We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff, decent rooms, so-so food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Orlando at SeaWorld

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Orlando at SeaWorld to your Saves list
Residence Inn Orlando at SeaWorld
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11000 Westwood Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #98 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Saline, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful staff, decent rooms, so-so food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

After a five-night stay at this hotel in early February 2013, I can say my family and I never encountered a hotel employee who was not completely friendly and helpful. After my wife had a problem with the guest laundry, a repair person was in the laundry room in minutes, with a handful of quarters to allow her to restart her load in a working machine. Edit at the concierge desk was an absolute pleasure to work with, and offered some great suggestions for evening entertainment.

The pool is good size, but designed more for splashing kids than anyone wanting a good morning swim. As mentioned in the title, the food is nothing to write home about. The hot breakfast is okay, with oatmeal, scrambled eggs, biscuits and sausage gravy, either pancakes or waffles, and lots of pastries, but it is prepared for the hundreds of guests at the hotel, and that's how it tastes. Unfortunately, anyone wanting something more unusual or personally prepared has either a long walk or a bus / cab ride ahead of them, because there is nothing less than a half-mile away. The restaurant at the hotel is pretty basic, and is more akin to (in my opinion) a snack bar than a real restaurant. They have a few tables outside, so it's not a bad place to grab a beer in the afternoon or evening. But for dinner I'd recommend finding something more substantial, or consider ordering out for delivery.

That being said, the hotel does have some nice benefits. The Quick Queue passes at Sea World are good to have on busy days (it was fairly empty on Tuesday 2/12 when we went), and the shuttle bus will save you $15 parking. Don't poo-poo the 10% discount card, either. Looking at the total amount we spent on food and souvenirs, it saved us over $20 (one suggestion: Put the discount card in FRONT of your credit card or cash so you don't forget you have it). There is also a shuttle to Universal Studios, which is quite far away, and that saves a good amount of money, too, on either a cab or parking.

The sundry shop at the hotel has a wide variety of snacks and drinks, but is quite expensive. You'll want water, as the water at the hotel has a nasty flavor to it. We picked up a case of water and loaded up the fridge, which probably saved us at least $20 in water alone. There is a 7-11 about a half-mile away which would be worth a stop on your way to the hotel if you are driving or cabbing it from the airport.

In summary, it's a good hotel with great staff, and a fantastic choice for anyone who is planning on going to Sea World. Save yourself some expense and load up your fridge when you arrive, or if you are going to be eating out every night, renting a car might be a good idea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    458
    130
    47
    39
See reviews for
643
151
21
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Ontario
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our family stayed at this property for 7 nights over Christmas week 2012, from Decembert 23 to December 30. We had a one bedroom suite booked via a package with SeaWorld that included park tickets and dining.

The room was spacious and well equipped with two flat screen TV's and a full kitchen.

|nternet access, parking, SW park shuttles (as well as to Epcot), Seaworld Quick Queue passes, and breakfast were all complimentary inclusions. All of these contribute to make your daily rate an EXCELLENT value when compared with other competitor properties.

Breakfast was excellent, with a large selection of hot and cold items that varied a little bit each day. The staff overseeing the breakfast area were the best we have ever encountered, keeping the area spotlessly clean and well stocked at all times even though we were visiting on the single busiest week of the year. They were genuinely warm and friendly people, welcoming, and efficient. We never had a problem finding a place to sit and eat, as the breakfast area was large and comfortable. There were even a few flat screen TV's where you could catch the weather or the news as you ate your morning meal.

Front desk staff were very good all week, tending to every request with a smile and friendly efficiency.

The courtyard was lovely and contained a great sport court with a basketball net, barbecues for guest use, a large zero entry lagoon-style pool, and a spacious hot tub. The hot tub, unfortunately, had very weak water jets meaning few bubbles (a fact remarked on by many guests), but another patron said the front desk indicated the hot tub was due for a refurb this spring, so hopefully that will be remedied in the upcoming months.

Proximity to SeaWorld, Aquatica and Discovery Cove is excellent, with each park less than 5 minutes by car. There is a CVS Pharmacy conveniently located on the corner right by the hotel. The shopping and dining conveniences of International Drive are also just minutes away. Despite being so close to everything, the hotel is in a very quiet area and we found the location to be very peaceful. Despite occupancy being at capacity all week, we also had no problem with noisy or disruptive neighbours (above, beloew or on our floor).

The downfalls for this hotel are few. One is the laundry situation. While having 14 washers and 18 dryers, all are located in one area on the first floor, so it was a bit of a hike when clothes needed washing (our room was on the 4th). And the cost was far above most other hotels we have stayed at: $2 to wash and $2 to dry (with the dryers needing at least two $2 cycles to completely dry our winter wear). $6 per load of laundry was very steep.

