We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. Don't read negative reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista

Save Saved
You added Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1751 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER RATES FROM $99
Ranked #118 of 328 hotels in Orlando
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel. Don't read negative reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I extended my trip to Disney and needed to find a new hotel that could accommodate six guests. I was cautious about Hilton Buena Vista given some negative reviews. I'm very glad I didn't let those reviews impact my decision. This hotel is in a great location across the street from downtown Disney. The rooms were clean and spacious. Perfect for my family with 4 kids. The hotel lobby is nice with great kids breakfast (Micky waffles) and a late night convenience shore. The staff is friendly and all the amenities you would expect from Hilton. Great stay, great value, great location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    717
    883
    336
    137
    67
See reviews for
874
420
54
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Let's start with the positive--the location is very convenient if you want to be near Downtown Disney. You can leave your car parked at the hotel and walk, avoiding hunting for a parking space in the DD parking lot (by dinner time the lots in DD are jammed). The room was spacious. We requested a room at the end of the hall and it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable, but it was not a true king (as advertised), it was narrower and shorter than a true U.S. king. The staff we encountered was good.

On the downside, the room was dark, even though there were several lamps and a couple of ceiling lights. The lamps all appeared to have the new energy-efficient light bulbs. The lighting in the desk area of the room, and to a certain extent the bathroom, too, was not adequate.

Regarding the bathroom, it is showing some wear and could use some help. It is quite a small room, definitely a one-person room. On the plus side, the shower is good and the tub is clean.

I would recommend this hotel based only on its location near Downtown Disney.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesGrosso, General Manager at Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the noisy appliances and outside traffic. Your comments will help us to improve our guest experience and we appreciate that you notified us. However, I'm terribly sorry for the inconvenience. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,
James Grosso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Booked a room for 3 nights. Was given a corner unit. Door had to be slammed to close. Room looked old and cramped. If you have more than 2 very small suitcases, it will be hard to move around. As an example, the small fridge was literally next to one of the beds because there's no where else to place so you could hear it humming as you try to sleep. Room was also noisy from the traffic outside and whatever equipment ran at the time. Not sure if they are all like this. A/C wasn't working at first. This was at at 1AM. Lady at the front desk wasn't too friendly at that time and seemed annoyed when I brought up the issues with the room. Manager in the morning said that she would transfer me to a different room. I hope it will be better this time. We'll see.

Pros
Great location. Just across Downtown Disney. Staff in general was friendly and helpful except for one or two. Shuttle bus to the park picks up from this hotel first before going to the other 3 more hotels.

Cons
Bad traffic being across downtown Disney. Corner unit room was terrible. Avoid room 812 if you can.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nice hotel with two major benefits: (a) good price for the location and (b) access to extended morning and evening hours at the Disney parks. This is advertised as the only non-Disney hotel affording its guests use of the additional hours. Arriving early is the key to enjoying any Disney park, especially if you plan to ride the more popular rides. Beginning at mid-day, the lines are excessive, even in the off-season. Stay in a Disney hotel if you can afford it, as the atmosphere is wonderful in each of the Disney hotels at which I have stayed. This one works well if you need two or more rooms. Nice staff, clean rooms, good service. I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was a very nice facility, with excellent service and wonderful people helping make a holiday Disney vacation go smoothly. From check-in to check-out and throughout the stay the people were exceptionally helpful with questions, insight and suggestions. Maggie checked us in, and with a plethora of things they do for you, from transportation, to breakfast to scheduling, she prepared us for a plan to utilize the benefits of staying on Disney property such as magic hours, to using my Hilton status for breakfast etc. The room was nicely appointed. Yes, the bathroom is a bit small, but the room itself was nice, comfortable and roomy. Perfect for a Disney recovery room. Access to the parks via transportation provided by the hotels was very timely and again, the drivers were helpful when needed. Downtown Disney shopping is basically across the street. Dining on site has multiple good options from the quick market to quality dinners. The only thing I would suggest (and it didn't apply to us) is that the weekend Hilton Honors breakfast was in a loud setting. I would make sure that you don't get a room close to that area of that floor. It was a loud walking towards it from several rooms away. We were on the other end of that floor, so it wasn't an issue, but I have read accounts where it was, and I can see why.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed starting 12/16/12 for three nights. Stayed here before in 2011. Everything was ok with our stay to begin with. But a major mishap with the phone system caused four wake up calls at 4 am on the morning of the 18th. I was here on business and this was unacceptable. Called to complain and was accused by the operator that I set up the wake up calls. When I had set up the wake up calls for the 17th they told me they could not do multiple wake up calls so the four time wake up call on the next day was impossible for me to set up. Anyhow this went unresolved.

