combo and full kitchens. Sat thru the LONG Wyndham presentation on Sunday but the sales rep was plesent and apoligetic for the time. Good presentation for Wyndham, I must say. The resort was centrally located and close to Disney, Universal, and Wet-n-Wild, which are the 3 we went to.
Nothing to complain about. Only minor inconvenience was constant WI-Fi problems which the front desk acknowledged but blamed AT&T for.
Very Good overall resort and stay.

Room Tip: 2 bed 2 baths are very spacious but not next to each other so if you need 2 of them, they will be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

As soon as we open the door, we turned around and complained about the unit. It was old, and the carpet was stained. It was nothing like the pictures on the website. There was garbage on the hallways, one of the garbage bags was reaped open by an animal, there was food on the hallway for two days. It was
not picked up until I finally complained. The pullout bed springs were broke I had to put the sofa cushions under the mattress so it wouldn't go down under. It was a horrible experience. We asked to be moved to a different room the manager told us that the other rooms were reserved for other people and they couldn't do that to them. We will never stay at this resort EVER again. I am thinking of suing them for false advertisement. If you decide to stay at this resort pray that you get an updated unit. Because we got an old one and they were not willing to make it better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our vacation was really great thanks, in part, to the quality of Wyndham Cypress Palms and the friendly and helpful staff. Check in took less than 3 minutes and the staff was very nice. Our room was very clean! We booked a one bedroom with a full kitchen. We easily slept four with the hide away sofa bed. We bought groceries from the Publix down the road and were able to make dinner and lunch in the fully stocked kitchen. The washer and dryer were used daily and with two little kids, we had plenty to wash. The pool was always clean and organized. This was a great location! There aren't enough characters to share how positive this hotel was.

-very close to Fun Spot, Disney, and local shopping
-walking distance to CVS but private walkways and roads
-super nice people
-Awesome daily activities
-Two pools both of which were great and both had hot tubs
-everything worked well
-everything was clean
-kitchen was awesome

Room Tip: Our rooms balcony faces Pool number one and it was a bit noisy at the pool curfew time, but really n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumas, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was ok but the service at te front desk was very unprofessional. We called to ask about the shuttle service to Disney World and they told us the times and where it departed from but did not mention that we had to get it through a different company. When we got to the front desk they were rude and basically called us liars. When we suggested they inform future guest about having to set it up the lady got angry with us. She then called us a taxi service which ended up being a 15 passenger van, therefore costing a lot more for just 2 people. Would not recommend due to the level of service received.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Cypress Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Cypress Palms

Address: 5300 Fairfield Lake Drive, Orlando, FL 34746 (Formerly Fairfield at Cypress Palms)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#23 Green Hotel in Orlando
#133 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Cypress Palms 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Cypress Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Cypress Palms Hotel Orlando
Wyndham Hotel Cypress Palms
Wyndham Hotel Orlando
Wyndham Kissimmee
Fairfield Orlando Cypress Palms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Cypress Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.