We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, worn, & tired Extended Stay property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Orlando - Southpark - Equity Row

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Orlando - Southpark - Equity Row to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Southpark - Equity Row
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 Equity Row, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #231 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Union City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Old, worn, & tired Extended Stay property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed here a couple nights, since I had to stay in Orlando extra days due to bad weather back up in the Northeast. I got a great rate via Priceline, but was a bit concerned once I started reading the TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel appeared to be built sometime in the late 1990s and hasn't been updated since then. The carpeting, kitchen, furniture, etc all showed moderate age and wear & tear. Extended Stay really needs to invest in this property to bring it up to 2014 standards, otherwise it'll be stuck at its current budget motel-level standards. The staff was nice & helpful & the laundry facilities were useful. The only catch was that after I put 4 quarters into the laundry detergent vending machine, nothing came out. After complaining to the front desk, they gave me one of their spare detergent packets. The free breakfast was quite basic, having coffee, breakfast bars, & oatmeal packets (no protein items). On the plus side, the wi-fi was free and a good connection. Also the pool area was a bit worn, however the heated water made it nice for a quick dip. Since I got a good rate via Priceline I'd say I'm satisfied with my stay, but I would not pay full price for a room here, unless they went through a major refurbishment.

Room Tip: Get a 3rd floor room, so you don't hear footsteps and banging above you when you try to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orlando - Southpark - Equity Row, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
David - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our helpful staff, free Wi-Fi and our laundry facilities. Still, I apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast and the overall condition of our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback will be very helpful as we continue to improve our guest experience. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at sor@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    27
    13
    18
See reviews for
38
19
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is one of the most horrible experiences I’ve had after booking a hotel. I was excited about my New Years Eve reservations at Universal and decided to use priceline’s help me find a suitable hotel. I checked in at the Extended Stay America - Orlando - Southpark - Equity Row hotel around 9pm and when I opened the door to the room it reeked of cigarette smoke. The room was so dirty, the chair had what looked like blood stains on it! There were multiple stains on the sheets and pillows the room was just so filthy I knew I couldn’t sleep there even for one night!! At that point I immediately went to the desk and complained, I was told they had nothing else available, I asked for my money back and to check me out, she took my key and replied that I had to contact priceline for a refund and I checked out! It was a huge inconvenience to have to take time out of the night to secure another hotel room before going to the park. I would never stay at this place ever again I was extremely disappointed!

Room Tip: Avoid this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have stayed in quite a few Extended Stay hotels. I like them because they are cheap and no frills but clean and safe. This one is a lower standard than any I have stayed in before. I will say the staff was always pleasant. One night at 2:30AM (in December!) 8 adults were partying in the pool. This involved a lot ot screaming and loud laughter. I called the desk and they took care of it. What I didn't like was the smell of everything. Hallways just smelled bad. My room smelled like old chinese food for the 9 days I was there. Also everything was the cheapest quality possible. The bed was so hard I considered sleeping on the floor - it actually felt like there were metal bars in places on the surface of the matress. The counter top was not attached to the "facing" (?) of the cabinet in the bathroom - there was at least an inch gap. It had no dishwasher. The breakfast was granola bars, muffins and coffee. Worst - this is a very inconvenient location. Will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orlando - Southpark - Equity Row, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The challenges you described are not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am committed to making sure the hallways are monitored on a week to week basis as well as the upkeep.

I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at sor@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

all thumbs down. would not, will not recommend this chain (Extended Stay) to anyone else. there really isn't really much more to say, other than what I have written in the comments section. just beware when making you're plans to stay here.

Room Tip: Pre-screen your room first!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The staff here makes an above and beyond effort to make me feel at home and the facility is always clean. The fact that they take animals makes it even better, as on occasion I have my sons and grand-dogs join me...

Room Tip: Folks come and go, so if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the exit doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place is not the cleanest, my room smelt like a wet dog, the hallway walls and carpet need a lot of attention, not well maintained at all, the price and the grab-and-go breakfast was the only positive.

Room Tip: read the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilgore, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

thumbs up for 3 night stay........my wife and i enjoyed our king suite room with a good kitchen for enjoying a quiet dinner for 2.......we were not disappointed any.......everything was clean and comfortable.......also, we were by wal-mart, good for our dinner.......we swam in the pool and relaxed while having fun swimming...this hotel is highly recommended by us...

Room Tip: alot of walking in rooms, good floor space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Orlando - Southpark - Equity Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Orlando - Southpark - Equity Row

Address: 4101 Equity Row, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Orlando - Southpark - Equity Row 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestead Studio Suites Orlando - John Young Parkway features 134 studio suites with a fully equipped kitchen, free wifi, expanded cable television, free local calls and voicemail service. Amenities include an outdoor swimming pool and guest laundry facility. The hotel is conveniently located in between the Airport and all major theme parks plus the Orlando Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Orlando - Southpark - Equity Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Orlando - John Young Parkway Hotel Orlando
Homestead Orlando
Homestead Suites Orlando
Extended Stay America Orlando
Orlando Homestead Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Orlando - Southpark - Equity Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.