We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8303 Palm Parkway, Orlando, FL 32836   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #97 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stourport-on-Severn, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hawthorn Suites in 2010 and returned this April. It was lovely to see some familiar faces (staff) in the breakfast room and I'd certainly agree with previous comments that all the staff, from Reception to housekeeping couldn't do enough to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you to Tim for the chewing gum, the children were delighted!

There is a coffee machine in every room and you receive a free sample to try - after that you can purchase coffee bags for $2.50 from Reception, which I'd recommend, as the complimentary coffee was lousy. I would've liked a kettle in the room, as I missed my English tea - we did try brewing tea in the coffee percolator but it didn't taste quite the same!

Yes the decor is a little dated, but most people are out and about at the parks in the daytime, so this didn't really matter. It is difficult to beat in terms of location and proximity to all the main attractions - particularly Seaworld and the Disney parks.

I would recommend Sweet Tomatoes restaurant, close by at 'Crossroads' 12561 S Apopka-Vineland Rd for its tasty and delicious soups, salads.

We are already planning our next trip to Orlando and I am sure we will use the Hawthorn Suites again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a second time. We appreciate your loyalty and are delighted that you had another great stay with us. We will be sure to let the staff know that they impacted your stay, especially Tim! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    420
    110
    51
    18
See reviews for
656
276
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just returned back from our stay with you. We booked on recommendation from my friend who stayed with you last Easter and because of all the good reviews on trip adviser. I have never seen a hotel with so many good reviews and I can understand why.

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly happy and helpful Bernard and on reception in the day was Tim who was so friendly and helpful with all our requirements . He advised us were my son could get some playing cards ( he is in to magic) and also brought him some in the next day when he was having a clear out at home.(the ones my son was desperate to get). Lyndsay who served the manager special bar was so lovely and friendly too. They are all a credit to the hotel. The rooms were cleaned every day and hotel spotless. I read that a few people said the hotel is dated the good points over shined this. I have been advised a re vamp is happening next month any way. The only slight negative is the time off the bus . We could of done with one leaving the parks at 5pm instead of the earliest one at 6pm and may be a snack bar but I think this may be on the cards too.This hotel is a real gem. Thanks for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are also glad that you were impressed with our staff, and will be sure to pass your compliments along. We look forward to showing you the same great hospitality on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have stayed here for the second time in three years and travelled with my teenage children on both occasions.
I have to say it was very enjoyable and we had a great time on both occasions.
The staff including the manager Paul Girard and housekeepers were very friendly.
To sum it up I would have to say that it was very clean/comfortable and that it was a great location because it was close to both I Drive and Downtown Disney and with the free shuttle bus three times a day to Disney and the Lynx bu sstop right outside getting around was quite an easy task.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us for a second time, and we are delighted that we exceeded your expectations again. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to Paul and his team, and we all hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were in 3 hotels in Florida, and absolutaly this was the best! we'll return
-komfortable rooms
-great kitchen in room
-very good breakfast-buffet(included the price!)(bagels, english muffins, eggs, bacon, waffle, creamcheese, oatmeal, softdrinks, coffee, milks, fruits and many more)
-free wi-fi
-close to all attractions, restaurants, shopping, but quiet
-friendly hotel people!!!!!
-pool, jacuzzi
/ things you have to expect and accept: the furniture, carpit is worn, be careful themeparks ticketbuying at the hotel, Gatorland is cheaper at the gate/
shopadvice:Disney and "Florida" souvenirs like t-shirts, magnets, huts...are on very good price and good assortions at Walmart supercenter on turkey lake rode, close to hotel)
Very good for families

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much, we are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel. We appreciate your valueable feedback, and hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are coming to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here from 25th March to 8th April with my husband and adult daughter. Stayed here 2 years ago just myself and hubby. We were given a 1-bedroom suite on the 3rd floor at the far end of the building which was probably the worst aspect of the room. It overlooked the pool area which was nice. Otherwise it was identical to the room we stayed in previously. I think there had been a change of management but didn't notice any particular differences, breakfast still good and the Monday-Friday drinks and nibbles still going. They offered us a late check out till 1 but we paid extra for another 2 hours as our flight was in the evening. Overall a good value hotel to stay in a great position, handy for Disney and Universal. Would definitely stay there if we visit Orlando again (working on that!)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us for a second time. We are delighted that you had another fantastic experience. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a great stay here for two weeks. The staff were really friendly and helpful and throughout our stay couldn't do enough for us. From a helpful check-in, advice on where to eat and also when I had trouble doing our on-line check in for the return journey they kindly let me use the office computer. Also one night we accidentally dropped a whole bottle of wine on our kitchen floor and couldn't help enough in cleaning it all up.

The rooms are spacious with a separate living area and although could do with modernisation, they were well equipped and very clean. We appreciated the separate living area and ktichenette - especially after a long day in the theme parks and we just wanted to order a pizza in.
The pool is a bit on the small side but we never had trouble getting a space and the managers reception is a nice touch. The location is excellent - 5 min drive to downtown disney, 10 min walk or short drive to the crossroads shopping centre with tons of places to eat and 15 min to universal using the Turkey Lake Road and avoiding the I4 completely.
The free breakfast was helpful too - the food was fine, nothing special but started us up for the day and saved loads of money so nothing to complain about there.
The only negative was the shuttle service to the parks - which only went to Epcot and you then have to transfer to other Disney parks by bus or monorail. It was also a horrible dirty smelly old bus. We only did it once and drove every other time.

Overall - great value for money and ideal for families and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We have a ground floor room facing the pool which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review, we appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel amenities, and that our staff were friendly and helpful when you needed them. We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here in February for our honeymoon and cannot fault the place. Yes, the TVs are old, yes there is no bar (but thee is free drinks between 5 & 7!) but the proximity to the parks makes up for all that.
Breakfast everyday is a bonus with a good selection which gets you ready for the long Florida days ahead. Downtown Disney is around 5 mins drive away (apparently you can walk it but we didn't try) or you can get a taxi in for around 10 dollars. All Disney parks are less than 10 mins drive away and Universal is 15 tops.
Good selection of places to eat/drink within walking distance too if you want to leave the car and have a few beers. Otherwise Walmart is 2 min journey in the car. We also ordered pizza to our room from the local pizzeria two nights.
Would stay here again without a doubt and highly recommend this to friends and family.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Congratulations on your recent marriage! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on such a special visit, and we are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations! We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista

Address: 8303 Palm Parkway, Orlando, FL 32836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#85 Family Hotel in Orlando
#91 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#116 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest Hawthorn Suites to the Walt Disney World Resort! Just one mile from the entrance to Disney. Executive guest rooms perfect for corporate travelers and One Bedroom suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, separate living and dining room. Tropically landscaped outdoor pool area & jacuzzi. Complimentary scheduled transport to Disney and free hot breakfast. Two hour manager's reception in the evenings Monday-Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Hawthorn Lake Buena Vista
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.