We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice after Christmas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Pop Century Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Pop Century Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Pop Century Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1050 Century Drive, Lake Bueno Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
NAPLES,FL
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice after Christmas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are Florida residents, and even though we knew Disney World was going to be a full house, we decided to spend a few days at Pop Century to get a little bit of the magic (and madness) that is Disney at Christmas time without having to visit the parks. We've stayed here before and I have to say it hasn't change much. The landscape is manicured, the common areas are bright and open, the cast members for the most part are very attentive but impersonal, the rooms don't really scream Disney as there is little in them to remind you that is a Disney hotel. They are on the small side and basic, however we found the beds to be actually comfortable. The food court is kind of chaotic, expensive (Disney standard) with plenty of unhealthy choices. They also have room service with even more basic choices than the food court. You do get the convenience of Disney transportation which is actually a plus and is very well run, and the WiFi worked actually very good. One of the new things and probably the one I enjoyed the most is the walking path that rounds the hourglass shape lake in the back of the resort on one side is the Pop Century and on the other is the new Art of Animation hotel. Not that I'm a health buff by any means but there is something about walking and running surrounded by such pretty landscape. You don't have to walk around the lake though to get to the new AoA hotel as there is a bridge that connects both hotels. Overall it was another great stay at the Pop Century, it is a basic hotel with basic services and a few very good perks (free parking, free WiFi, Disney transportation) and doesn't try to be more than that, Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,202
    2,472
    780
    245
    119
See reviews for
3558
872
88
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,034)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just had 21 days at Pop Century Florida (27.11.12-18.12.12), our second time at this resort, food court is well organised but can be messy late in the evenings, transport to parks is excellent usually a 20 minute wait, Would highly recommend that visitors also go from the parks to other Disney hotels and experience their gift shops and restaurants, especially if you are thinking of upgrading next time - The Polynesian is a complete experience in itself, cascading waterfalls in the lobby, fire lit beaches at night, and at 9.00 each evening there is the Electrical Light Water Pageant - take your cam corder! Pop Century did dissapoint as our Little Blue Book sent to us from Disney said that we would have Tea and Coffee facilities in the room - there is not, and when we questioned this staff said it was a printing error and suggested we hire a car and buy a kettle from Walmarts! Not good enough Disney.

Room Tip: All rooms are in easy walking distance to the main reception area (where you also catch park buses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We brought in the New Year 2013 at Magic Kingdom and celebrated our daughter's 21st birthday. One of the busiest seasons to go! We stayed at Pop Century Resort in the 1950's section.

Transportation to the resort is free on the Disney Magical Express, but the buses are crowded. We made reservations with Sunray Transportation for round-trip to and from the airport. It's expensive, $70 RT plus tip, but worth it. No waiting or riding on a crowded bus, and a nice smooth ride in an SUV. Our driver and owner Bob was waiting for us at baggage pick-up on time, loaded our luggage, took shortcuts and avoided the heaviest traffic, and got us to our hotel quickly. Same on the return trip to the airport. Bob was always early and we never had to wait for him. We used Sunray also for a trip to Universal Orlando. No free buses from the resorts for Universal Orlando. A taxi round-trip to Universal Orlando will cost about $70 plus tip.

The Pop Century Resort accommodations were average, but this was a value resort, so we expected no frills. We didn't spend much time in our rooms. We had two rooms next to each other so we opened the inside doors between our rooms so we could hear and see the kids. Rooms were clean. We always had fresh towels when we returned from the park and our beds were always made. Grounds were always clean and free of litter. Resort was quiet at night.

Our rooms were close to the lobby. Staff was friendly, helpful and answered all of our questions. There is a souvenir store inside the main lobby and a cafe with late hours. You can can something to eat from 6am to midnight. Beware! The food tastes OK but it's extremely expensive and the helpings are small. Expect to pay $50 per dining activity for a family of 5.

Bus transportation is free to all parks and downtown Disney but not to Universal Orlando. Buses run about every 20 minutes and were packed most of the trips.

Out trip was tiring and expensive but wonderful! If you intend to visit during holidays and peak times, expect long lines, long waits, and lots of tourists. Magic Kingdom planned to stop letting folks in at 11am New Year's Eve because they reached capacity early. Trust me it was packed and elbow to elbow standing room only.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Generally, this resort is a good deal. The place has a lot of character and the cafeteria is convenient. It was really nice to have complementary transportation to and from the airport. I was not pleased with the room cleaning service. They didn't really take care of the room well, which didn't bother me too much until I came back to the room late at night and the door of my room was open, not shut all the way. We had made a point of making sure the door was locked when we left the room that morning and to find it open was extremely unsettling, especially since I came home alone. Nothing was amiss, but to know that the room was unlocked and that anyone could have walked it was extremely unpleasant.

Otherwise, the stay was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at Pop Century for 2 nights in December. We were in the area for a Disney World wedding. We chose this resort because it was on the wedding discount list. There are few Disney hotels that accommodate a family of 4. We had to book 2 rooms; there are 2 double beds in each room but they do not offer a rollaway bed. We did not want to upgrade to the Boardwalk Hotel for just an extra bed. The room was clean. We had a weekend trip so we didn't spend much time in the room. There are several buildings; the complex is large. We went to the food court for breakfast once. It was pricey and the food was just ok. The shuttles were great from the hotel; buses were coming in and out of the resort taking you to any Disney park including Downtown Disney. It was very easy finding a bus to take us back to the hotel.

Room Tip: A building close to the main building/lobby is more convenient. We were in Bldg 10 on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Family vacation (7 of us) stayed in two, connecting preferred, pool view rooms. The rooms were typical hotel, standard rooms...but clean, well maintained units. We loved having them connected, was like we were together. The pool view was great, but noisy until midnight! I would suggest if you want quieter request preferred, but not pool view. Preferred puts you in 60's near Classic pool, food court, arcade. Suggest you purchase the mug to get unlimited drinks while there....we were so close, it was easy to go down and get coffee, hot chocolate, or soft drinks whenever we wanted (hrs 6 am to midnite)....and less expensive. We shared one mug, per family and took turns. Loved being on Disney, so could use buses to get around. We had cars, so could also leave and get food off site (cheaper, and more variation).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The title says it all. The rooms are a bit outdated but of course when you're at Disney, you definitley do not spend any time in the room so it doesn't really matter! This resort had the bus transportation that is the best thing EVER!!! The property is a bit confusing to navigate and is a bit of a hassle if you do not understand where you are going. We didn't eat on property since we spent all of our time in the parks but they had a hospital cafeteria type set up food court. If you're on a tight budget and don't care about what your room looks like, this is the way to go! Oh and if you go at a busy time, prepare to wait 10-30 minutes for anything in the lobby. We waited 30 minutes to check in and another 20 minutes to print off boarding passes. Wish we could fast pass it! Haha.

Room Tip: Since it's a motel style hotel, I found our first floor room convenient...no stairs or elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Pop Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Pop Century Resort

Address: 1050 Century Drive, Lake Bueno Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Orlando
#91 Family Hotel in Orlando
#107 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#112 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Disney's Pop Century Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Pop Century Resort is a Disney Value Resort hotel featuring giant icons that salute many of the 20th-century popular culture crazes—including toys, gadgets, music, movies, fads and catch phrases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Disney's Pop Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Pop Century Resort
Disney Pop Century Hotel
Pop Century Disney
Disneys Pop Century Resort
Disneys Pop Century Hotel
Century Pop

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Pop Century Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.