We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent with what you should expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CountryInns.com Priceline.com
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7701 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #201 of 329 hotels in Orlando
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistent with what you should expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stay at many Country Inn & Suites. This met our expectations in a good way. We reserve rooms with 2 queen beds, non-smoking, and when we get there, they have the right rooms waiting for us, all the time. Free breakfast in the morning is nice. This hotel's breakfast was a bit on the thin side; hot and cold items, but the selection was not huge - it was however just fine and the dining area was clean.

Room Tip: This property is not right on the freeway, so highway noise was not an issue. We were on the 5th of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    153
    77
    26
    18
See reviews for
151
79
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My son and I stayed here for 5 days while visiting Universal Studios. The front desk had good service and had no problem checking in or out. The rooms were cleaned but the carpet looks like it could be steam cleaned once in a while. My white socks were dirty after walking in them. The breakfast was good. I was sure to come down and eat early as i had read the other reviews before visiting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a little over two weeks in mid March. Upon check-in we were offered a free upgrade for the duration of our stay to a one bedroom suite. Check-in staff and staff on the front desk were polite and always happy to help with our requests.
The location of the hotel is ideal for accessing the theme parks and for wet and wild. We had the use of a rented car therefore can't comment on the shuttle service the hotel offered. The hotels car park gets full and if you return late you may have difficulty finding a spot if the hotel is full. The time we spent at the hotel it was completely sold out, so I believe this is a busy hotel, there also seemed to be a lot of tour buses come in during our stay.
The suite had ample room with flat screen T.V's in the lounge area and the bedroom. We were on the fourth floor near the end of a corridor facing the car park and heard no noise at all, and I am a very light sleeper.
The cleanliness of the hotel was acceptable, however, I believe management need to monitor this as in some areas (including our suite), corners of the room and corridors were dusty and had some signs of cob webs appearing. There was also a small bag of tobacco left from a previous guest down beside the bedside cabinet.
The hotel offers a good variety of hot and cold items for breakfast, the breakfast area can be very busy especially if there is tour buses in. The breakfast staff work very hard to clear and clean tables and replenish food items and we found them friendly, especially Pablo.
The pool area is small with a few beds, the pool would of been nice if heated as was very cold. Maybe in the summer months when temperatures are high this may be a blessing however far to cold in March to have a leisurely swim. It was a real task for all guests to take a dip!!
There is a small gym and a convenient shop within the hotel selling gift items, soda, wine, water, chocolate and potato chips.
All in all we had a pleasant stay.


Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife, two kids and I stayed four nights in the Country Inn and Suites in Orlando at Universal Studios from March 23rd-26th. This was our first stay at a Country Inna and Suites. When we checked in at 5 pm there was only one person working the desk and he seemed disinterested in helping anyone. I noticed after I checked in he disappeared and guests who came in after me were wandering the halls with there luggage looking for anyone who worked there. The room was nice enough but the safe did not work. I tried to call the front desk and the phone was busy. I walked down to the front desk and the same employee was talking on his personal cell phone. After standing there staring at him for two minutes he decided he would help me. Upon describing my issue with the safe he said that the only person who could reset the safe had gone home for the day and that he wouldn't be back until 7 am the next morning. He said he would leave a note for the maintenance worker to assist us. Unfortunately, after four nights the safe was never fixed. On the bright side the hotel was located very close to the Universal Theme Parks and it was a breeze getting there. On another disappointing note, we returned to the hotel at 11:45 pm one night and the parking lot was full. There was a commercial bus in the lot taking up eight parking spots. I went into the lobby and asked if they had an overflow lot and they said no. Cars were parked all over the lot in makeshift spots. It was an accident waiting to happen. The breakfast was good but there was not enough seating, so it became a game for our kids to try and secure a table each morning. One morning we had a table but no chairs?????? They should at least stack some extra chairs in a corner for the morning rush. Overall, the accommodations were nice enough but the customer service was lacking!!!! We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at our hotel. It is always our goal that each of our guests has an outstanding experience. We are very sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations on your stay. Customer Service is definitely a priority and it is comments and responses like yours that allow us to better serve our guests. I have shared your feedback with our entire management team so that we are able to take corrective action regarding your experience so that it does not occur again. I again apologize and wanted to let you know that you comments have been heard and addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during Easter Weekend while visiting Universal Studios. Rooms were clean and service at front desk was good. However, they were understaffed during the busy weekend during breakfast so tables were not being cleared on time and often ran out of food at the buffet. Three guys were working very hard to replenish the food, clean tables, etc but they clearly needed more staff. Breakfast is good but not great (ie. great make your own waffles but reconstituted eggs). During our second night, a toddler next door cried non-stop for 2 hours and we can hear everything....the walls were very thin. We were thankful they checked out the next night because we were going to ask to switch rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarenville, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed the the Country Inn & Suites, Orlando from Feb 9-13, 2013. It is a very clean hotel. The breakfast buffett is excellent with hot and cold food. We used the shuttle service to Disney and Universal parks. The only thing that was disappointing was that the pool was not heated and in February, it was too chilly to swim in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is very close to Universal Studios and very convenient if you have a car.
I understand it is always full because of it's proximity to the Studios. It was very clean and the front desk staff welcoming and hospitable. My only negative was the set up of the breakfast serving area. It was hard to get to and around and very chaotic. Plus the breakfast area was meant to be able to accomodate a lot of people but the breakfast serving area was so poorly set up that it was hard to keep people coming and going. There Always seemed to be a log jam around the oatmeal and fresh fruit area. Someone needs to help them revamp and reconfigure the serving bar, however the food was okay once you could get to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal

Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel
Country Inn And Suites Orlando Universal
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Country Inn International Drive
Country Inn Orlando
Orlando Country Inn
Address: 7701 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#201 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a family vacation to Florida or a professional business trip, the Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal hotel is a great place to stay. Our Orlando hotel near Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios® and Sea World® theme parks offers a convenient, scheduled shuttle for guests, to ensure your trip is hassle free. We have Orlando hotel rooms and suites for every occasion, and offer a complimentary hot, continental breakfast, outdoor pool, boardroom, Fitness Center and more. With all the perks available at the Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal hotel, there's no better place to stay during your Florida vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.