The other downfall was the young woman running the Expedia desk on most mornings of our stay. Her attitude and customer interaction was off-putting enough that my husband wanted to report her to Expedia, but she was the ONLY employee we encountered who never once wore a name tag so we would have been unable to conclusively identify her. She was snarly, rude, and anything but what you would expect at at SeaWorld promotional desk (she repeatedly stated that "she had no idea why anyone would want to spend Christmas at SeaWorld or any other park in Orlando. It's going to be so busy, you won't have any fun at all". From a rep at the Expedia travel desk? Really? (co-incidentally, while it was very busy later in the week, our Christmas Day at SW was absolutely amazing). Another note to future guests: while the sign indicates that they open at 7 am, and they are staffed at that hour of the morning, they won't begin handing out Quick Queue passes until at least 7:15 or later. They spend the first 15-30 minutes organizing and heaven knows what else. The young lady whom we noted above enjoyed snottily informing people that she would NOT give them their QQ passes until she was ready. Geez Louise. Then put your sign reflecting a 7:15 opening time, at least.

The hotel provided two computers for guest use in a small room next to the check-in desk, which as a nice perk. There was a printer attached to the terminals which you could use as well (no charge), which came in handy once or twice along the way.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay here very much. We found the hotel included almost everything we could have wanted as far as accomodations went, and we would definitely return for future trips to SeaWorld. In the meantime, I hope the management has a serious chat with the young lady at the Expedia desk, as she is one of the few black spots on an otherwise excellent overall stay. To the rest of the staff at the Residence Inn SeaWorld, thanks for making our Christmas holiday so very memorable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hubby and I stayed 7 nights at this property in January 2013. Our 6th floor studio overlooking pool was spacious and clean with towels changed daily. I echo the positives that are mentioned - staff was pleasant, there is a free shuttle to parks as well as I-Drive shuttle stop in front of property, ample free parking, breakfast was filling though not much variety and room always crowded (we ate outside, what a difference), quick elevators near parking area, ample sunny and shady spots at pool, good gym equipment with miles-long sidewalk in front of hotel in suburb-like area. Overall we were pleased with our stay and hope to stay there again soon. I really had a problem with some guest behavior. At the side entry door, it seemed like there was always a fresh spill of food or liquid, kids and adults running in the halls, towels left all over pool chairs when the dirty towel bins are near the exits, speaking rudely to the very busy bartender, blocking the walkway by rearranging the furniture in the breakfast room, every night near pool closing time a new game of Marco Polo, taking up two parking spots near the side door when there were plenty other spaces further out, and dropping the leash of your pit bull near the elevator then cursing loudly at the dog to stop. My favorite though was the teenage kid at the pool at 5am singing and hollering trying to get up the nerve to jump into the pool (temp was in the 30's) while jumping on top of the chaise loungers. I suppose it's just a mixture of nationalities and cultures and the excitement of Orlando that gets everyone wound up. Good hotel though - we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great location, nice and helpful staff, free parking..a big room with full equiped kitchen, FREE shuttle service to all parks- Sea world, Disney, Universal studios.. amazing!! breakfast was nice, they also have landury service which helpful..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Rooms were large, comfortable and clean. We’ve stayed at many Residence Inn’s and this was one of the nicest. We recommend this hotel even if you aren't going to Sea World-- we went to the Disney parks and it was an easy drive.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my teenage daughter and her classmate for a long weekend while visiting the theme parks. The hotel was 15 minutes from Disney and universal and 2 minutes from sea world. Access to highway was excellent. The property seemed to be in very good shape despite other opinions on trip advisor. The 2 bedroom suite worked very well with comfortable beds. The weather was too cool to use pool area. Breakfast was fine and had adequate choices. The breakfast room was crowded but I could find a table without much trouble. My only complaint was that The exercise room was too small with only 2 treadmills for a large hotel! So, if you get there at the wrong time, your out of luck...

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I planned to stay for 6 nights while visiting the Orlando area. The first room we were given had feces on the toilet seat. We asked to switch rooms and waited 15 minutes for new keys to arrive. We moved all our stuff to a new room on a different floor. After getting settled we noticed several spots on the carpet, the refrigerator handle and the tile floor in the bathroom. Not to mention what looked like blood on the shower curtain and who knows what on the sheets. We dismissed this and went to bed only to get up in the early morning as neither of us could sleep due to the springs in the mattress popping every time one of us rolled. First thing the next morning we moved to a different hotel.

Room Tip: Not recommended for people who have cleanliness standards and like good mattresses. I expected highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Orlando at SeaWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Orlando at SeaWorld

Address: 11000 Westwood Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32821
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Orlando
#87 Family Hotel in Orlando
#127 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Orlando at SeaWorld 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Orlando at SeaWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Orlando At Seaworldr Hotel Orlando
Residence Inn Sea World
Orlando Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Orlando at SeaWorld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.