Had another reservation for four nights starting on 12/21/12. Due to the fact that I could not cancel nor change without penalty, and we had put in one nights deposit, we decided to make stay short to only one night and check out early. As long as we told them by check out time they would not charge early departure fee. Told front desk about incident on the 18th and although they apologized, they were not interested in hearing about it or solving it. So I'm ok now to take my business somewhere else.

Fees (parking, resort) are annoying. This is a hotel that allow the extra magic hours at disney so that might work for you. But beware that employees seem to not care.

I am HHonors Gold and did get free water, internet, and breakfast. During the Christmas time-frame they do hold the breakfast in a larger room in the lobby. But only access is during breakfast hours (7-11 am). Meats change each day so if you like one kind, your are out of luck. Soda's are available but only Sprite and Sprite Zero. Selections are basic continental with choice of one meat (changes daily), eggs, and potatoes.

Finally bed in our room was too soft and felt like it was falling apart.

Room Tip: Upgrades to jr. suites do not offer park views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesGrosso, General Manager at Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I'm terribly sorry to hear about the series of mishaps you experienced while staying with us. I'm reviewing your comments with our team to investigate why you may have received 4 consecutive calls and I apologize if it seemed like we were not initially receptive to your feedback. We pride ourselves in great service and clearly missed the mark this time. We appreciate your loyalty as a rewards member and can assure you we value all of our guests business and support. Thank you for alerting us about your experience so we can improve and we hope that you will come back and see tell us how we're doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SligoIreland44
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just back from another wonderful stay at the Hilton Orlando. On arrival we were checked in with ease, the reception staff were very helpful - there was a group of 8 of us and they accommodated us all on the same floor. We were accommodated in a lovely king room (albeit the next day as they were sold out on arrival). The location of this hotel is great for Downtown Disney and also the bus to the Florida Mall. We had breakfast in Covington Mill Restaurant most mornings and the staff were so friendly, no request was too much - I couldn't recommend them highly enough, also the staff in the 24 hour store were also really nice. This was a return trip for us and unbelievably the restaurant staff and convenience store staff remembered us, which was really nice. We went to the concierge for help in booking trips/advice etc and she was more than helpful with all our requests. The hotel provides transport to all the Disney Parks and will arrange transport to Universal (the Concierge again) if like us you do not wish to drive (at a charge of course). There is also a free shuttle to the Outlet Mall which runs a couple of times a day and this proved great for us. There are 2 large pools and 2 hot tubs which we used most mornings before breakfast. Also the gym is great. Overall we had a great stay and would highly recommend this Hilton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesGrosso, General Manager at Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. We have a great team that we are very proud of. We do hope that you get to visit with us again very soon. Thank you for recommending the Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista

Address: 1751 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#32 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#47 Business Hotel in Orlando
#85 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#118 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Extra Magic Hours hotel, guests of the Hilton enjoy an extra hour early or three extra hours in the evening at select WALT DISNEY WORLD theme parks. Relax in two outdoor, heated swimming pools, children's spray pool or tropical outdoor spa. Savor a variety of cuisines at one of the seven restaurants and lounges, including the world famous Benihana's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton In Walt Disney World Hotel Orlando
Hilton Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Hilton Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.