We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family place to stay but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7701 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #208 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good family place to stay but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during Easter Weekend while visiting Universal Studios. Rooms were clean and service at front desk was good. However, they were understaffed during the busy weekend during breakfast so tables were not being cleared on time and often ran out of food at the buffet. Three guys were working very hard to replenish the food, clean tables, etc but they clearly needed more staff. Breakfast is good but not great (ie. great make your own waffles but reconstituted eggs). During our second night, a toddler next door cried non-stop for 2 hours and we can hear everything....the walls were very thin. We were thankful they checked out the next night because we were going to ask to switch rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    168
    84
    29
    24
See reviews for
193
86
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarenville, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed the the Country Inn & Suites, Orlando from Feb 9-13, 2013. It is a very clean hotel. The breakfast buffett is excellent with hot and cold food. We used the shuttle service to Disney and Universal parks. The only thing that was disappointing was that the pool was not heated and in February, it was too chilly to swim in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is very close to Universal Studios and very convenient if you have a car.
I understand it is always full because of it's proximity to the Studios. It was very clean and the front desk staff welcoming and hospitable. My only negative was the set up of the breakfast serving area. It was hard to get to and around and very chaotic. Plus the breakfast area was meant to be able to accomodate a lot of people but the breakfast serving area was so poorly set up that it was hard to keep people coming and going. There Always seemed to be a log jam around the oatmeal and fresh fruit area. Someone needs to help them revamp and reconfigure the serving bar, however the food was okay once you could get to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This CI & S is in a great location in Orlando. We ended up staying there because a member of our group we were meeting prefers these hotels. The price seemed high for other CI & S's, but for Orlando seemed about average. This hotel is much larger than most other CI & S's, and like the other reviews mentioned, there are a ton of families, the parking is crowded, and breakfast is a circus.

However, we have stayed in a few different places in Orlando, and this was better than several. Although the breakfast was chaotic, kudos to the hotel staff who does a great job of keeping up with it! Like the other reviews, I suggest getting to breakfast by 7:30 or wait until after 9. If you can avoid it, do not go to breakfast between 8 and 8:30, everyone is trying to get their family breakfast before heading to a park. There were many options for a free breakfast, eggs, biscuits and gravy, waffle makers, fruit, cereal and oatmeal with many toppings. Our room was clean, and for the volume of people there, very quiet. Our other party's room was in a loud hall, but even there, things quieted down by 10 PM.

Location- you can see Wet and Wild, Universal- both parks are within 5 minutes, there is a huge outlet mall within 10 minutes. Pirate mini golf within 5 minutes. Great restaurants. And the Disney parks are within 20 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmen, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We thought it was "just ok". Our room was not ready when we tried to check in. Check in time was at 2pm and we got there at 3:30pm. We had to sit in the lobby and wait about 30 minutes. The rooms were clean for the most part and the bed was rather comfortable. We found nail polish and a wrapper by the bed when we got in there. The staff was kind and friendly. The small gift shop was nice and the lady working was very kind. The shower was cold to luke warm every day (mornings and evenings). The breakfast was good, however they frequently were out of things (bread, juice) and you had to ask for them to refill. It was very hectic at breakfast. People are everywhere and it makes the area look very messy with food all over. We were leaving to go to dinner one night and saw a guy putting “flyers” under the guest’s doors. We asked the front desk if they allowed that, he said they did not and he would take care of it. The following 2 nights the same thing happened.. we had flyers under our door when we got back to our room. When the hotel is completely full for the night, the parking lot is a disaster. They did not have enough parking spaces for everyone so people parked where ever they could find a place. We did not go into the pool but it was very small. Overall, it was just ok!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked a couple of rooms for one night via Priceline. Room type was accomodated after the booked room types were not originally given. Rooms were clean, beds were quite comfortable, though the pillows were quite flat. Bathrooms were clean but small, and the sink and vanity were barely over knee high on me, so it was somewhat uncomfortable using those facilities. A quick review of rates at available properties for the night that I stayed showed that this hotel's rates were higher than the Crowne Plaza across the street and the Westin on International Blvd. Good deals can be had for this place on Priceline, but their advertised rates do not seem to be very competitive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was in town for a convention and stayed at this hotel which is pretty close to the convention center. The hotel was nice and very clean, and the quality of the breakfast was above average although not on par with some of the Marriotts I have stayed at. As expected (being close to Universal) the hotel catered to quite a few families with children as could be seen at breakfast which was a bit hectic with the number of people. Overall, however the hotel was very good quality and I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal

Address: 7701 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a family vacation to Florida or a professional business trip, the Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal hotel is a great place to stay. Our Orlando hotel near Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios® and Sea World® theme parks offers a convenient, scheduled shuttle for guests, to ensure your trip is hassle free. We have Orlando hotel rooms and suites for every occasion, and offer a complimentary hot, continental breakfast, outdoor pool, boardroom, Fitness Center and more. With all the perks available at the Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal hotel, there's no better place to stay during your Florida vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Orlando Universal
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Country Inn International Drive
Country Inn Orlando
Orlando Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.