We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with grandkids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8745 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #32 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Escazu, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with grandkids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Location on International Drive. Very clean hotel and the kitchen is a plus for snacks and drinks for the kids....Included was a buffet every morning, which included most items...The lobby also has a place to buy Park tickets and a shuttle to the parks. The staff was extremely helpful and professional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart b, Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments we really appreciate the feedback. You can be assured that these will be posted on the employee bulletin board for all to see. Again thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites Orlando International Dr. Convention Center and we value you as a Homewood Suites Orlando International Dr Convention Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    386
    133
    50
    33
See reviews for
690
268
36
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This Homewood suite is hard to find. Not really "Convention Center" location. About 2 miles from the Convention Center. INternational Drive is a better description, and the property is tucked back in with a small parking lot that is difficult to find spots at night, and very dark. I wasn't comfortable in the parking lot at night alone. There is very limited parking in the front of the building. Most parking is on the side and back of property. There is security, however, seemed mostly like parking guards to keep people from using hotel parking while dining in the neighborhood.

The staff is friendly and accomodating. The room I had was what I think of as a turn around. Open the door and the first instinct is to turn around and go back to the desk. The first thing I noted was a huge spot on the carpet, which didn't leave me with that "home again" feeling I like when staying with hilton, and especially with Homewood Suites. Everything was fine as I inspected the room. I checked in late, so the turn around wasn't a great option, as typically hotel availablity during this time of year isn't great late at night. No big surprises on the room. Couch was a little frayed, but everything still looked fairly new. Except the carpet, which needs replacing. Outlets were hard to find. Charging electronics is part of life, and hotels need to upgrade their electric to include outlet lamps, and / or usb port outlets.
Breakfast was fine, but busy.

Hotel amenities are adequate, gym, and pool. Pool is actually bigger than most Homewood suites. Rooms spacious.

Can't say enough about the staff. After a long day at the Convention Center and dealing with traffic and people walking along I drive, I came back to find my daughters stuffed animal tucked in for bed, cute as could be, and all was forgiven. This is the kind of service I expect from my Hilton. (see photos). I think I would stay at the Hilton walking distance from the convention center in the future.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed quiet. OUrs was off the pool and still no problem with sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart b, Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize that the room and furnishing were not of the high standards we expect.

We want our guest to have the best stay possible where everything is like new, in-place, of the highest quality, and in perfect working order. I am sorry if that was not the case during your stay. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns, so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Another great stay with Homewood Suites.

The hotel is clean, located in a good area within walking distance to many restaurants, attractions, and a short drive to Disney, Sea World, and Universal.

The suites are large, clean, and comfortable.

We had no complaints with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is for all intensive puposes nice. It ticks a lot of boxes, firstly great location loads of restaurants, shops, bars etc... within a couple of minutes walk, Complimentary breakfast has a good choice that should cater for the masses, the complimentary busses to all the major theme parks were good and our king size bed was awesomely comfy and ive never seen a refrigerator quite so big in my life!!

We found this hotel great for our needs as we were travelling without a car and Sea world & Universal could be reached on the I trolley which ran every 20 minutes and the stops about a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Plus the free transfers to all the parks also helped if you were happy to stick to their times, plus youve got TGI fridays, Dave & Busters, Tony Romas, freindlys, Denys, senor frogs and loads of other restaurants within minutes.

On the flip side however and these are by no means huge negatives but just some areas imporvements could be made.

The complimentary snacks served in the evening were hit and miss the fajitas were good the chicken nugget and raviolli night was just weird, plus serving alcoholic drinks in small plastic cups is just cheap and tacky stop it right now and go get yourself some beer & wine glasses.

The aircon & refrigerator were noisy especially if you were sleeping on the pullout couch in the living area. We moved rooms and the second was quieter hower marginally.

The pool only gets the sun between about 11 am and 3pm hardly the hotels fault but could be a deal breaker none the less if your chasing that florida sunshine. To counter this we had Aquatica tickets and treated this as our resort pool spending 4 out of our 9 days there chilling on the beach.

This hotel desperatly needs a bar, we went for leisure but those on conferences were asking us where the bar was and were as surprised as us they didnt have one.

Would I stay again, yes in a heartbeat although if i'm honest I will be looking for a property with a more resort style pool for our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The room was nice, clean, and well appointed. The couch and chair in the main room was pretty well clapped out. The internet connection was very slow, only managed about 200K bps, hardly fast enough to get my mail and not nearly fast enough to stream any video or do a remote connection to the office. The room itself was a good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart b, Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments we really appreciate the feedback. I really appreciate your taking the time to share your recent experience. I want to personally apologize for your disappointment with internet service.

We want our guests to have the best stay possible where everything is in perfect working order and meets their expectations. I am sorry if that was not the case during your stay. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were. We are in the process of upgrading the bandwidth on our wireless internet. It is schedule to be upgraded in the week of June 3rd 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Aside from the quality and flare you expect from the Homewood brand, this location neither fail to impress nor exceeded expectations. Breakfast and dinner were warm and sustaining. The coffee, surprisingly at Starbucks quality. And of course free booze at dinner is always a plus. The only ding, which maintenance could not resolve during my stay, was the unintentional bidet effect caused by a neighboring room flushing their toilet; caution to those in room 518.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Good: okay hotel, great food, great people, great location, quiet, comfortable beds

Bad: Place is a little threadbare, with worn carpet, an outlet that didn't work, icemaker didn't work, inadequate numbers of outlets for today's technology. None of those though were deal breakers.

But the internet was a deal breaker - very poor coverage, very slow, dropped a couple times in the middle of working.

An okay place, if you don't need internet - if you do, best to look somewhere else.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart b, Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize that the room and furnishing were not of the high standards we expect.

We want our guest to have the best stay possible where everything is like new, in-place, of the highest quality, and in perfect working order. I am sorry if that was not the case during your stay. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns, so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center

Address: 8745 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/ Hotel Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Orlando Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites International Drive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.