We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid basic suite hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8745 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #63 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“solid basic suite hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2006

I stayed here last weekend and found this to be a good choice.

Location is very good. Close to Universal and Sea World. They have shuttle service available (reservations required). Close to the convention center. Lots of reasonable restaurants around the hotel (avoid Friendly's: filty bathrooms and dining area). Short drive to the outlets (Prime was boring. Premium very good) and Millenia and Florida Malls.

Room was a standard extended stay suite set up. Fridge, coffee maker (1 packet makes 3 cups and you get 2 packets of regular and decaf. Tea as well), kitchen supplies, free wi fi (sometimes cuts out), local calls at .75, Very clean. Housekeeping did forget to replace the towels one day and to replace the dish soap another day. Free USA Today at your door in the morning. Safe (too small for my laptop). Bed was comfortable. As previously mentioned the Air Con can be noisy. Used the ceiling fan in the bedroom one night.

My main trivial issue was we received a letter under our door 3 nights in a row about them replacing the toilet in our room the next day and they never did replace it. Looks like they were working on our level on check out day. Minor nuisance just making sure our stuff was out of the way.

Good Breakfast set up. Did catch some of the Managers reception one night that was just OK but hey it is free so I can not complain! Love the fish tank, great way to wind down.

Staff was OK. Some of them were very hard to understand but we made do. No horror stories here.

As also mentioned previously you do not stay here for the pool, hot tub, or health facilities. Parking at the front could be hard to find on some days, no problems on others.

This is a good solid hotel choice for families, business people, and convention goers that want to be somewhat self sufficient.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    720
    355
    124
    46
    32
See reviews for
593
231
35
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

We just returned from the Homewood Suites. What a treat! The rooms were big, 2 TV's, kitchen area with appliances, even a toaster. Also including dishes and utensils. The breakfast was fantastic. Much more than I expected. Pancakes. Frenchtoast, eggs, potatoes, pastrys, meat, yogurt, waffles, fruit, and much more. You save a fortune with the free breakfast. Also there is the evening reception, we were never there for that. Maid service excellent, staff excellent. Pool was great, hot tub great. The pool does get sun, you just have to sit in that area. It was not crowded at all when we were there. There is tons of stores, places to eat in walking distance. We took their shuttle to Magic Kingdom, with a return time of 10:15, which was nice, plenty of time to see the fireworks. I will be staying at the Homewood Suites from now on. You just can't go wrong staying here!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

utterley brilliant cant wait to go back

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2006

I don't understand what the other reviewers see in this hotel...staff loves to say "no". Rooms are okay, but there are many other okay rooms in Orlando with better service.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

After seeing all the brilliant reviews on this site I booked this hotel and we were not disappointed at all. The staff are very friendly and on our first day a message was left on the phone checking that everything was ok. We had no trouble at all booking the shuttles for the parks, but it was January and not busy anyway. Having two rooms with a kitchen was luxury, I always wake up earlier than my daughter and it was great to be able to go into the other room to make a coffee and put the light on to read without having to disturb her. The breakfast was great, make your own waffles, cereal, french toast, fruit toast, bacon, eggs etc, we never got bored with it. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billingham teesside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2006

Having read through some of the reviews of this fab hotel, I came across one that was just awful. All I can say to this is, I think they were talking about a different hotel. This place was wonderful. The Staff from the front desk to the cleaning lady were wonderful. Nothing was to much trouble. They were brilliant with our little boy, first name terms by the time we left!! The cleaning lady was fantastic, she even apologised and said she would come back one morning because we were still in the room at 10.30. She even made a little game of putting my little boys soft toys in different positions in the room, ie, we came home one day and found them sitting on the window ledge looking out as if watching for us coming back and once they were sat around with some of Joshs little cars as though playing with them. It certainly made it fun to come 'home' to. The breakfasts were fantastic, with everything you could wish for. I made my own waffles and then Dad found out that you could request fried eggs (or over easy eggs!!) and didn't just have to have scrambled. We only used the pool once but liked the fact that it was clean and tidy, albeit shaded to much for our liking. Brilliantly situated on I-Drive, close to a multiplex cinema and shopping mall. Driving was simple and easy to the major parks, Seaworld was just 5 mins away. Very quiet, even though our room looked out onto the main parking area, we were not disturbed at all. We stayed over Thanksgiving and there were no problems with rowdiness or anything like that. A highlight for Josh was when the Knights of the Round Table joined us for breakfast (yes they were trying to sell you tickets for the dinner show just up the road but there was no hassle and if you didn't wish to go they still would take time to talk to you and let the little ones have thier photos taken if they so wished.)
We were even informed that because the computer was broken in the main area, we were welcome to use the one in the office behind check-in. I thought this was brilliant and did use the service.
The only gripe we had was that our tour operator had booked the wrong rooms, we had one king size bed for 3 adults and when the hotle changed it to two queen size beds we had to pay more money for the bigger room. This was not Homewoods fault however and they were very quick and patient with us. Phone calls were made to our room to make sure everything was okay and Juan, (he must live there 24/7) was brilliant when our fan stopped working, especially when it turned out to be OUR fault!! He had it fixed and running within an hour of us reporting it. No problems with the A/C and certainly never had any noise with it at all.
Oh yes one more thing, can't really report on the Managers Specials, we only managed to get home in time once, but on that occasion there was plenty to choose from if you liked the theme for the evening, and who's complaining when it's for free!!
Would I go back........Definatly!!!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2006

The hotel is conveniently located on International Drive near Universal Studios in an area with many shops and restaurants. The hotel was comfortable and our room was well appointed. We enjoyed the breakfast and the staff was friendly.
The only complaint that I have was that the free shuttle, that was advertised on-line and one of the factors that we based the reservation on, left at 8:00 AM and you had to have made prior arrangements to ride it. Arriving on a Friday night, we were't aware of this until after the fact the next day. Also, the tickets to the theme parks that were sold in the lobby, weren't available after a certain time during the day. Since we hadn't been to Orlando for several years, it would have been nice to have known this in advance for the purpose of planning. Fortunately, The Visitors Center is nearby and we purchased our advanced tickets from there.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center

Address: 8745 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#56 Business Hotel in Orlando
#65 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/ Hotel Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Orlando Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites International Drive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.