We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just O.K. for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7701 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #201 of 329 hotels in Orlando
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just O.K. for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Upon arrival, Joseph warmly greeted my family and me. He was very knowledgeable about the area and since it was raining, he suggested the Wonderworks Museum which was fantastic. However, the room ((which had been upgraded (thank you, Joseph)) was dingy at best. The cushions on the pullout couch had big stains on them. The refrigerator didn't get really cold. The vents in both the hallway and bathroom were very dusty. We ran into several staff members during our two-night visit, but none of them spoke to us in the hallways /elevator. When I stay at hotels, I like for the staff to offer "Good Morning" or "Hello" or some other type of acknowledgement. Didn't get it. However, on a good note, the children loved the pool and the arcade which has a wide assortment of video games. The breakfast was pretty good. The hotel offers fresh fruits, eggs, and patrons can even make their own waffles. My overall rating for this hotel is 3 out of 5. For this price-point, it was just okay for us.

Room Tip: We were in Room 439 which is pretty close to a laundry area on the same floor. We did not use this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    153
    77
    26
    18
See reviews for
151
79
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our first visit and we plan to return. Everything was wonderful! The breakfast was excellent. Lots of variety and very tasty. Allison, in the kitchen, even asked for suggestions to make the breakfast better. She is so sweet! The pool has a chair lift for disabled folks. Have never seen that before at a hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Windows only have sheers, so if you have trouble with a light shining in all night, ask for another room. Good side - one doesn't need a night light to get up in the night. Allison, in the kitchen, even

Room Tip: (+) There is a chair lift at the pool for disabled folks. Wonderful! Have never been to a hotel/in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed breakfast and meeting our breakfast staff. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had a great room but should have upgraded to the king suite so we would have had a refrigerator. They are trying to get refrigerators into the rest of the rooms ( told to me) The beds were very comfortable and we slept 2 to a bed (one teenager, 1 6 yr old, a grandma and a mom.) The wifi worked really well so we were able to play games on the computer and do email.

Room Tip: if you want a refrigerator then get the king suite with an extra sofa bed and you get a refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We are adding the microwaves and refrigerators to all of our guest rooms as we are moving forward. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pleasant hotel with the required amenities. The staff was competent and friendly. We were just staying overnight. We picked up dinner at a nearby supermarket & made it in the microwave.
All the theme parks are close by but too far for the noise & traffic to present a problem. We are empty nesters and prefer to avoid "family friendly" activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a wonderful time on my stay. I was there with my church group visiting the Holy Land. Barbara at the front desk was very friendly and nice got us in our rooms as quick as she could.Kelly hats off to you for all your help. It was nice to put a face with the name I must say that it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that your group enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to your next stay and your group returning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintrhop, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was our second extended stay at this location. We were recognized as Club Carlson members upon arrival. The staff are very friendly. Kai greeted us each and every time we arrived back at the hotel. He made us feel like family. Kelly, the manager, was very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed to complete our stay. Barbara greeted us upon check in and was very efficient. Mark (engineer) made sure our room met our needs.

The breakfast staff was friendly and hard working. The dining area can be very busy, but staff did everything they could to keep things supplied, clean and orderly. Hotel guests could learn to treat the dining area the way they treat their own home. I was disappointed to see so many guests make messes or leave dirty dishes on their tables rather than putting things in the trash or the bins for washing the dishes.

I would recommend this location to people traveling in the area. We are planning another trip later this fall and will stay here again.

Hats off to a great staff who know how to get the job done!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next stay and hope that it is in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great location to Universal Studios, the free shuttle only runs once a day there and back so we chose to drive a few miles and pay the 20.00 per day preferred parking so that we could come and go when we chose. The rooms look a liittle less desirable than most in this area. There is no vent in the bathroom which is a big compaint as the steam soaks your makeup, toiletries and clothing you have laid out. The refrigerator and microwave are additional 20.00 per day and should be included in this type of room, the desk clerk joey was super nice and very pleasant to deal with, the room had a funny smell and you cannot set the thermostat to stay on continuously, the carpet made my white socks brown which was a concern. The room is nice looking. We were on the street side and it was surprisingly quiet. Ice makers are on the first and third floors, we were on the second but they are easy to find, typical free continental breakfast, more seating than some hotels. My daughter said the pool was super clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay and hope it is in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal

Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel
Country Inn And Suites Orlando Universal
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Country Inn International Drive
Country Inn Orlando
Orlando Country Inn
Address: 7701 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Family Hotel in Orlando
#201 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#201 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a family vacation to Florida or a professional business trip, the Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal hotel is a great place to stay. Our Orlando hotel near Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios® and Sea World® theme parks offers a convenient, scheduled shuttle for guests, to ensure your trip is hassle free. We have Orlando hotel rooms and suites for every occasion, and offer a complimentary hot, continental breakfast, outdoor pool, boardroom, Fitness Center and more. With all the perks available at the Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal hotel, there's no better place to stay during your Florida vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.