We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for a night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7701 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #203 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Decent for a night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We arrived on a Saturday night about 10 PM to witness a lot of police activity on International Drive and on Universal Blvd ( in front of and nearby the hotel). The downstairs of the hotel became the resting area for 6 Orlando police officers. A strange sight, but a reminder that we were in the city. If there was trouble outside, there definitely was a sense of security on the inside.

Check in was very efficient and desk staff were friendly and welcoming.
Room was very ordinary with older décor, but suited our needs for the night.
Climate control was ok, flat screen TV worked fine, bed was a bit too soft
The room and common areas were clean.

Hot & cold breakfast was provided in the lobby area consisting of eggs, sausage patty, cereals and pastry. Quality was just okay. If you arrive at the wrong time, expect to wait for a table to be vacated, and cleaned and for food to be replenished. In other words, the breakfast staff was not very efficient or effective.

This hotel is a convenient 3 minute drive to Universal.

This is a decent hotel for a night or 2 and priced well.

Room Tip: A room at the end of the floor will be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We always want our guests to feel secure and always encourage our local authorities to stop by for a cup of coffee when they are in the area. We do hope that the next time you are visiting our area, you will return to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    213
    114
    41
    31
See reviews for
263
112
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For ten years we booked Country Inn & suites Lake Buena Vista, but sadly they changed their name and franchise, We tried Country Inn & Suites Universal, this is a mirror hotel like Buena Vista, It was nice, moderate clean rooms, you can still find some tags and plastics from previous guests, but not big deal, bathroom was clean. but we REALLY missed the small refrigerator. Internet was fine. Hotel location is good but kind of lonely since it doesnt have anything around only forest and raccoons which were nice and expecting us every night for food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We currently have microwaves and refrigerators in our suites but are in the process of adding them to all of our guest rooms. We do hope that the next time you are in our area, you will return to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Called and was pleased they could get us in early and then they even came close to meeting our rate. Room was clean and the beds were comfy. Breakfast was ok. And right down the street from Universal - so super easy access. Could hear the folks in the hallway, but.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We do hope that the next time you are in our area, you will return to visit us again. We look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed during Christmas vacation and I will never do that again. Hotel was sold out due to Citrus Bowl or football game. Arrival and departure at service desk went smoothly and hotel staff seemed very nice. They have a desk which sells tickets to the parks and there is a hotel shuttle which favors Disney parks but odd times to SeaWorld. We had a rental car but traffic was horendous at this time of year. We actually bought tickets to the Green Line Trolley. it was usually a 30 min wait but we rode it to SeaWorld since it had better times. The Red Line Trolley runs on I-drive every 20 minutes so we would walk a few blocks and take that to eating places. It was easier to get around on. There is nothing fancy about breakfast and you have to fight the crowds and hope for a table. I think people come off the street and eat. Some days we just brought it to our room. Usually they served sausage and scrambled eggs that were luke warm. There was some oatmeal and a couple cereal selections with a few muffins and break for toast and a waffle maker if you want to stand in line for a long time. People were rude also and kids running everywhere. They had an outdoor pool which we never used because people were standing there smoking and due to allergies I need to avoid smoke. It was also smoky on the 5th floor as we got off the elevator but this hotel claims to be a non smoking hotel. There is a little gift shop which has a good selection of items. The internet access is free but extremely slow. There is one computer near the front desk that is available to use if the kids aren't on it. They have free cookies in the evening by the front desk. I used free hotel points for our stay but I don't think I would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same. High floors always have better views and less noise from kids running...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regaridng your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear of the problems that you experienced with the crowds on Christmas week. It is definitely our busiest time of year. We do hope that the next time you are in the area, you will return to visit us and we are able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel was not clean. When we checked into our room there was garbage and food on the floor. Next to our bed there was candy on the floor and their was big muffin crumbs in the living room. There was also gum smashed into the carpet that isn't going to be coming out of the carpet anytime soon. Our bathroom had hair in the tub, floor and sink area. The elevators were dirty also, with sticky floors and smears on the walls. I was really disappointed. If a hotel isn't clean it doesn't matter how great the location or prices are. I wouldn't recommend staying here...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience with us. We take each of our guest comments seriously and want you to know that we are concerned with the experience you had. This is certainly not up to our expectations and we will work to ensure that this is immediately corrected and will not happen again. I do hope that the next time you are in the Central Florida area you will return to visit us so that you can see that your experience is not one that we expect and have worked to correct the issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Now I read these reviews and take most with a grain of salt however this place was so disappointing. FIrst the elevator smelled of strong cigarette smoke! Scratched in graffiti inside of the elevators - so ghetto!! Hallways were dirty and not vacuumed!! Room was old and was not clean up to the normal standards of a Country Inn and Suites. Dingy bathroom which put you in the mind of the Bates Motel, all that was missing was a bad flickering. We were supposed to stay for two days, we ended up checking out and going over to the Radisson Inn which is a world of difference. The tub had hairs in it along with matching hairs in the towels!!! To top off the stay at this horrible hotel, there was no staff at the desk for so long I had to call the number to the hotel (which rang and rang) just to check out of the flea bag place!!! No apology or acknowledgement at all!!!! My advice, go anywhere else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am so very sorry to hear of the experience you had while staying at our hotel. It is always our goal that our guests are satisfied and the experience that you had troubles me greatly. Please know that I have taken your comments seriously and am addressing them with each of the department heads so that this does not occur again. It is certainly helpful when our guests give us feedback so that we are able to continually improve our hotel. I again apologize for your experience and hope that if you are in the area again, you will return to visit us so that we can show you that the experience you had is not one that is typical of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is very close to Universal, probably a 10 min drive. It is also about 20 min to Disney. They have a shuttle, but we never used it. The price is excellent with free parking and breakfast. The rooms were clean though the bathroom was a little dated, with some rust around the tub. I am only 5’2” and the bathroom sink seemed very low to me. The breakfast is ok, nothing special. You need to get there early or late as it is very crowded and hard to find a seat. The one down side we had was the internet service. It is very slow and sometime was down. I was able to hook on to the hotel next to us easier than this one. Also make sure at night you look at the garbage bin in the far corner of the parking lot as there is a family of raccoons that dine there nightly. They sit on top of the bin eating and staring at people, very cute.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience at our hotel. It is always our goal that each guest is happy when they leave our hotel. We have contacted our internet company regarding your experience and they are checking to be sure that the connectivity issues you had are corrected. We hope that the next time you are in our area, you will return to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal

Address: 7701 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a family vacation to Florida or a professional business trip, the Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal hotel is a great place to stay. Our Orlando hotel near Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios® and Sea World® theme parks offers a convenient, scheduled shuttle for guests, to ensure your trip is hassle free. We have Orlando hotel rooms and suites for every occasion, and offer a complimentary hot, continental breakfast, outdoor pool, boardroom, Fitness Center and more. With all the perks available at the Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal hotel, there's no better place to stay during your Florida vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Orlando Universal
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Country Inn International Drive
Country Inn Orlando
Orlando Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.