We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8303 Palm Parkway, Orlando, FL 32836   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #65 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Hawthorn . Stayed for one week beginning of July. Very convenient to have the shuttles take us to Disney. Taxi would of been very expensive as Disney property is very large. Shuttles run 3 times in morning to drive you to epcot and 3 times at night to pick you up. Takes 45 min or so as it stops at 3 or 4 other hotels along the way, you are first stop though. Bernard the front desk guy is great! We got there noonish and he got us a room very fast. He is very helpful and friendly. Only thing this hotel is lacking is safes in the room. But they have security deposit boxes at front desk in which you get a key to us. That is the only thing that we did not like but what can you do. hotel very clean and breakfast for free was great!! very good variety of food every day, not the same stuff every day so there is a variety - fruit, cereals, bacon, eggs, pancakes, juices, milk, coffee, tea, donuts, etc. Lots of choice. Some stores about a 10 min walk away so that was handy to go buy some souvenirs, snacks, drinks, etc. Staff very hard working, all friendly. Rooms were suites, so had full kitchen in room and separate area for just lounging around besided the bedroom. Nice and spacious. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our shuttle service, and daily breakfast. We are also glad that you found our staff helpful, and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    547
    368
    86
    38
    16
See reviews for
566
239
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The suite set-up perfectly met the needs of my family and the staff were very helpful (thank you Luis and Tim). The shuttle to Epcot was handy, but with stops at other hotels and monorail rides it does take about 45 minutes to get to the Magic Kingdom (which wasn't a big deal, just FYI). Breakfasts featured a good variety of foods and overall the place is a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for the review. We truly appreciate your kind words and positive feedback. We will let our team members know that they exceed your expectations. Thank you for choosing us and we hope you will do so in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We came back to hawthorn suites again for our recent holiday and didnt disappoint. All the staff were really friendly and very helpful - it was good to see familiar faces from our last visit. Everything kept very clean & tidy. We enjoyed the breakfast every day. Even though the hotel seemed busy there was very little noise. We had a great time again, and if we ever get the chance to come back to orlando we would definitely want to stay at hawthorn. Many thanks to all the staff keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that your second visit to our hotel was even better than your first. We pride ourselves on excellent service so it’s great to hear that you found our staff so friendly and helpful. We’re looking forward to your third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hawthorn for 2 weeks from the 25th June to 9th July.
On arrival in the rather grand reception we were greeted by Louie on reception. Virgin had not informed the hotel of our booking so naturally we thought our holiday was off to the worst possible start. Wrong. Louie upgraded our roomand got us both an ice cold beer! Bad situation turned on it's head!

The room itself was huge, clean and comfortable. A kitchenette with microwave, double hob, coffee maker and frige freezer.All utensils, cutlery and chinaware provided. A lounge area with a sofa and armchair and satellite tv and a nice size bedroom with 2 large queen ann beds with memory foam mattress, very comfortable. Wardrobe space was adequate, as were the drawers and a decent dressing table.The decor was of a reasonable standard. We were on the 5th floor (top floor) and it was very quite facing the opposite way to the pool which I would imagine to be a little noisier. The cleaning was to a good standard. All in all, very good.

The facilities at the hotel were basic but good. There are no restaurants within the hotel but there are some a short distance away Like the Olive Garden (Italian) 15 minute walk or 2 minute drive or the Loan Star (steakhouse) 6 minute drive. Both these restaurants are excellent. We ordered a chinese takeaway form run run from the leaflet in our room, delivered in 10 minutes and very good too.

Tea and coffee available 24/7, happy hour 5.30pm to 7.30pm Monday to Thursday inclusive of free alcoholic and soft drinks. Breakfast available 7.00am to 10 am, juice, eggs, sausage, toast, beans etc.We had breakfast a coupe of times which was fine, but because we wanted to get away quickly we went to Walmart and bought our own cereal and milk to use in out room. Hotel has a small 'shop' payable at the front desk consisting of a range of drinks and ice cream.

The hotel lounge was very inviting and comfortable with nice sofas and a nice laid back quite atmosphere.

The pool was just outside the hotel lounge and seemed very inviting after a day of walking the parks. Although a bit on the small side it was always clean as were the areas surrounding the pool. In addition there is a really nice spa which is also very inviting and soothing after walking all day.The sun loungers were not the most comfortable and of the solid plastic variety. There were no mattresses to go on top so after a while on these you may suffer a little discomfort. Towels for the pool are provided by the hotel so no need to bring a towel in your case.

The actual location of the hotel is very good.For attractions such as Downtown Disney 10 minutes by car. Typhoon Lagoon about 12 minutes. Magic kingdom, Epcot 20-25 minutes and universal 25 minutes. Seaworld and wet n wild 15 minutes. For shopping Florida Mall 25 minutes Orlando premium outlets Vineland Avenue 14 minutes. Indeed the Hawthorn is in a very central location.

