We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understaffed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hawkers Asian Street Fare

Hawkers Asian Street Fare
1103 North Mills Avenue, Orlando, FL 32803
(407) 237-0606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 3,178 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Understaffed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Walked in. Sat down. Waited 8 minutes for just a menu. Waited five more minutes to be asked if we wanted water. Got up and left. Not sure what the deal was. Didn't stick around to ask. Staff didn't seem to have a grasp on the busy atmosphere.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    57
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I live in the area and had read about Hawker's, so my daughter and I decided to give it a try. We are so glad we did! Be sure to ask for Eric, he provided exceptional service and some good pointers on how to traverse the menu. Diners can choose from small plates or traditional full serve plates. We shared a number of dishes...Asian wings and the udon noodle stir-fry were standouts! Would not hesitate to recommend and will come back often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I was looking for different and new places to try. Saw this place had good reviews and decided to check it out as well. I was not disappointed, at all! Our waiter Erik was very helpful. He reccommended the Roti Canai...OMG he did not disappoint us with that reccomendation. My girlfriend went with the South Asia Chicken Curry and she fell in love with it. She has been looking for good curry since she left Japan and she finally found a place. I had the Fish fillets in black bean sauce and it was wonderful. We shared the Yangzhou Chow Faan rice and loved it as well. We loved the prices and we will be going there frequently once we move down there in June.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL, USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“BEST MALAYSIAN FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I lived in Kuala Lumpur for three years, and whenever we travel to a big city where they might have Malaysian/Singaporean food, we seek the place out. Well, imagine my surprise when such a place opened up right here in my hometown of Orlando, Florida. (Not a lot of Malaysians live in Central Florida!) Roti canai, curry laksa, mee, etc., it's all so good.

If you know Malaysian food, you'll be surprised at how good the food is. If you don't know Malaysian food, then let me suggest that if there are 2 of you, you should EACH order roti canai (a sort of fried bread with curry) and then share an order of any of the noodles (mee) and an order of the curry laksa.

I just wish they had nasi lemak (coconut rice with spicy sambal paste) or chicken rendang on the menu. But we love, love, love this food!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's like enjoying street truck food in the comfort of a restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

So many food choices that everyone is sure to find something they like. I also love sharing food and getting to try a little bit of everything and their small plates are purfect for this. They also have a really great beer selection!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawkers Asian Street Fare also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Hawkers Asian Street Fare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawkers Asian Street Fare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.