We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pirates, Potter and Putting make for a great family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Harbour Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Harbour Lake to your Saves list
Marriott's Harbour Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7102 Grand Horizons Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #14 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pirates, Potter and Putting make for a great family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for our first trip to Universal Orlando ( to visit Harry Potter! Which was neat, but that's another review). We are used to spending all day at the Disney parks when in Orlando, but there isn't as much at Universal, so it was really nice that this resort had everything we needed for a fun family vacation. We would've had a blast even if we didn't leave the resort. The fun pirate theme was great for a lot of the activities they host through the adventurers club. Though we had teens in the family, we still enjoyed the scavenger hunt we went on and the steal the bacon game that was held on the field in front of our building. The pools were fun and diverse enough to capture our attention when we felt both playful and lazy, and the miniature golf course was a big hit as we played at least five rounds, including one where a turtle wandered out onto the hole in front of us. It was a week well spent, and I was sorry to go because I felt that there was a lot of the resort that we still hadn't discovered yet. You will not be bored here, but if you want, you can also just lay back and relax.

Room Tip: All the locations are around the same area, but a central location in a building next to the pool mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    292
    77
    20
    9
See reviews for
866
66
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for a week in December 2012. We had a two bedroom suite, and the place was very clean and very well maintained. My only problem, actually, was that when I received my daily activities update the phones had a lot of static! The pools were fun, my kids loved the water slide. Unfortunately the water 'park' was closed for maintenance while we were there, but it did look like a lot of fun.

There are a lot of activities for the family, for a range of ages; although we didn't partake in many. We spent a few hours on a couple of days lounging around the pool and I quite impressed my 7 year old when I won one of the mommy hula-hoop contests. Who knew I still had it in me?! But because of it's central location to many popular Orlando attraction we were out and about most of the days. Universal and Walt Disney World were both approximately 15 minutes away but in opposite directions, and Sea World/ Discovery Cove were right around the block. I recommend Discovery Cove: that was one of the best days we had. Universal Studios Islands of Adventure had the best rides in all of Orlando (including Disney): the Harry Potter ride and the Spiderman ride. So although there are lots of things to do at the resort itself, definitely take advantage of its prime location!

One note: if you are planning to spend most of your days in Disney then I would stay on Disney property; navigating around Walt Disney World is easier inside the park. However, we have done a week at Disney in the past, and this time wanted to explore other attractions- in which case this location was perfect.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main gate/ entrway, but even so it was not noisy and crowded. The road itsn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The property is good compared to hotel standards. If you have stayed at a new Marriott Vacation property such as Oceana Palms on Singer island you will probably be disapointed. The grounds here could use some cleaning up but the room was nice and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We went this property because my timeshare was having a good deal and my sister was there in August with her children and raved about it. I rented a 2 bedroom unit because my sister was going to come also but cancelled last minute. We had the entire unit to ourselves. First, location, location, location, it is only a 15 minute drive from the airport. It's walking distance from Sea World. Looking at other reviews, yes, the furniture is a little dated but it's suitable. The unit was spacious. There were daily activities but we didn't participate because we had other things on our agenda. It seems to be a safe environment. There is a security booth you have to report to prior to entering the property. I was a little disappointed that I had to pay to use the internet at the business center. I had to print something. I am well aware you pay for printing, that's not the issue but the fee was .20 cents a minute and I wasn't online no more than 6 minutes, but, the minimum charge is $3.00. What a rip off? There was courtesy internet in the units.

The only other complaint I had which does not reflect on the property is, a family checked in above me several days later. Well, their kid (under 2) had to be running a marathon up there. I had to call the front desk and they sent someone up there and eventually the kid went to sleep. The next morning it was the same thing. We checked out early because we really didn't want to be bothered. We will return but will probably request an upper floor.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed at Marriott Timeshare (Vacation Club) locations (Newport Coast, Grande Vista) in the past and seeing how this property was several years older than the ones in which I have stayed, I assumed it would be a bit outdated. Quite simply, I was wrong.

About two weeks prior to arrival I called to confirm my reservation for a 2BR unit and I asked to be placed in a renovated unit. The reservation receptionist told me they would make a note of my request but could not make any guarantees. As a renter (as opposed to a Marriott Timeshare owner), I didn't expect my request to be honored but at check-in, the bubbly front desk man Bonnie told me that yes, we were booked in a renovated room.

The 2BR suite is about 1100 SF and it was extremely well appointed -- washer and dryer, all dishes and silverware, toaster, microwave, oven range, granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, a large dining table with booth seating, 3 flat screen TVs and a DVD player. The only thing that seemed to be missing was a Playstation 3!

I expected to be pressured into attending a timeshare presentation but each time I received a message (once each evening), it was the recreation office inviting us to participate in one of several activities that they had going on throughout the day. Despite spending 4 days at Universal Studios, my son and I still had time to go fishing off the lake dock, swim, play dodgeball, kickball, basketball, soccer, waterside races, scavenger hunt and play ping pong and billiards. The recreation staff was super friendly and welcoming to all families and children of all ages. And did I mention that all of these activities are FREE?

Compared to paying $100+/night for a 4* hotel room, we had three times the space, kitchen and laundry amenities in our unit, free recreational activities, free parking, a location less than a mile from Sea World, a gated and secure environment and a fantastic staff that was unfailingly polite and attentive.

If you are planning a family trip to Orlando with young kids (under 10), you would be hard-pressed to find a better place to stay than Marriott Harbour Lake.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had to agree with one of the reviewers that this might be the worse Marriott resort I have ever stayed.

1. facility: it is an outdated resort and many things don't work or go cheap: two hair dryers are both out of order, the sleeper in the living room is broken, the mattress is too soft, the room is at least 200 sqf smaller than other resorts I stayed, the waterpark is not open, and you have to buy pingpong balls if you want to play. The elevator is noisy and slow.

2. We got wakeup calls 3 mornings in a row to ask us to join the timeshare marketing seminar.

3. Check out at 10am: This is the earliest check-out time I have ever heard at Marriott. If you want to be kicked out from your room at 10am, please feel free to stay at this place.

4. Management: the manager at front desk is terrible. He (Tom?) will make you feel that you are not his customer but his employee or enemy and totally ignored the fact that you have been a loyal Marriott elite member for more than 10 years. He will ask you to pay for something that is not an issue at any other Marriott resort or hotel I ever stayed. Unfortunately all his staff have been trained with the same tone. Before they talk about what service and accommodation they can provide for a loyal customer, they will talk to you about how much you need to pay.

The bottom-line is Harbour Lake resort, bye for good. I don't see the Marriott spirit here at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Harbour Lake, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Harbour Lake. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Harbour Lake is has it all. The location is very convenient to all the Orlando attractions. Our room in building 12 was spotless and very spacious. The staff was always very friendly. There is plenty to do for everyone. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Harbour Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Harbour Lake

Address: 7102 Grand Horizons Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32821
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Orlando
#84 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Harbour Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Harbour Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Harbour Lake Hotel Orlando
Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Harbour Lake
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Horizons Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Horizons Marriott Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Harbour Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.