We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat clean hotel and great access to Universal Studios” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7701 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #205 of 328 hotels in Orlando
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Neat clean hotel and great access to Universal Studios”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is very close to Universal Studios and very convenient if you have a car.
I understand it is always full because of it's proximity to the Studios. It was very clean and the front desk staff welcoming and hospitable. My only negative was the set up of the breakfast serving area. It was hard to get to and around and very chaotic. Plus the breakfast area was meant to be able to accomodate a lot of people but the breakfast serving area was so poorly set up that it was hard to keep people coming and going. There Always seemed to be a log jam around the oatmeal and fresh fruit area. Someone needs to help them revamp and reconfigure the serving bar, however the food was okay once you could get to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    155
    77
    25
    21
See reviews for
169
81
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This CI & S is in a great location in Orlando. We ended up staying there because a member of our group we were meeting prefers these hotels. The price seemed high for other CI & S's, but for Orlando seemed about average. This hotel is much larger than most other CI & S's, and like the other reviews mentioned, there are a ton of families, the parking is crowded, and breakfast is a circus.

However, we have stayed in a few different places in Orlando, and this was better than several. Although the breakfast was chaotic, kudos to the hotel staff who does a great job of keeping up with it! Like the other reviews, I suggest getting to breakfast by 7:30 or wait until after 9. If you can avoid it, do not go to breakfast between 8 and 8:30, everyone is trying to get their family breakfast before heading to a park. There were many options for a free breakfast, eggs, biscuits and gravy, waffle makers, fruit, cereal and oatmeal with many toppings. Our room was clean, and for the volume of people there, very quiet. Our other party's room was in a loud hall, but even there, things quieted down by 10 PM.

Location- you can see Wet and Wild, Universal- both parks are within 5 minutes, there is a huge outlet mall within 10 minutes. Pirate mini golf within 5 minutes. Great restaurants. And the Disney parks are within 20 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmen, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We thought it was "just ok". Our room was not ready when we tried to check in. Check in time was at 2pm and we got there at 3:30pm. We had to sit in the lobby and wait about 30 minutes. The rooms were clean for the most part and the bed was rather comfortable. We found nail polish and a wrapper by the bed when we got in there. The staff was kind and friendly. The small gift shop was nice and the lady working was very kind. The shower was cold to luke warm every day (mornings and evenings). The breakfast was good, however they frequently were out of things (bread, juice) and you had to ask for them to refill. It was very hectic at breakfast. People are everywhere and it makes the area look very messy with food all over. We were leaving to go to dinner one night and saw a guy putting “flyers” under the guest’s doors. We asked the front desk if they allowed that, he said they did not and he would take care of it. The following 2 nights the same thing happened.. we had flyers under our door when we got back to our room. When the hotel is completely full for the night, the parking lot is a disaster. They did not have enough parking spaces for everyone so people parked where ever they could find a place. We did not go into the pool but it was very small. Overall, it was just ok!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked a couple of rooms for one night via Priceline. Room type was accomodated after the booked room types were not originally given. Rooms were clean, beds were quite comfortable, though the pillows were quite flat. Bathrooms were clean but small, and the sink and vanity were barely over knee high on me, so it was somewhat uncomfortable using those facilities. A quick review of rates at available properties for the night that I stayed showed that this hotel's rates were higher than the Crowne Plaza across the street and the Westin on International Blvd. Good deals can be had for this place on Priceline, but their advertised rates do not seem to be very competitive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was in town for a convention and stayed at this hotel which is pretty close to the convention center. The hotel was nice and very clean, and the quality of the breakfast was above average although not on par with some of the Marriotts I have stayed at. As expected (being close to Universal) the hotel catered to quite a few families with children as could be seen at breakfast which was a bit hectic with the number of people. Overall, however the hotel was very good quality and I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked in for a week and found the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we had booked was a 1 bedroom with a pull out couch. Felt the living area was a bit bare...maybe it needs another sofa chair for more sitting. Found the rooms a bit dark as well. Yes there were lamps but felt it needed more light - maybe brighter lighting.

We did have one issue - our room was to have a microwave and it was not there. They offered to move us to a different room but in the end, they brought the microwave to us. Also found the fridges to be very small....might even be a bit smaller than a bar fridge. And the pool is not heated.

Breakfast buffet was great. Kept us fed till it was time to eat in the later afternoon. The only suggestion I have, go for it when it first starts around 7am. By 8 am there is no room to sit in the dining area. A couple of times we had to take our food upstairs to our room to eat (this is where the other sofa chair could come in handy).

Housekeeping was great and very friendly. They left the room in better shape than when we walked out the door - especially the bathroom.

Location was nice. Very close to the highway to go to the attractions or even shopping. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

horrible, dirty, unpleasant left after 1 night, there was mold growing in the air conditioner, ants everywhere and the cleaning staff requires training. staff were friendly at counter but the breakfast was very unfriendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are sorry that you have concerns about your experience at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Orlando Universal hotel. Although it is never pleasant to hear when a guest is not satisfied with his or her experience, we do need to be aware of these situations.

We will share your comments with the hotel staff as a learning tool to help improve performance and provide exceptional service to our guests. We want to be able to provide our guests with the best service possible, and feedback from our guests helps us to achieve that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal

Address: 7701 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a family vacation to Florida or a professional business trip, the Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal hotel is a great place to stay. Our Orlando hotel near Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios® and Sea World® theme parks offers a convenient, scheduled shuttle for guests, to ensure your trip is hassle free. We have Orlando hotel rooms and suites for every occasion, and offer a complimentary hot, continental breakfast, outdoor pool, boardroom, Fitness Center and more. With all the perks available at the Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal hotel, there's no better place to stay during your Florida vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Carlson, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Country Inn And Suites Orlando Universal
Country Inn International Drive
Country Inn Orlando
Orlando Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.