One bugbear that we did not overcome was the bus service from the hotel. The service to the Disney parks goes to the Epcot centre with the earliest bus leaving at 8.30am. This takes between 45-50 minutes to reach Epcot. On our 1st day we had to meet up with the rest of our family who were staying at other hotels with a better bus service. By the time we got on the monorail at Epcot ,through security we did not arrive untill 10.am! The bus is very slow, calling at 3 other hotels with the driver inexplicably disappearing into each hotel for 5-10 minutes at a time. We never used the bus service again.

Perhaps a better bet is the Lynx 50 bus. Turn left out of hotel and bus stop in about 200 yards. This will take you to the magic kingdom for 2 dollars per person. Timetable available at reception, these buses run really late if you want to stop late to see the fireworks and will drop you more or less opposite the hotel at the bus stop.

There is very little evidence to make critical remarks about the Hawthorn. The staff are excellent. The wardrobe door ripped one of our case's as there was a component that had been damaged on the sliding wardrobe door. We complained. Within a day and a half (when Luis had cleared it with his boss) we were given $108 to buy a new case! Many thanks to Luis (top man from the Bronx), Bernard and Tim all on the front desk. All very informative and helpful. Thanks to all the staff at the Hawthorn for making our holiday very memorable, When we return to Florida we will be sure to choose the Hawthorn suites.
*
NB. My rating for the restaurant within the hotel is based on the hotels breakfast and not it's restaurant as it does not have one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and facing away from the pool if you like your room more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such an extensive and thorough review of your two-week stay with us. We appreciate all of the feedback. We are glad you had a great time and enjoyed our rooms and amenities. We apologize for the any inconveniences you had throughout your stay but are glad they were attended to quickly by our staff. We’re pleased to hear you felt our hotel was a “gem” and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just returned from a fortnights stay at this hotel & I was very impressed!!
The hotel was located perfectly for us approx 30mins walk from Downtown Disney and it had a whole host of restaurants within walking distance - our favorite being The Olive Garden. It is also on the Lynx bus route so getting to & from Seaworld & Magic Kingdom was easy if you didn't want to rely on the hotel shuttles.
The hotel itself was spotless and the staff very helpful with information & booking transport etc. They also always had a smile & a few words every time you entered the hotel. Special mentions to Luis & Tim who we dealt with most frequently. The maids were fantastic too they left the room spotlessly clean & loaded/emptied the dishwasher for you. They moved the kids stuffed toys into new positions daily & they also made little animals etc with the towels - my kids looked forward to coming in to see what they had made for them that day.
All in all a fantastic hotel that I wouldn't hestitate to recommend to friends & family!
We will be back :) :) :)

Room Tip: Don't think you could get a bad room - they are huge & spotlessly clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
The title of your post is enough to make us smile. We are ecstatic to hear that you were so impressed by our hotel. We will make sure your kind words are passed along to Luis & Tim. Thank you for this great review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A very good hotel ,Close to the parks and shoppingmalls
Good free breakfest ,Very good friendly personel
Fast free internet
Clean rooms
From monday to thursday free drinks and snacks (from 05.00 to 07.00 pm)

So if you looking for a good hotel ,Do not look further ,Here it is

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review and strong recommendation of our property! We are glad you had such a fantastic experience at our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

we stayed at the suites for two weeks, the hotel was excellent ,kept clean by friendly staff , the reception staff Tim and Luis where very helpful and welcoming, Rooms where spaceious and the locationis just right handy for lake buena vista cross roads and downtown disney but a quite place to chill after the bustle of theme parks, breakfast is fine if a bit repetative but keeps you going for a day in the theme parks Once again thank you to Luis, Tim and the Staff for a great time. The Wiggins Family Liverpool uk

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay with us, and that you got to enjoy our amenities and great location. We appreciate your kind words about our front desk staff, which we will certainly pass along. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Family-friendly...
Show More
Quality Suites Lake Buena Vista
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Lake Buena Vista
Hampton Inn Orlando/Lake Buena Vista
Free internet...
Show More
Blue Heron Beach Resort
Blue Heron Beach Resort
#43 of 328 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Free in...
Show More
StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
Lake Buena Vista
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lake Buena Vista-Orlando
Free Parking, P...
Show More
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista

Address: 8303 Palm Parkway, Orlando, FL 32836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#65 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest Hawthorn Suites to the Walt Disney World Resort! Just one mile from the entrance to Disney. Executive guest rooms perfect for corporate travelers and One Bedroom suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, separate living and dining room. Tropically landscaped outdoor pool area & jacuzzi. Complimentary scheduled transport to Disney and free hot breakfast. Two hour manager's reception in the evenings Monday-Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Hawthorn Lake Buena Vista
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites Lake Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.